We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com
US$158
View deal
Booking.comUS$158
PricelineUS$158
Hotels.comUS$158
Homewood SuitesUS$158
FindHotelUS$158
Lol.travelUS$182
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
262
76
30
24
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
262
76
30
24
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basketball court home away from home sleeper sofa one bedroom suite full size fridge oatmeal kalamazoo homewood dishwasher cleanliness mi bedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2020

The hotel in Portage, MI is one of the worst I have stayed at for staff issues. They don't bother cleaning the rooms if you are staying long term, they lie about what they claim to observe and change their stories, they are rude on the phone, the list goes on.... They discriminated against my autistic son for some health issues instead of talking to us about it the acting manager was rude and condescending and said that she was going to charge us for the towels before even asking what the issue was. The manager said that the observed things in our room when they have never been in our room then changed her story.. They told me at check in that they would send a letter letting us know when they would come in to clean as they needed to once a week. We have been here a week and a half and have not heard from anyone. They claim that there is not anyone else that I can talk to to let them know the issues that we have so this is being posted here. Also posted on their FB page and they deleted it. We were supposed to stay longer but are leaving asap. Hopefully we can stop others from having a horrible experience. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kristenlV526GF
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa Mead, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalamazoo-Portage, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2021

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. As you know, the staff has not and would never discriminate against anyone for any reason. The hotel staff has a commitment to maintaining a safe and healthy environment for fellow guests and staff and when these requirements are not met we have to take immediate action to ensure a safe stay for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

I expect that when I stay in a Hilton property I will get top notch quality. This was a big disappointment. The rooms were very good, clean and housekeeping doesn't come for at least 3 days which is great during these pandemic times. However, the staff seemed to not know their jobs. One says one thing, the next shift says something else. The manager there must have no hospitality training at all. I would not stay there again and would not recommend it either.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2020

We spent four nights here recently visiting family and were very pleased. We got a nice Hilton Honors Diamond upgrade to a one bedroom suite which may have been slightly worn but was super clean spacious. We were happy to see the Hilton safety seal on the door for COVID and the room even smelled disinfected. We did catch a few employees at the front desk with their masks slightly down but they always raised them as we approached. They were always very helpful during out stay quick to provide clean towels, TP, etc. since there's no daily housekeeping unless requested. Guests were great about wearing masks and it was a nice touch that the stairwell doors where open so we could easily avoid the elevator and not have to touch the door handles plus the stairs had great airflow.

The breakfast was parred down due to COVID but still generous with yogurt, bagels, cereals and standard fruit like bananas and apples. They did run out by our third day, Monday, of several item including milk but supplemented with soy milk. They didn't get another truck to replenish until Tuesday after the breakfast hours. Seems like they could plan a little better but we made due. Hard to give a 5/5 rating with so many standard hotel services cut but overall, we'll definitely stay here again.

Room tip: Fourth floor was super quiet!
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PizzaKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2020

No heat in bedroom, unsupervised kids running/yelling in halls & in pool & fitness area, chips and popcorn all over fitness area could not even use machines, staff was unresponsive and sleeping at front desk

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank juliehigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalamazoo-Portage, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2020

Dear juliehigley,

We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service and accommodations. These are not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Thank you for your feedback, and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2020

Good luck dealing with the front desk staff...If you want to book a room, get ready for push back. Oh and another thing, you definitely don't understand how hard it is to reserve a room for a paying customer...Skip the hassle, many other options in area.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton
1  Thank chaseruohomaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John-HiltonHelp, on behalf of management at Homewood Suites by Hilton Kalamazoo-Portage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2020

Dear chaseruohomaki,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. The problems you mentioned have been addressed. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give our property a second chance if you return to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews