We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (408)
Filter reviews
408 results
Traveller rating
186
125
54
30
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
186
125
54
30
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beach sister property waffles continental breakfast beachfront room grand beach indoor pool plenty of chairs beach view first floor family suite every morning ground floor beach chairs the breakfast area boiled eggs nice resort
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 408 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Although we booked weeks in advance and the room was paid and guaranteed for late arrival. They put us in the last available handicapped room on arrival. We booked the best they had at $300. + per night. The handicapped room was ugly, and furnishings were dated. But the worst was no WiFi. The signal was too week to sustain contact for three days, night or day. The second worst was the dark bathroom. Dangerously dark in the shower. The staff were unengaged and the breakfast staff was downright unfriendly. Two days later we stayed in a Budget motel for about $100. that had Sugar Beach beat on all counts. We did ask about wireless and were told they were "sorry."
Most expensive and worst stay of a two-week trip.

Stayed: August 2018
5  Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Ken, I am so sorry to hear about your poor experience at our property. These are not our typical standards. Thank you for the feedback, we appreciate it and will be looking into the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Nice rooms. Staff friendly. They will wake you every morning by 9am wanting to clean then give you attitude when asked to come back later. Cleaning staff also picked up dirty towels from the floor refolded and hung by the shower. Need new service staff.
Hotel 4 stars
Cleaning crew 1 star

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Bryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

So happy with our room and staff. The room was very clean, even with a towel turtle on the bed! Received texts from staff making sure we didn’t need anything and were happy with our stay. Very attentive and ready to make guests happy. Loved the balcony and view! Only complaint (very minor) would be that the jet ski rental took up space in the water right in front of hotel and crowded people to enter water. But not a deal breaker. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Krista L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, Front Office Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you so much Krista for taking the time to leave us your feedback! We are so glad you got to enjoy that awesome view, it is what sets us apart from other hotels! Our texting services is something we really love as well, we want to make sure you are taken care of at all times. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Friendly professional staff greeted us. Nice to get a welcome email making sure if we needed anything, the staff was ready to help. Great beach view. Close to city happenings. Would love to have stayed longer but on a road trip. Very comfortable and safe. Rooms very clean!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dsheets3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, Front Office Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback about your most recent stay with us! We are so glad you chose us to be one of your stops on your road trip and that you got to enjoy the amenities inside and out. We look forward to seeing you again and hopefully for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

For a place that boasts their beach, this one is almost unswimmable. There is a TC water sports next to this that has a dock and boats and jet skis are constantly going in and out of the swimming areas. I brought it to the attention of the hotel staff and the TC water sports staff, both did nothing. On our second day a boat pulled into the swimming area and anchored there, people then got on and off the boat to hang out on it. The next day it was still there right in the middle of the swimming area. If you complain about this, you are told they have staff to address the issue but then, nothing. My kids could only swim in a very small area without me worrying about their safety. The other issue is the cleanliness of the beach- my son counted 16 cigarette butts on his way to the water one morning, gross. There are signs everywhere about smoking that are ignored by many. Unfortunately this resort is off my list, for the price it should be a nice getaway, but is not. I feel the staff just doesn’t care or isn’t equipped to deal with these issues. It’s too bad.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank vacajay2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justintraversecity, Front Office Manager at Sugar Beach Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback about your most recent stay. We are saddened to hear that yourself and your children did not get to enjoy the bay like you had expected to while staying here. Most of our guests really enjoy having TC Watersports located on our beach for their convenience of not having to travel to rent a watercraft. We try our absolute best to monitor the smoking on the beach and property at all times because we are a nonsmoking facility. Our staff takes the guests' safety as their number one priority and we take all feedback and concerns very seriously. We thank you again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay here in Traverse City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews