We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Del Norte

Del Norte
Ranked #13 of 107 Restaurants in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$25
Description: We are a small cafe/eatery specializing in the traditional cuisine of northern Nicaragua. Our unique dishes are different from what is typically served in Leon and the surrounding region.We make sure every person visiting us leaves with the best eating experience.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small cafe/eatery specializing in the traditional cuisine of northern Nicaragua. Our unique dishes are different from what is typically served in Leon and the surrounding region.We make sure every person visiting us leaves with the best eating experience.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

My wife is from León so we’ve been coming here for many years to visit family. Things have changed a lot in the city. Del Norte is doing it the old and traditional way and it’s so nice to be able to enjoy the friendly environment that is Nica.
The food was beyond incredible!!! Really big portions, made fresh and hot and absolutely perfect. Almost everything we ordered was up there with the best we’ve had in León. And when the bill came, it was half of what we would have gladly paid for such a great meal.

The location has changed and isn’t correct in the Google Maps search or by following the link on their Facebook page, but just give them a call and they will direct you!
Absolutely incredible meal!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank AndrewL1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

After 2 attempts to find this place, we stumbled across it during our daytime exploration of the town. Came back at night at 6.45pm and we were the only ones there and thought maybe it wasnt open as there was no ambience (music, waitresses etc). Eventually more people came and i got the recommended pollo a la plancha. It came out sizzling on a hot plate! So tasty and fresh with the salsa! Would've loved some green salad too or avocado but still very tasty for an awesome price. My boyfriend was pretty happy with his meal too.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Pip N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018 via mobile

Took us a while to find this place as we were looking for a restaurant. Take note it’s inside a hostel! Warm family restaurant with fresh ingredients and delicious, affordable food. The owner was very friendly and conversed with us for a while. They play fun country music in the background and it feels very peaceful once inside their courtyard. Seriously, we searched high and low for good food with a variety of prices and this was the best in Nicaragua! Don’t miss it!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank ben b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yheizzi O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Del Norte, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

Hi Ben! We greatly appreciate your comment and we apologise the trouble you went through to find us, sounds like it was worth the trouble thought :). The address must be now updated in tripadvisor. It make us really happy to know you enjoyed your meal.
For the people reading this comment just want to clarify that we're not a hostel, we do offer rooms for rent short and long term (the longer you stay the cheaper it gets ;) ), this bc we have a couple of rooms available but this is more like a homestay. Feel free to email me for further information yheizziotero@gmail.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

The food is so good at Del Norte that I’d eat there every night... and we did eat there quite a bit before they moved. I’m happy for the owner and her family. They are thrilled with the new location. It’s a bit of a trek now for me but worth the very long walk. The other night I had the chicken a la plancha. Delicious as usual. Great, fresh tostones. Perfect location for tourists because it’s even closer to the center and easier to find. FYI: no beer or wine. The owner said they don’t have a license yet.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank gregjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

We spent a while wandering around Leon before happening to stumble upon this restaurant. Note, they have changed the address of the restaurant, Google maps and trio advisor map will take you to the wrong place. Del Norte is now situated on Calle de Ruben Dario between 3rd and 4th Avenue (pretty much opposite Cafe Libelula). The food is worth the find. Went of dinner. The nachos are huge and the best we have had so far in central America (and we have been to Mexico). Tacos are also amazing with loads of filling. Do visit.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yheizzi O, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Del Norte, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

Hi Sarah, Thank you so much for your comment, we've been struggling with the address issue. We give our best to our costumer and more than just being an eatery's business it is our passion to make people happy with our food. For the rest of people reading this; Our new address is: From San Francisco's church 1/2 block west or From Los Poetas's park 1 and 1/2 blocks west

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Del Norte also viewed

Leon, Leon Department
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 
Leon, Leon Department
 

Been to Del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing