We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED the Inn at CGT”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Traverse City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse
Ranked #4 of 19 Traverse City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We LOVED the Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse. The Inn was clean, peaceful, and quiet. The views from our room were BEAUTFUL and we could see the vineyard and bay. It is a GREAT deal for the money.
No children are allowed, so you are able to get away without kids being around. The common areas (2 family rooms, dining room, sunroom, and workout room/sauna) were great! The wine at the Winery was superb and we received a complimentary bottle of wine in our room each evening (our choice). Tasting at the CGT winery is free (it’s not free at all wineries). Overall the breakfast was good, but was self serve (you had to make your own waffles, etc). But the kitchen was left open all day and we grabbed a bottle of juice, water, or biscotti whenever we wanted. The walls were a bit thin and we could hear some noise in the next room. This would be a great place to go with other couples, a group, or as a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kmp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2007

They advertise as a bed and breakfast, but had a feeling of a hotel room. We made the mistake of going to Chateau Chantal the night before and had a very personal, unique experience. Then, my new husband and I stayed two nights at Chateau Grand Traverse. It was clean with a nice view over a vineyard. However, breakfast was do-it-yourself and they didn't refill the waffle mix. There was no connection to the winery. We stayed away from the common area-- very cold, and nobody hung out anyway. At Chateau Chantal, you can go in the tasting room after close as a guest and they make an incredible breakfast where the owner pours the juice. This was just an expensive room-- stay in Traverse City for less!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DeeDeeMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2006

I chose the Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse for a romantic weekend getaway with my boyfriend. We have been to the area before and enjoy visiting all of the amazing local wineries. I wanted to stay right on Old Mission Peninsula, so I chose the Inn based on its location, price ($140/night for weekends in the off season), and the fact that I LOVE Chateau Grand Traverse wines.

The Inn only has 6 rooms. Each has a queen sized bed, a leather (pullout) couch and chair, and a small bistro table. There is a kitchenette with refrigerator, sink, plates, silverware, glasses, etc. The room and bathroom were very clean and had a great view of the vineyard and the Grand Traverse bay. There are two living/family rooms with fireplaces, a kitchen where you can eat breakfast (which is provided), an exercise room/sauna, and a small game room. I wouldn't call this a "million dollar home" by any means, but it is nice. The best part? NO CHILDREN ALLOWED! (no one under age 21). Oh, and a free bottle of your choice of CGT wine each night you stay.

All in all, we had a pleasant experience. The host is kind and accomodating. The breakfast food was good, the wine was great. Even the weather was amazingly perfect for March in northern Michigan!

My one complaint is the noise. The walls to the rooms seem to be extremely thin. We could hear every word of conversation in the room adjacent to ours (at normal speaking volume), and we could also hear everything going on in the 2 living/family rooms until late hours of the night. Granted, the other people staying there were part of a large group so they were perhaps a little noisier than usual while they were talking and having fun. However, I wish I didn't have to hear all of this in the privacy of our room. We felt like we had to whisper all the time when we were in our room so that no one else could hear us.

Other than the disappointing noise levels, we had a good time and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2005

My girlfriend and I were working on some relationship issues so we went to Traverse City to hash things out. We stayed at the Chateau Grand Traverse. It's an Inn that's on the biggest winery in Michigan. This house was HUGE and just spectacular inside, especially when you have It to yourself. No one was staying their during that week so we had a great time because we had the run of this million dollar home all to ourselves and because it was during the week in the off-season it was only like $125.00 a night. The views over the grape fields, with the bay in the distance is something out of a movie. I recommend this for any couple looking to get away for a few days. Especially for the price. I've spent hundreds to stay at a sub-par quality compared to this place.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank piazza63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2005

My husband and I were recently in Traverse City for a family reunion. We didn't realize until it was too late that we had arrived at the height of tourist season. Ooops. The bayfront hotel we had booked was very nice, but was completely overrun with family vacationers. We love kids, but the only room available was located on the main level, adjacent to the pool entrance and suffice it to say we were losing our minds. After a sleepless night, I called a few local inns and was lucky enough to book a room at The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse. We packed up & fled the hotel, not knowing what to expect. To our delight, we found the Inn to be just beautiful, surrounded by landscaped gardens adjacent to a working vineyard on the east side of Old Mission Peninsula. Our nicely appointed queen bedroom featured a living area with sofa and bistro style table for two, fully stocked kitchenette, private bath and private balcony. We bought a bottle of wine at the vineyard's own retail store next door, unpacked, sighed, popped the cork and enjoyed the rest of our stay in a peaceful state of bliss. Incredibly, the Inn was actually less expensive than the hotel room. We'll be back to try the merlot!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CherylA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
13.5 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
13.9 km away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#18 of 40 in Traverse City
221 reviews
13.2 km away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 km away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
13.2 km away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,472 reviews
18.9 km away
A Breath of Heaven Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse

Address: 12301 Center Rd, Traverse City, MI 49686-8558
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Traverse City
Price Range: $152 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Chateau Grand Traverse is located next to Chateau Grand Traverse Winery just 8 miles north of Traverse City on beautiful Old Mission Peninsula. We offer secluded and relaxed countryside lodging that caters exclusively to an adult-only clientele. Our six well-appointed guest rooms provide the perfect getaway for romantic couples, small groups, or even mini corporate retreats. Nestled in a tranquil wooded setting, guests can unwind at the end of the day with a complimentary bottle of Chateau Grand Traverse wine while enjoying the panoramic views from their own private balcony. Each guest room is contemporary in style and offers an array of comfort amenities to make your stay pleasant. We also provide free wireless Internet to ensure that you can keep in touch while enjoying your winery lodging experience. To maintain a healthy environment for everyone, our entire facility is smoke-free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn At Chateau Grand Traverse Hotel Traverse City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing