We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plaza Hotel Saugatuck(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$201
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saugatuck Retro Resort(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$297
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$469
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Twin Oaks Inn(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Captains Quarters Motel(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belvedere Inn & Restaurant(Saugatuck)(Great Value!)
US$293
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maplewood Hotel(Saugatuck)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
12
8
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
8
3
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

My wife and I split the Library Suite with our friends for a two night stay. The location is fantastic. The price is a little high. The Library Suite had 2 bedrooms (one queen bed and one full bed with a jacuzzi tub), living room, kitchen, and one bathroom along with an enclosed porch.

David greeted us when we got there and was he was friendly. He spent time showing us maps and explaining how to get around town and giving us recommendations on food spots. He talked a lot and we had to pee so we were a bit annoyed, no fault of his. Haha. He gave us a tour of the suite and went in to detail about how to brew coffee in the most normal coffee maker ever manufactured. I guess the laminated instructions posted on the wall behind the coffee maker weren't enough. In fact there are several laminated "rules" posted all over the place. He then gave us a tour of the patio and hot tub/sauna area and showed us the vast array of VHS tapes for our viewing pleasure. The plants everywhere were really nice.

The wifi was spotty in the suite. David brought us breakfast in a picnic basket (furnished with more instructions) around 9:20 each morning. The breakfasts were okay each morning and the two we had included an egg bake, fruit, coffee cake, sausage, French toast bake, fruit, orange juice. It was nice eating it on the porch in the morning. The suite was clean and felt comfortable even if it was outdated. We heard footsteps a couple times from other guests walking up the stairs that were above our bathroom but was never an annoyance.

Overall I can see why some rate this low and some high. That's why I'm going with the middle. Some might find the outdated-ness charming and don't give it any thought. Some might see it as a horrible travesty that they have a VHS player and old tv in the room. The thing that stuck out to me was all the rule posted everywhere. It seems tacky and unnecessary and was definitely off putting. Overall, good enough, I guess.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NateMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerendipityBandB, Owner at Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We try to be helpful when guests check in by showing them around the suites and describing the highlights of Saugatuck and environs. The notes posted are meant to be informational and useful, some precipitated by questions from guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

We came here for my boyfriend's birthday. I'd been vacationing in Saugatuck for more than a decade, and have been to several B&Bs in the area. I paid over $400 for a two night stay in the Stableman's Suite. When we walked in, the room had an overpowering smell of must and mildew. The room was COMPLETELY outdated--a 10 inch TV/VCR combo, yellowed curtains and bedspreads, and just a really bad smoky odor in general. I didn't complain at the time, as we weren't spending a lot of time in the room anyway... UNTIL... I get a cleaning bill for more than $200 for "an overpowering smell of cigarette smoke." Are you kidding?! We smelled it too! When we GOT THERE!! Absolutely unbelievable. I don't recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerendipityBandB, Owner at Serendipity Bed & Breakfast & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2016

We have a nonsmoking policy that applies to all rooms, according to Michigan state law. When we entered the room there was a very strong smell of smoke and a pack of cigarettes in the wastebasket. The guests also admitted to us in an email that they were both smokers. In order to make the room usable for new guests arriving in a few days we had to hire a carpet cleaning service, and have the drapes and bedspread dry cleaned. Our policies page clearly states that additional charges would be applied for excessive cleaning or damage. We smelled nothing upon cleanup of previous guests in this suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

We stayed in the Library Suite June 2016, 4 women. We really cannot say enough about how pleased we were with every aspect of this property & the owners. Beautiful room - clean as can be fully stocked with the most lovely front porch. Close to downtown. Caring informative owners. The entire suite was well kept clean and full of beautiful furnishings. The grounds on the property are beautifully planted with flowers, the hot tub, spa gardens all gorgeous. The two best things we felt were the owners great reception when we arrived with complete tour of facilities etc & we LOVED the breakfast in a large picnic basket delivered quietly to our door in the morning with just a knock. Asparagus Frittata, fresh fruit, rosemary potatoes, and what tasted like fresh squeezed orange juice. We will be back and do highly recommend - 5 gold stars!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2015

The worst B&B we have ever stayed at. The rooms are outdated and with thrift store furnishing (old 13 inch TV, cheap amenities, etc.). There are signs on 8x11 copy paper all over the room saying "don’t do this and don’t do that. The breakfast basket was a joke - four small muffins from a box. The only reason why I am giving it 2 stars is because of the location – not the room, service or innkeepers. We left early it was not worth our time. Save your time and money and choose somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 05100306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

Shared the library suite and except for having to share the bath, everything was lovely! The breakfast was delicious, the suite was lovely, and David & June were very respectful of our privacy, but responsive to our requests. Highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Annieg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews