We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hidden gem”
Review of Relais Sainte-Anne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Relais Sainte-Anne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2007

We spent 3 nights at this beautiful little hotel in mid July, just before peak season. We paid €85 for our room, booking direct with the hotel by email. On arrival, we were upgraded to a €100 room which was lovely - "Provence style" - see photo. It had a smart ensuite bathroom with shower over bath and separate WC. The bedroom had shutters looking out over the courtyard, breakfast terrace and chapel.
The hotel is signposted from the town centre and has its own car park opposite, off the small quiet lane. The hotel was converted from a girls school and has its own old chapel in the grounds with lovely peaceful gardens. It also has a decent sized open-air swimming pool.
Breakfast (€12 extra) is served on a sun terrace overlooking the fishpond, gardens and chapel. We were served a selection of croissants, bread and pastries, yoghurt, plus different fresh fruit and homemade jams each day. It was lovely.
The restaurant was directly across the lane (just a few paces away) and looked very chic and upmarket - and expensive to match (typically €25 for starter, €30 main). Although classy looking, it didn't seem to get much custom so seemed to be lacking in atmosphere. Though we had booked to eat there the first night, we decided to eat in town and enjoyed our meals out - we tried La Mere Michele by the main square and Au Hazard Balthazar in a side street, both with tables outside and recommended.
Despite the hotel's tranquil setting, it only a couple of minutes walk into the centre of town. Martel was a delightful medieval town with beautiful old market hall. We were there for the 14 July festival weekend and enjoyed dancing in the square and "Battle of the (brass) Bands" when the streets came alive. But otherwise it was very peaceful and a good base for exploring the region.
The owner was very welcoming and helpful throughout and had a selection of local guide books and maps to borrow.
We have nothing but praise for this excellent value gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 72 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2006

This small hotel is absolutely charming. I could not fault the setting and decor. The room & bathroom were spacious and comfortable, with a private terrace and large seating area, with lovely fresh flowers. It has the joy of a large garden and swimming pool right in the centre of the town. Roland, our host, was extremely pleasant and helpful, cheerfully providing many small extras which I had requested for my elderly mother. (I would have been equally happy here with my 'children' in their 20s). Having booked for a week however we left after 2 days because we went too late in the season,(second week in October). The restaurant affiliated to the hotel is rather formal & having booked dinner on our first night we ate in splendid isolation; on our second night we discovered most of the town restaurants to be closed, & were not impressed with the two that were open. I hope to return in the future, and anywhere that meets my mother's exacting standards is to be highly reccommended!

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LIFI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2006

We have stayed at the Relais four times now - a glowing reference in itself. We have received nothing but kindness and wonderful hospitality. The rooms are wonderful - a joy to come back to after a day out and breakfasts are filling and delicious.

I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GeorgeDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2005

I loved this hotel and this small village. We were treated with the utmost kindness, absolutely nothing was too much trouble. A 5 minute walk to the village restaurants and centrally located for visiting tourist sites in the Dordoge Valley but without the crowds of Sarlat or Rocomodor. Perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Colette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfv2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Martel
3.0 km away
Les Falaises Hotel
Les Falaises Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martel
67 reviews
6.9 km away
La Terrasse
La Terrasse
#1 of 1 in Meyronne
200 reviews
13.7 km away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Hotel Victor Hugo
Hotel Victor Hugo
#1 of 4 in Saint-Cere
180 reviews
16.6 km away
Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau
10.1 km away
Hostellerie Le Fenelon
Hostellerie Le Fenelon
#1 of 1 in Carennac
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Sainte-Anne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Sainte-Anne

Address: rue du Pourtanel, 46600 Martel, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Martel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Martel
Price Range: $180 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Sainte-Anne 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Relais Sainte-Anne Hotel Martel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing