We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Eco-friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Inn On Lake Superior
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Duluth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I love how fresh our room smells after housekeeping. Clean, not chemical smell. Beds are so comfy. Breakfast is great. S'mores on the shore is so cool! Pool area is well stocked with towels. The mini soap & lotion in the room smell so good. And the binoculars in our lake-side room were a really thoughtful touch. The sheets are so soft. I can't imagine having as relaxing a stay anywhere else. The fitness room is good too. Nice selection of machines. Gift shop has great shirts at reasonable prices. This was our second spring break at the Inn, and we will continue to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonyaC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thanks for coming back for this year's spring break, and for sharing your experience. I'm glad you like our eco-friendly programs, and really appreciate your support. We look forward to serving you again soon, even if it isn't spring break!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,187 - 1,191 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

The wife and I stayed there this past weekend for a little overnight getaway. We were very impressed by the size of our room and the balcony with lake view. The staff seemed very friendly and the location is great. You are within walking distance of everything in Canal Park. Beware though...if you venture out for a drive up the shore or something, there may not be a parking spot for you when you come back. We went out Saturday night for a drive up the hill to check out the night time view (very nice I might add), but when we came back, there was no place to park in the hotel lot(or anyplace in Canal Park for that matter). We ended up going out for another drive to explore a little. When we came back around 10:30 that night, we still had to search for a parking spot. Luckily there were some people leaving and I got to the spot and turned on my signal before some other guy pulled up across from me. The jerk that wanted to try and fight me over the spot after we parked. So...in a nutshell..the Inn is great, but it would be nice if they had reserved parking for guests. For $160.00, I'd like to think they could at least gurantee me a place to park.

Room Tip: Unless you like to hear kids screaming all the time, get a lake view room. You'll still have som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinBob76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

I'm very sorry you encountered parking problems here during your stay. Although it is quite rare, there are the occassional nights where the parking lot is full, and not of our paying guests, but with many folks who are in the area for a special event or something. We do require all guests to hang a parking tag in their car, and probably be more diligent in towing those without the tag, especially during special events. I do hope you will give us another chance to earn your loyalty and respect the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

If you love your dog then you'll love the Inn. They treat your pet like the special part of your family it is. A gift bag for your barking buddy includes a bandana, milk bones and a special bowl; what a treat to the normal squint eyed look you receive at most hotels when you have a dog along.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable with great pillows for a good night's rest. The hotel is conveniently located right on the lake next to the walking path and in walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We were pleasantly surprised with the quiet room even though it was overlooking the balcony, very soundproof.

This is a great hotel when you want to stay in Canal Park with your pet. And for those eco-conscious guests they have recycling bins in their rooms. You can't beat that!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paddling_hiking_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Than you for taking the time to write and share comments about your recent stay with us. We are so lucky to have met so many nice people because we welcome pets here. Or is it the other way around. Or both!? Regardless, we want everyone to have a good time here and really appreciate the positive recognition of jobs well done. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We met family here for the weekend and we brought our doggie. Yes there is the 25.00 pet fee per night, who cares--I get why they charge it and it's well worth it. They have most pet families staying on the second floor. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, very spacious. Pay the extra to have a lake view as you get a balcony and if it's nice, you can have the door open while you're in the room and you doggies can go out on the balcony and watch the passerby's on the boardwalk. The staff were very accomdating and when you check in w/a pet you get a doggie welcome pack w/a water bowl, doggie waste bags, a treat, and cute little bandana. A very nice, wecloming touch. Going forward, this is the ONLY place we will stay with our dog in Duluth. Great rooms, great service, it was an all around family friendly and pet friendly hotel. Great amenities too--free water and pop in your room, nightly smores, rooftop hot tub, etc. Great place!!

Room Tip: If you are bringing a pet--ask for a lakeview room so you get a balcony and ask to stay near the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bookersclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2012

Thank you very much for your recent visit and nice review. We love pets (ours and our guests') and believe we humans are the lucky ones because they tolerate us! We want to make sure that time spent here is enjoyable for everyone, regardless of how many legs they have. I'm glad you will be back and look forward to serving you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

This past week we stopped at the Inn on the Lake to overnight before driving back to St. Paul.
The location is in the popular Canal Park area, right on Lake Superior and walking distance to the restaurants and shops.
The front desk person was friendly and helpful even though she was the only one handling walk ins and the phone. She gave us options of the specials and was very patient as we decided.
The Inn always has fresh coffee and offers S'mores over a fire every night. These are nice extras that make staying there worthwhile.
Breakfast was good and offered some options.
The pool area is handy and clean. My child spent a good deal of time swimming and we read during that time.

Room Tip: Choose a balcony over Lake Superior especially during shipping season. Its fun to watch the ships c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mageestillh2o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KJacobsVPZMC, Guest Relations Manager at The Inn On Lake Superior, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We really appreciate your loyalty and recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Duluth hotels
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites Canal Park
1.2 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 31 in Duluth
530 reviews
0.2 km away
The Suites Hotel in Canal Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
South Pier Inn on the Canal
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Duluth-Downtown
1.1 km away
Pier B Resort
Pier B Resort
#11 of 31 in Duluth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On Lake Superior

Address: 350 Canal Park Dr, Duluth, MN 55802-2316
Region: United States > Minnesota > Duluth
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Duluth
#2 Green Hotel in Duluth
#2 Business Hotel in Duluth
#3 Family Hotel in Duluth
Price Range: $138 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn On Lake Superior 2.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indoor and year-round rooftop pools, complimentary hot breakfast bar, nightly campfires along Lake Superior with ooey-gooey S’mores, exceptional rooms and suites, 100% smoke free, private lake view balconies, free high-speed internet access, and beautiful conference facilities featuring foods from Savories Catering are among the luxurious extras setting the Inn on Lake Superior in Canal Park apart from other Duluth hotels. The only thing we overlook is the Lake. Reserve on-line today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On Lake Superior Hotel Duluth
Hotel On Lake Superior
Lake Superior Inn
On Lake Superior Duluth
Lake Superior Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing