We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveller rating
3
4
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
3
4
2
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2016 via mobile

I got a double bed for $35 including air conditioning. My stay was nice and comfortable. There was NO hot water... locals don't care, but Gringos may. (We are used to hot water)

The owner keeps the front door closed, but he is always around to open it. It was an overall nice place and the price was ok. I would go back.

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mikehP8247HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

I booked a room via email. There was no issue with the check in or check out. The hotel is located opposite the Ruben Dario museum. All 4 museums and central park are less than a 10 min walk.

I had my breakfasts at Libelula Cafe which was about 3 buildings away.

The main door of the building is always shut and you have to ring the bell to enter. Street lights are poor in all countries in the region. At night it did not feel unsafe.

Place is clean, wifi is good and it is in a quieter part of the town. There is a big school on one side of the building so you will hear the occasional cackle during a break.

The only negative comment I have is the owner did not know how far San Juan del Sur was. He said it was 2 hours away when it is about 6. He also tried to sell me a USD 130 ticket while I got one for USD 23 at Gekko Travels.

In the evenings, behind the main cathedral, there are local BBQ stalls. Try them out with the local beer!

Date of stay: May 2015
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank sandip_mallik
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is a great budget option and located minutes from the main square. It is on the opposite end of town from the hostels and backpackers. The owners were incredibly accommodating and friendly. I would recommend it.

Room tip: Courtyard rooms are quiet.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamesM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Although the hotel website still shows $35 for a single, their new price sheet in the lobby shows $45. Be forewarned that it is not the bargain it has been in the past. However, it still is a nice place in general.

Good: Quiet if you stay in one of the courtyard rooms. Excellent quality mattresses. Rooms kept clean. Convenient location for getting almost anywhere worth going in town.

Problems: Water flow in shower is barely a trickle--not enough to even start the electrical heating unit that is attached. The a/c units tend to blow directly onto the sleepers. Breakfast is very basic--bread, a pat of butter, and coffee (and most, but not all, mornings a very small bit of jam).

Room tip: Outside rooms are bigger, but inside rooms are quieter. Think about your preferences.
Date of stay: February 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dansktex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

Good value. Good bed. Warm hospitality. Personally attended by owner. Excellent location: Very close to Leon's attractions, museums, eating places, churches, drugstores, supermarkets... No car is needed ti go around.

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgvergara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews