We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very lovely experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saugatuck
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites
Ranked #19 of 19 Saugatuck B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We stayed two nights on the second floor of the Carraige Barn. The breakfasts delivered to our door were both excellent. It was such fun to open the picnic basket and discover what was on our delicious menu each morning. The hot tub was wonderful (once we figured out in the dark how to operate the jets), the bed was comfortable, the place was clean and cozy, the windows all opened to let in fresh air (such is not always the case). We loved the downtown location, and David and June were gracious and friendly. We were quite pleased, and grateful that no smoking was allowed anywhere on the premises.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I split the Library Suite with our friends for a two night stay. The location is fantastic. The price is a little high. The Library Suite had 2 bedrooms (one queen bed and one full bed with a jacuzzi tub), living room, kitchen, and one bathroom along with an enclosed porch.

David greeted us when we got there and was he was friendly. He spent time showing us maps and explaining how to get around town and giving us recommendations on food spots. He talked a lot and we had to pee so we were a bit annoyed, no fault of his. Haha. He gave us a tour of the suite and went in to detail about how to brew coffee in the most normal coffee maker ever manufactured. I guess the laminated instructions posted on the wall behind the coffee maker weren't enough. In fact there are several laminated "rules" posted all over the place. He then gave us a tour of the patio and hot tub/sauna area and showed us the vast array of VHS tapes for our viewing pleasure. The plants everywhere were really nice.

The wifi was spotty in the suite. David brought us breakfast in a picnic basket (furnished with more instructions) around 9:20 each morning. The breakfasts were okay each morning and the two we had included an egg bake, fruit, coffee cake, sausage, French toast bake, fruit, orange juice. It was nice eating it on the porch in the morning. The suite was clean and felt comfortable even if it was outdated. We heard footsteps a couple times from other guests walking up the stairs that were above our bathroom but was never an annoyance.

Overall I can see why some rate this low and some high. That's why I'm going with the middle. Some might find the outdated-ness charming and don't give it any thought. Some might see it as a horrible travesty that they have a VHS player and old tv in the room. The thing that stuck out to me was all the rule posted everywhere. It seems tacky and unnecessary and was definitely off putting. Overall, good enough, I guess.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NateMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerendipityBandB, Owner at Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We try to be helpful when guests check in by showing them around the suites and describing the highlights of Saugatuck and environs. The notes posted are meant to be informational and useful, some precipitated by questions from guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We came here for my boyfriend's birthday. I'd been vacationing in Saugatuck for more than a decade, and have been to several B&Bs in the area. I paid over $400 for a two night stay in the Stableman's Suite. When we walked in, the room had an overpowering smell of must and mildew. The room was COMPLETELY outdated--a 10 inch TV/VCR combo, yellowed curtains and bedspreads, and just a really bad smoky odor in general. I didn't complain at the time, as we weren't spending a lot of time in the room anyway... UNTIL... I get a cleaning bill for more than $200 for "an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke." Are you kidding?! We smelled it too! When we GOT THERE!! Absolutely unbelievable. I don't recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerendipityBandB, Owner at Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We have a nonsmoking policy that applies to all rooms, according to Michigan state law. When we entered the room there was a very strong smell of smoke and a pack of cigarettes in the wastebasket. The guests also admitted to us in an email that they were both smokers. In order to make the room usable for new guests arriving in a few days we had to hire a carpet cleaning service, and have the drapes and bedspread dry cleaned. Our policies page clearly states that additional charges would be applied for excessive cleaning or damage. We smelled nothing upon cleanup of previous guests in this suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We stayed in the Library Suite June 2016, 4 women. We really cannot say enough about how pleased we were with every aspect of this property & the owners. Beautiful room - clean as can be fully stocked with the most lovely front porch. Close to downtown. Caring informative owners. The entire suite was well kept clean and full of beautiful furnishings. The grounds on the property are beautifully planted with flowers, the hot tub, spa gardens all gorgeous. The two best things we felt were the owners great reception when we arrived with complete tour of facilities etc & we LOVED the breakfast in a large picnic basket delivered quietly to our door in the morning with just a knock. Asparagus Frittata, fresh fruit, rosemary potatoes, and what tasted like fresh squeezed orange juice. We will be back and do highly recommend - 5 gold stars!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

The worst B&B we have ever stayed at. The rooms are outdated and with thrift store furnishing (old 13 inch TV, cheap amenities, etc.). There are signs on 8x11 copy paper all over the room saying "don’t do this and don’t do that. The breakfast basket was a joke - four small muffins from a box. The only reason why I am giving it 2 stars is because of the location – not the room, service or innkeepers. We left early it was not worth our time. Save your time and money and choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 05100306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saugatuck hotels
4.5 km away
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 19 in Saugatuck
350 reviews
5.3 km away
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
The Saugatuck Retro Resort
#5 of 19 in Saugatuck
141 reviews
0.3 km away
Maplewood Hotel
Maplewood Hotel
#12 of 19 in Saugatuck
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Hotel Saugatuck
The Hotel Saugatuck
#4 of 19 in Saugatuck
81 reviews
0.1 km away
Hidden Garden Cottages & Suites
0 km away
Twin Oaks Inn
Twin Oaks Inn
#1 of 19 in Saugatuck
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites

Address: 203 Griffith St, Saugatuck, MI 49453-8603 (Formerly Mason Street Bed and Breakfast & Suites)
Region: United States > Michigan > Allegan County > Saugatuck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Saugatuck
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Serendipity Bed and Breakfast and Suites! Serendipity offers a variety of accommodations including three B&B rooms, five suites and a cozy cottage. All rooms/suites include a full breakfast, wifi, TV/VCR, and use of the hot tub/sauna. All suites and the cottage include a kitchenette, fireplace, sitting room and one or two bedrooms. Serendipity is steps away from the heart of Saugatuck! Stroll the Boardwalk. Peruse the many unique shops and galleries. Enjoy a snack or meal at a variety of restaurants. Fish, take a boat ride or just relax in one of our parks. Great beaches and breathtaking sand dunes await at both Oval Beach and Saugatuck Dunes State Park. Come visit Saugatuck and let Serendipity be your home while you are here! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing