We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mathew S. Burrows 1890 Inn
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn West(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$102
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$119
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites Canal Park(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$124
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn on Lake Superior(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$140
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Point Marina Inn(Duluth)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canal Park Lodge(Duluth)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
16
10
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
10
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I loved this B & B. Beautifully restored, friendly and helpful host, delicious full breakfast and walking distance (1/2 mile) from downtown and the Lake Walk. The only reason I did not give this top rating was the neighborhood it self was not entirely well maintained. No concerns just a mix of apartments, homes and some small business.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler53719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit, beautiful old home with beautiful furnishings. Fabulous breakfast and great conversation with innkeeper. Comfy sheets and great view of lake!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ldsTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2011

We have stayed at the Mathew S. Burrows house several times, and love it each and every time. It feels like our home away from home. Al, the owner, provides extra special touches to make your visit relaxing, peaceful, and special. We have stayed in the Rose Room each time.

The food is delicious! Generous portions including fresh fruit, big homemade muffins, and full entree are always a hit and served on antique china. The table is set beautifully and staff are very welcoming, refilling your beverage for you before you even think to ask. There is also bottled water in the kitchen that you can help yourself to, as well as evening treats (homemade) with tea/hot chocolate. If you are out dining in Duluth, you are able to leave your leftovers in the fridge, too.

The house is a gem. Warm colors, lighting, cozy atmosphere and is furnished beautifully. There is a back porch with a swing on it that is very refreshing to sit on after a day on the North Shore or other adventures in Duluth. It is quiet and relaxing.

Al is very kind and will offer you restaurant choices, history on the house, or will stay out of your way, if that's what you prefer. He makes you feel welcome to use the house like your own.

We know there are other options for Bed and Breakfasts in Duluth, but we keep coming back to the Mathew S. Burrows House.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allisonfaith11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

My wife and I were traveling back to Duluth for a family event and we usually stay in one of the many local hotels in the area, but a friend in Cincinnati recommended the Mathew Burrows 1890 Inn. We decided to try something different for a change. We probably won't go the hotel route again (we travel to Duluth from Cincinnati twice a year). Our experience here was wonderful. The house itself is beautiful, it is easy to find (a great location - not far from downtown) and Al, our innkeeper, was more than gracious, but his breakfasts were over the top!
We met several couples who were traveling to the area to hike trails on the North Shore, tour the area, etc. Breakfasts were wonderful, everyone reported on what they planned to do during the day, what they had done the previous day, etc. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves so much that it almost seemed like they were not in a hurry to leave. Probably, besides the conversation, it was the amazing breakfasts that we were served each morning. I should have taken pictures; they were amazing (One morning - stuffed French Toast, rolled with cream cheese, marmalade and spices in the center. The next morning a wonderful soufflé). We are really looking forward to our next trip to Duluth and the Mathew Burrows 1890 Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMCINCINNATI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My wife and I did a two week tour of several cities in Minnesota, including Grand Marais, Duluth & Hibbing. We were up there to escape the Florida heat and didn't really know what we were going to do, but turned out to have a really great vacation. Please see my other posts regarding lodging, meals, etc. if you are interested in a similar trip.

We ended our trip with a few days in Duluth. We stayed at the 1890 Inn for three nights. The Rose Room was cute but a little small with a bathroom that was sort of built into one corner of the room. It was cute but might get a little old if you're staying more than a couple of nights. The next two nights we were in the Master Suite. Very nice. Plenty of room, separate little sitting area / closet and a nice large bathroom. Definitely worth a few extra dollars. We didn't get to see the other bedrooms. The common areas had enough to keep busy if you were just hanging out...books, magazines, an old player piano, patio, etc.

Breakfasts were fantastic! Food was ready right on time, plenty of it and the service was great. Al's a great cook. We weren't hungry again until dinner time. He also left out brownies or cookies at night and supplied cold bottled water and soft drinks from the kitchen. We had to leave early on our last day for a flight, but he was nice enough to bag up a few things to take with us for breakfast.

Al was a great host and suggested things to do and places to eat while we were in town. Extremely hospital and seemed like a very nice man.

The Inn itself seemed like it could use a little refurbishing. The interior was very clean and everything worked fine, but it is an old house that was showing it's age. Nothing major wrong, just don't expect an 'old house' that was redone two years ago if that's what you're looking for.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again. Service was great, food was great and the rates were reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UF_RX_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews