We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn on Lake Superior
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The Inn is down in Canal Park area which is convenient to lots of touristy shops, bars and places to eat. Most you can walk to although one of my favorite spots is Fitgers and we did drive to that. It is a bit like Cancun where hotels are stacked up all along the beach (not quite the Tropical temps ) and there are plenty of pets running up and down the boardwalk as well so if you are looking for a bit of privacy to enjoy Lake Superior this may not be the best choice. As I said it is kid and dog friendly. They have an indoor pool, one on the roof top and smores by the fire each night facing the lake. They also have a decent work out area on the second level.
Breakfast was quite crowded with the make them yourself waffles being the most popular. A good selection for kids of cereal and bagels as well as yogurt and donuts. In your room we had a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker so great to bring a tray back and sit on your balcony if the temperature allows. It stays 10 degrees cooler off the lake so even if it says 51 it was chilly and foggy.
Beds were comfortable enough but made creaking noises when you moved about. No noise issues even though the hotel was at capacity. We were there for a hockey event so nice and close to Amsoil arena and again very nice to walk to most places.

Room Tip: Facing the lake for great views and people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay here. I love the Cancun comparison, and the fact that temps are not always tropical in Duluth. I'm glad you were happy with your choice to stay with us and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,219 - 1,223 of 1,413 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

Our great experience started when I called for reservations. Olivia was very pleasant and very helpful. Our room was excellent. It was a king bed with a sofa pullout with a lake view. It was on the 1st floor at the very end of the Inn. Our view of the lake was great, even on the 1st floor. Our room had 4, yes 4, large windows and 2 large flat screen televisions. The room was very clean. I was surprised how quiet our room was - I heard NOTHING except occasional outside voices during daylight hours, no neighbor or hallway sound at all.

The bathroom and counter/sink area separated the bed area from the living area. The free bath products/soap smelled wonderful. As we were checking for belongings when we were leaving, I opened the fridge (which we didn't use) and saw pop and water!

The breakfast area was quiet when we got coffee to take back to our room to watch the sunrise from our private patio. AWESOME. The weather was fabulous 3/9 & 3/10. The breakfast was very good, so many choices. We are already planning another trip and will certainly stay at the Inn. Next time we would like to try the 3rd floor to compare. Totally A+ from start to finish.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93Donna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you very much for your recent visit and very nice review and recommendation. It makes us feel very special to know that we are the reason for your very first review on TripAdvisor. Olivia is terrific, and inspires all of us to do our best every day - I will make sure she gets the positive recognition she deserves for being mentioned here by you. Since Northfiled isn't too far from Duluth, I hope you will make the trip and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Inn on the Lake lived up to it's billing...the staff are most helpful...breakfast was better than most..very dog friendly...lots of dining and shopping near by...lovely location on the shipping canal.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thanks so much for adding your comments and rating to our listing. Edmondton is a beautiful city, and we hope you have safe travels between here and there. Please let us know when you will be our guest again so we can welcome you back in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Overall was nice. Nice rooms. Nice service. Nice breakfast. Enjoyed the evening smores and the pool on the roof (even though it was only 15 above). Our first room was poolside and the chlorine was too strong, but they were very accomodating and let us change rooms. Our room was hot and the heater was loud, woke me a few times during the night. We had a coupon for 79/night that they wouldn't honor and we don't understand why as when we booked the room we told them we had the coupon. Was 84/night and with a line behind us we let it go.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gransm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2012

I am very sorry for the confusion about your coupon, and will try to make it right if you will contact us privately. Thank you for your visit and nice review. I apologize for the noisy heater, and am glad you were able to enjoy the roof top pool and other amenities during your visit. I hope you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty the next time you are in Duluth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Staying at the Inn on Lake Superior is a piece of heaven. There is quiet and a place to read. There are lots of places to shop to enjoy the work of artists. The Lakewalk along Lake Superior heals every part of your body - inside and out - and helps to shield you from the world. It starts with the great breakfast of waffles and a myriad of other choices. The walk to the pier and the bridge brings you into a world filled with the fantasy of world travel. Then, when you are hungry, just walk to one of the many fine restaurants around - especially Va Bene' in their solarium - as you eat on the shore of the lake. Want romance? Bring your spouse and be romanced. The Inn is a home away from home created by their wonderful staff, their service, and S'mores at 8! Eat the popcorn from the business in the lot in the summer months. Bring your kids and grandkids and climb on the rocks!

Room Tip: Lower level connects you with the Lake immediately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmhdul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn on Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Thank you very much for your nice review and rating. We agree that Lake Superior has many powers and can be enjoyed and experienced in many ways in every season. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#1 of 31 in Duluth
546 reviews
0.6 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
1.1 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 31 in Duluth
329 reviews
0.2 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $144 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn on Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Blackwoods Catering are among the luxurious extras setting The Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing