We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Nica Leon(Leon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$17
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
AL Sole Guesthouse(Leon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$18
US$13
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harvest House Nicaragua(Leon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Colibri Hostal(Leon)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$15
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
189
155
28
11
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
155
28
11
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsformer conventcentral gardensalmon saladname impliesworks of artsmall poolgarden viewart museumbeautiful oasiswater fountainrooms are spaciousspent two nightsthe air conditioningstreet sidevery nice stayplace to staylounge area
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We just finished a visit from Esteli and points north and we drove up into this driveway we had no idea what to expect. Then we entered the front door and it was just beautiful. They have done a wonderful restoration.. it is modern but has all the feel of a colonial bldg.

Room: we stayed in the mini suite. It’s super comfortable with a 20 ft ceiling. They give you free bottled water the first night only. All the rooms facing the street get ear plugs in case the street noise bothers you. We didn’t mind it. The room had a mini bar and a safe. They hang a newspaper on your door each morning.

WiFi: we couldn’t get a signal in our room. It seemed like you needed to be near the reception area to get a good signal. We weren’t the only ones since we found a number of other guests congregating in the same area with laptops etc

Pool: the pool is small but does the job

Parking: there is a private and guarded parking lot in the back of the hotel

Location: walking distance to shops, museums and churches and city center

Food: it’s okay, not great. Breakfast is complimentary and offers a good selection. They have a lot of events at this hotel so you might end up sharing your breakfast with an event.

Languages: Have a translator app or learn some basic Spanish because the staff are not bilingual. I only managed to get one person to explain something in broken English to me.

Laundry: they do have laundry services at the hotel, but there is a nice laundry place called Mi Lavenderia right around the corner that will do a whole load for 250 cordobas which is a lot less.

Overall this is a great hotel in a central location... there are little nooks to rest, listen to the birds and let the world fade away.


Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ZnGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Guest,


I would like to thank you for visiting us and stay with us during your trip to Leon, we apologize for the inconvenience, but thank you for making the comment as this helps us find areas of opportunity in which we can improve.

I hope you visit us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

After 2 nights in the rainforest we were in dire need of comfortable beds and a bit of pampering. Our mouths dropped as we pulledd up at the old convent gate and looked into the perfectly manicured courtyard which is the focal point for the rooms surrounding it. The corridors are decorated with religious ephemera from the old convent I assume, plus local handicrafts. The beds are just right, the water hot, the rooms large. The lounge area is elegant and tastefully furnished, the breakfast substantial (eggs cooked to order) and the staff friendly. Leon itself is a fascinating place and I strongly recommend a visit.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Guest

Thank for sharing such great feedback with us. It makes me so happy and proud to read of your experience here at our property and thank you for recommending us as a great place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Spent 2 nights here recently. This restored convent is top notch. A lot of time ,energy and money went into this restoration. Rooms circle a wonderful central garden area. The rooms are fabulous. Clean attractive comfortable. Word has it that the owner is one of the richest men in Nicaragua. It shows. Careful attention to detail. A fabulous breakfast and great on-site restaurant. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Truly a gem. A must stay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Dear Guest.


Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and felt we were able to meet your needs during this stay.

On behalf of our staff thank you for choosing us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on business.

Hotel rooms are excellent!! It's a really nice and clean place. Decent size rooms.

You can find great restaurant options within walking distance of the hotel.

Only downside is that the "Fit Center" they offer is pretty useless, both treadmills were out of service, there were no dumbbells, so no strength training was possible.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

I found this hotel just amazing. Historic hotel like this is a little treat in life. Seeing many modern hotels but remembers few. This will old will for sure be remembered.

Nice and welcoming staff, good breakfast and very comfortable room. Wifi an important part in modern people life, spot on. Good connection and speed.

With all the artefacts from past time it was like a small museum with opportunity for a treasure hunt with the camera.

Garden...... well we can not ask for more.

I am happy to recommend this hotel to everybody.

A small minus was an outdated Fitness Centre. Four apparatus and non did really work.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank OOddsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews