We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (578)
Filter reviews
578 results
Traveller rating
218
280
65
6
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
280
65
6
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold carsinteresting placemotoring memorabiliacheesecakeinteresting decorroad houseenjoyed our staypetrol stationfish rivercold beerbucket liststayed for one nightshort driveswimming poolgift shoproad tripablution facilities
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 578 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Great pit stop! Rooms clean and comfortable. Decor eclectic. Restuarant has a limited menu but the food is well prepared and the beverages are cold. Staff very friendly and efficient. An oasis in the desert not to be missed.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JanineBou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are so glad that you took the opportunity to experience our property, thank you once again for visiting. We trust that potential clients will make good use of your story to make their Canyon experience just as fun, have a great time wherever you are and we hope to see you again soon.

Keep well and best regards, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We camped for 3 nights here and enjoyed the facilties. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool and having fun around the old cars. Restaurant and decor very ambient, and good value. Take note campers cannot buy milk, bread, eggs or anything - so bring your own. They only sell wood for campers. Would have been nice to have that facility for the campers at least as they have the shop and restaurant already there

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank AandeVliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are happy that you have enjoyed your time with us, it is so kind of you to share your advice on this platform, we hope potential travellers will make constructive us of it.

We are wishing you fantastic adventures wherever you are and we hope to share plenty of awesome moments with you in the days to come.

Stay well and best wishes, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Stopped here for the night camping after having visited the FRC; staff upon check-in was nice and friendly, the campsite had a BBQ and the bathrooms werent far away. Didnt use much of the facilities, just popped in for a beer at night.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

We are so glad that you had a safe trip back home, thank you very much for sharing your canyon experience on this platform, such stories are always inspiration to other travellers.
We would like to wish you much joy and fun with your adventure plans and we hope we will be able to see you again soon.

Yours in tourism, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

A pit stop for the dusty and weary traveller located in the middle of a harsh but beautiful area of Namibia – the interesting décor in the restaurant supports the notion of times gone by when travel was genuinely still an adventure for the pioneering. Accommodation comfortable and clean but in general lacks the other Gondwana Collection lodges’ “atmosphere”. Staff generally unfriendly and disinterested and service in the restaurant and general supervision requires improvement in comparison to our other Gondwana Collection experiences. Does not inspire a stay longer than one night. The Canyon Lodge just a couple of kilometers down the road is in all respects a far better option when intending to have a better Gondwana Collection Experience in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SM-TRVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We are very thankful for this feedback and we hope you will be able to visit us again soon. Your concerns regarding the quality of our services have been shared with the property staff ensuring best efforts to enhance service delivery.

We are really hoping to make your next visit a great success.
Best wishes, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

This lodge is part of the Gondwana Collection, and as expected is is good. The rooms are good but a bit on the small side. The service was friendly and professional, the food was good, overall a good experience. The motoring collection in the Roadhouse is spectacular and a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GondwanaCollection, Social Media Assistant at Canyon Roadhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your pleasant words, it is always exciting to hear the great times that our guests have at our properties. We hope you are encouraged to return again soon. All the best with your travel plans!

Yours in hospitality, Koney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews