We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer selection”
Review of Box Bar

Box Bar
Ranked #88 of 147 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Pub, Brew Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2017

If you want a rare beer, here is the place to go. Hundreds, maybe up to 500 options, to choose from. Great for gathering with friends and watch sports on the big screen TVs. Food is average, but lots of options.

Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

I go with friends who love this place. It's been there forever and has a near cult following among regulars. The food is average at BEST. Service is accidental, like a stopped clock. It's closing and that comes as no surprise. It's survived until now in spite of it menu and service, not because of it.

Thank Micro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Once upon a time before the Box Bar expansion there was a great greasy slider with onions in a long typical Detroit area bar. Yup, Plymouth had one of the winners right here. But sadly after the expansion the food only went downhill and with it the real reason to frequent the bar, it's classic burger.

I have continued to go but only if people wanted to drink beer. I always thought they should simply focus on drinks and let the patrons bring in food. But it is too late. We don't need more Italian food unless it is spectacular and cheap - it won't happen. Plymouth IS NOT a food mecca and the Box Bar led the way with sub-par quality. This place won't be missed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank j0esmith666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoxBarandGrill, Owner at Box Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2017

Hello,

While we are very happy to hear you enjoy the beer here at The Box Bar (we do too!) we are so sorry to hear you haven't enjoyed the dishes you have eaten here recently. Next time, we encourage you to ask to speak with a manager. We always like to hear of any dissatisfaction right away so we can rectify the situation immediately if possible! We take all reviews like this very seriously, as we are always looking to improve for the benefit of our guests, and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

We used to love The Box Bar...I have given it a 5 in the past. Our last visit recently was our last visit. They had a sign up seeking employees for all positions. The food was terrible and the service sub-par. First, after a very long wait, the server came out and confessed to losing our order. After another very long wait, the food was brought out cold...as if it had been in the refrigerator...I sent mine back and after another long wait, she brought it out having been microwaved to death but allowed to again become cold. I didn't bother sending it back and intended to write a review warning those that have relied on my positive reviews to not rely on my past reviews and then just a couple of days later I heard that it would soon be closed. For those of you who have fond memories of The Box Bar and want to go back before it's too late--it's too late...keep your fond memories and don't taint them with a visit of what it's become. It's horrible now. Don't go. For a long time, things had been in disrepair...the bathrooms and back rooms have been disgusting for as long as I can remember...they've needed Gordon Ramsey for a long time. At this point, shutting it down is the best thing they can do...the sooner the better. Too late to rescue this one. Sad. The owner should have sold long ago before it spiraled down to this.

Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoxBarandGrill, Owner at Box Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Hello Tom, we are surprised and sorry you had such a negative experience while dinging with us. As we would like to further address your concerns, we would appreciate if you can email us at info@boxbarandgrill.com with more details of when you visited. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

Stopped in during the July art fair. Extremely busy, we were seated in the banqet room in the back that looked like someone's old basement. Took forever to place our order, then it took 30 minutes to get our drink order, and 1 hour to get a simple hamburger with fries. Food was totally cold. Decided to eat it since we were now starving and needed to eat.
Have gone here before for barely average food and service, but this was the worst I have ever experienced. We also could not get a bill, so I left the approximate total on the table and just left.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mjk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoxBarandGrill, Owner at Box Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hello, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry that you experienced such a long delay. All staff members are trained to be as efficient and timely as possible, especially during our busy rush hours, and apologize that your wait impacted your experience. Please understand that this is not a representation of our business and will give us another try in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Box Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing