We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying in an Art Gallery”
Review of Hotel El Convento

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Convento
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2017

Wew recently spent 3 nights here while visiting Leon. Thehotel is beautiful. I spent a lot of time wandering around the hotel taking in the spectacular art & decor. The owners have left much of the original convent architecture & furnishings. Our room was spacious overlooked the manicured courtyard. Breakfast each morning included fresh fruit & eggs made to order. We had dinner in the restaurant & it was excellent also. Staff was friendly & very helpful. Located near the center of Leon, El Convento is convenient to area restaurants & attractions (walking distance). The hotel does have secure parking on the premise. Truly made our stay in Leon memorable.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking courtyard & gardens are quiet & spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank trc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for share your comments about your stay at Convento Hotel.

I will share your words with the rest of the staff so they know that they are doing things well. We hope to serve you again soon and to continue providing the best alternative of accommodation in Leon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We just finished a visit from Esteli and points north and we drove up into this driveway we had no idea what to expect. Then we entered the front door and it was just beautiful. They have done a wonderful restoration.. it is modern but has all the feel of a colonial bldg.

Room: we stayed in the mini suite. It’s super comfortable with a 20 ft ceiling. They give you free bottled water the first night only. All the rooms facing the street get ear plugs in case the street noise bothers you. We didn’t mind it. The room had a mini bar and a safe. They hang a newspaper on your door each morning.

WiFi: we couldn’t get a signal in our room. It seemed like you needed to be near the reception area to get a good signal. We weren’t the only ones since we found a number of other guests congregating in the same area with laptops etc

Pool: the pool is small but does the job

Parking: there is a private and guarded parking lot in the back of the hotel

Location: walking distance to shops, museums and churches and city center

Food: it’s okay, not great. Breakfast is complimentary and offers a good selection. They have a lot of events at this hotel so you might end up sharing your breakfast with an event.

Languages: Have a translator app or learn some basic Spanish because the staff are not bilingual. I only managed to get one person to explain something in broken English to me.

Laundry: they do have laundry services at the hotel, but there is a nice laundry place called Mi Lavenderia right around the corner that will do a whole load for 250 cordobas which is a lot less.

Overall this is a great hotel in a central location... there are little nooks to rest, listen to the birds and let the world fade away.


Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ZnGTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest,


I would like to thank you for visiting us and stay with us during your trip to Leon, we apologize for the inconvenience, but thank you for making the comment as this helps us find areas of opportunity in which we can improve.

I hope you visit us soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

After 2 nights in the rainforest we were in dire need of comfortable beds and a bit of pampering. Our mouths dropped as we pulledd up at the old convent gate and looked into the perfectly manicured courtyard which is the focal point for the rooms surrounding it. The corridors are decorated with religious ephemera from the old convent I assume, plus local handicrafts. The beds are just right, the water hot, the rooms large. The lounge area is elegant and tastefully furnished, the breakfast substantial (eggs cooked to order) and the staff friendly. Leon itself is a fascinating place and I strongly recommend a visit.

Stayed: October 2017
1  Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest

Thank for sharing such great feedback with us. It makes me so happy and proud to read of your experience here at our property and thank you for recommending us as a great place to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Spent 2 nights here recently. This restored convent is top notch. A lot of time ,energy and money went into this restoration. Rooms circle a wonderful central garden area. The rooms are fabulous. Clean attractive comfortable. Word has it that the owner is one of the richest men in Nicaragua. It shows. Careful attention to detail. A fabulous breakfast and great on-site restaurant. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Truly a gem. A must stay!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Convento, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest.


Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased you had a pleasant stay and felt we were able to meet your needs during this stay.

On behalf of our staff thank you for choosing us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights on business.

Hotel rooms are excellent!! It's a really nice and clean place. Decent size rooms.

You can find great restaurant options within walking distance of the hotel.

Only downside is that the "Fit Center" they offer is pretty useless, both treadmills were out of service, there were no dumbbells, so no strength training was possible.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.4 km away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.6 km away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.4 km away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.7 km away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
197 reviews
0.3 km away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#9 of 15 in Leon
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Convento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Convento

Address: Two Blocks West From Parque Central | Next to San Francisco`S Church, Leon 21000, Nicaragua
Phone Number:
Region: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $127 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Convento 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Convento is located at the heart of the city of Leon, Nicaragua, on the site of the former San Francisco Convent. Its colonial buildings and lush gardens offer a unique atmosphere which will make your stay a very pleasant experience.The hotel offers comfortable guest rooms, conference and banqueting facilities, a cafeteria and a gourmet restaurant which is considered by many to be one of the best in Nicaragua.Whether you are visiting Leon for business or pleasure, Hotel El Convento should be your first choice! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Expedia so you can book your Hotel El Convento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Convento Leon
El Convento Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing