We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for drinks”
Review of Idler Restaurant

Idler Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 70 Restaurants in South Haven
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Livonia, MI
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great for drinks”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I ate lunch here with a bachelorette party, where our goal was to eat and kick off a night of boozing. Everyone said theirs was good. Rave reviews from the person eating some Louisiana style shrimp dish, so maybe try that. It's not fancy, but it gets teh job done. Relaxed atmosphere. The waiter we had was awesome. Bathroom was teeny tiny and leaned, so that was weird, but really nothing bad. We also kicked off the evening bachelorette party festivities here with a few rounds of drinks. Nothing special, nothing bad.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqs924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    80
    36
    15
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty cool for very casual dining”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My Fiance and I took a cruise on the "Friends Good Will" and decided to have lunch on The Idler afterward since it was just across the marina. It was very packed, but we were able to get on board and find a table in the little bar area, overlooking the water, pretty quickly. Our waitress was young and friendly. We ordered sodas and they had the best Ginger Ale I've had in a long time. Utensils and Cups were plastic, but I didn't mind. We ordered the nachos for an appetizer. They were interesting, but good. They were unlike any nachos I've had with ingredients such as bleu cheese and a little hint of sweetness. We ordered the Fish and Crisps basket for our main meal. I was very impressed with the quality of the fish! That alone would make me come back for more. It was deep fried, but not too greasy. The fish was plump and flaky and the cracked black pepper and sea salt chips that came with it was a nice compliment. Our bill ended up being about $37 which wasn't all that bad. Overall, I would say it was a great place to catch a bite while out shopping or hanging out by the water. We enjoyed watching the boats go by and relaxing on the water!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lainey7323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Bad food and the water would be nice if you don't mind spelling the gas and exhaust from the boats that go by.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitraveler1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Beautiful summer evening along Lake Michigan with friends. The back deck of the Idler and cold beer. Food is simply bar food. Don't expect fine dining. Beer and drink menu are good. The best part of the Idler is the location.
This time of year brings a lot of boaters into the Idler.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rankin2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stay Away Until They Clean The Place”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Went there for a beer and a burger. The restaurant is filthy and the food was not very good. The center placemat on our (first) table had mold all over it. We put the placemat off the table until we moved to another table. When we moved, the waitress put the moldy placemat back on the table we had moved from. The carpet in the restaurant is filthy. The owners obviously don't care about filth. If you don't believe me, try the place. The health department needs to look into this place. If this is supposed to be a South Haven landmark, forget it.
Every time I think of the experience I still cringe.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRF569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Idler Restaurant also viewed

South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 
South Haven, Van Buren County
South Haven, Van Buren County
 

Been to Idler Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing