We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant is starting to feel 'dated'”
Review of The Tavern Grill

The Tavern Grill
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Blaine
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 July 2017

We've been going to this restaurant for many years now and it's one of my favorites in the area. Went there for dinner on July 4th and I started to notice that perhaps the restaurant needs an update. The tables are more and more scratched up, the seat cushions feel like there is no padding left, and the place kind of smelled dirty (or maybe the floor was washed with a dirty mop, or maybe the carpet needs to get replaced?).

The food is still good - that hasn't changed. But just like everything else with time, it's time for a little TLC.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 542bernadettew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to review us and provide us with some feedback! We are glad to hear you have been coming in for years now - we appreciate the continued loyalty! We love suggestions, if you don't mind filling out our online feedback form here: bit.ly/tavernfeedback we will make sure to get those suggestions in front of the right eyes! Thanks and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

The Tavern Grill is a comfortable and friendly go-to for brunch, lunch and dinner. I tend to prefer stopping in for appetizers just because they are that good. Their waffle fries and seasoned sour cream is a must with any juicy burger. The Crab Artichoke Dip is a warm hug and tastes divine, the Sesame Stix are crunchy and delicious but the very best appetizer is the Lemon Basil Calamari dipped in the homemade lemon aioli. Another must try is the Chicken and Wild Rice soup any day of the week or the Southwestern soup on Thursdays. Not only is it a great place to dine but you can place an order to go if that fits your schedule better.

Thank Kmmhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2017

Thanks for the review and wonderfully kind words! We couldn't have described those yummy appetizers better ourselves! You have us daydreaming of them! We appreciate your continued loyalty and look forward to seeing you in again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Reserved a time, when we arrived we were seated promptly. Service was ok, nothing exceptional. One person in group ordered a "long island" not good and at $8.50 -- it was not made correctly. Somehow the cooks missed making one meal, not a big deal as we were each other not having been together for 8 months -- but that's not good. Food portions were of good size. I did not hear anyone say they did not like what they ordered. I must say I have not seen pasta/noodles be served with a soup good thing we had a fork. Overall it ok place to go to.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to review us Steven. We apologize for the mishap on the drink and missed food order. But are glad to hear your family was able to get together for the first time in quite awhile! If you have any other feedback or concerns feel free to fill out our online feedback form here: bit.ly/tavernfeedback We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2017

It was a beautiful spring day and we wanted to sit outside. There was a wait for a table so we went to the bar. After watching people leave for 40 minutes we went over to the hostess and she seated us at one of the 6 empty tables outside. When I asked if she forgot about us, she glared at me. All of the great service from the bar and our server went out the window. The food was good, our group had fish tacos, a French dip, tavern style burger and the breakfast burger. The breakfast burger was a mess by the time is was done, I would not get that again. You can buy a $20 card that gets you discounts, a max of $10 per day. After we paid our bill and were getting ready to leave, the bill from the bar showed up, even though we asked about it prior to paying the food bill. Good food, but there was a certain arrogance from a couple of the employees. Not sure that I would go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 97Rick97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to review us and provide us with some valuable feedback. We are disappointed to hear your visit with us was not satisfactory. Do you mind sending us an email at blaine@thetaverngrill.com, we would like to discuss your situation further and follow-up properly. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

All three of us really enjoyed the food (steak, reuben and ravioli chicken) yesterday. I ordered one Michelob Golden (tall) and it was $7.50!! Then I ordered a pop and that was $2.70. Too pricey in my opinion. I'd expect prices like that in Minnetonka, not Blaine. Our server was terrible at refilling our waters and pop. We put our empty glasses at the end of the table so she could see they were empty. That did no good. They were busy, but still. We won't be going back most likely.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at The Tavern Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to review us and provide us with some feedback. We do offer a Club Card that once you sign up you are able to get 20% off all food purchases and $4.00 25 oz mug domestic tap beers ($5.00 for premium). We would also love to gain more insight about your visit and follow up with you, could you email us at blaine@thetaverngrill.com? Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tavern Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing