We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable rooms.”
Review of Canyon Roadhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyon Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We spent one night here , on a 22 day safari, and the rooms were wonderful and warm and clean. The beds were bliss as well. The meal service was a little confusing as they got things within the group mixed up, but when the food came it was very good. Its a very interesting place with all the old cars and things, and we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaye g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Thank you so much for this review! We can only be glad that we have made your Canyon adventure worthwhile and we are looking forward to sharing more adventures with you in the future.
Best wishes with your travel plans and kind regards,
Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Great pit stop! Rooms clean and comfortable. Decor eclectic. Restuarant has a limited menu but the food is well prepared and the beverages are cold. Staff very friendly and efficient. An oasis in the desert not to be missed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JanineBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are so glad that you took the opportunity to experience our property, thank you once again for visiting. We trust that potential clients will make good use of your story to make their Canyon experience just as fun, have a great time wherever you are and we hope to see you again soon.

Keep well and best regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We camped for 3 nights here and enjoyed the facilties. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool and having fun around the old cars. Restaurant and decor very ambient, and good value. Take note campers cannot buy milk, bread, eggs or anything - so bring your own. They only sell wood for campers. Would have been nice to have that facility for the campers at least as they have the shop and restaurant already there

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank AandeVliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are happy that you have enjoyed your time with us, it is so kind of you to share your advice on this platform, we hope potential travellers will make constructive us of it.

We are wishing you fantastic adventures wherever you are and we hope to share plenty of awesome moments with you in the days to come.

Stay well and best wishes, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Stopped here for the night camping after having visited the FRC; staff upon check-in was nice and friendly, the campsite had a BBQ and the bathrooms werent far away. Didnt use much of the facilities, just popped in for a beer at night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are so glad that you had a safe trip back home, thank you very much for sharing your canyon experience on this platform, such stories are always inspiration to other travellers.
We would like to wish you much joy and fun with your adventure plans and we hope we will be able to see you again soon.

Yours in tourism, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

A pit stop for the dusty and weary traveller located in the middle of a harsh but beautiful area of Namibia – the interesting décor in the restaurant supports the notion of times gone by when travel was genuinely still an adventure for the pioneering. Accommodation comfortable and clean but in general lacks the other Gondwana Collection lodges’ “atmosphere”. Staff generally unfriendly and disinterested and service in the restaurant and general supervision requires improvement in comparison to our other Gondwana Collection experiences. Does not inspire a stay longer than one night. The Canyon Lodge just a couple of kilometers down the road is in all respects a far better option when intending to have a better Gondwana Collection Experience in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM-TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We are very thankful for this feedback and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon. Your concerns regarding the quality of our services have been shared with the property staff ensuring best efforts to enhance service delivery.

We are really hoping to make your next visit a great success.
Best wishes, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish River Canyon
54.2 km away
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
Ai-Ais Hot Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Fish River Canyon
387 reviews
15.9 km away
Canyon Lodge
Canyon Lodge
#2 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
621 reviews
14.8 km away
Canyon Village
Canyon Village
#3 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Fish River Lodge
Fish River Lodge
#1 of 6 in Fish River Canyon
594 reviews
30.1 km away
Gondwana Canyon Lodge
Gondwana Canyon Lodge
#1 of 1 in Stamprivier
14 reviews
0 km away
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
Le Mirage Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Namib-Naukluft Park
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Roadhouse

Address: On the C 37 | 20 KM from the Main Lookout Point at the Fish River, Fish River Canyon, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Karas Region > Fish River Canyon
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fish River Canyon
Price Range: $272 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canyon Roadhouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to its elaborate decor Canon Roadhouse has acquired a sort of cult status in Namibia: the good old days of the automobile are celebrated in the theme restaurant and bar. Enjoy a slice of our legendary Amarula cheesecake among coachwork arranged with loving care. The geology, flora, fauna and history of the area are explained on display boards at the Canyon Information Centre. Situated directly on the road to the Fish River Canyon, 14 km from the gate to the viewing points, Canon Roadhouse offers 24 immaculate en-suite rooms with air conditioning, a swimming pool and a petrol station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Canyon Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canon Roadhouse Hotel Fish River Canyon
Cañon Roadhouse Fish River Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing