We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"One of the best little resorts in Ely area"”
Review of Garden Lake Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ely
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Garden Lake Resort
Ranked #10 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Ely
Reviewed 1 February 2017

Been coming up for years. Clean , great fishing,,, got to learn the spots.
A lot of water to cover for fishing in the chain. Garden Lake, Farm Lake, White Iron Lake. Owners are friendly and beautiful Sunrise and Sunsets. Relax enjoy the beauty of the " End of the Road" as Charles Kuralt said about Ely.

Room Tip: Only 4 cabins . So if you don't have reservations . Call to see if there is an opening if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

The cabins are modern and nicely updated. Lovely fireplace and nice view of the lake and shoreline. There is also a nice communal fire area, sandbox, and swing set near the cabins. There are canoes and paddleboats to use as well. There are many places/tables to eat outdoors and a grill to use as well. We really enjoyed our stay here as it isn't a very far drive out of town. Would highly recommend these cabins to anyone! The owners of GLR are very accommodating and welcoming! Thanks for the great stay. (The cabin had air conditioning, but we didn't need to use it.)

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I stayed at Garden Lake with my husband, our toddler, and another couple with a young toddler over the New Year's holiday. It was perfect - clean, quiet, cozy, with a beautiful view of the frozen lake and close enough to town to make grocery runs no problem. The owners are so lovely and friendly, the price is extremely reasonable, and having the kitchen outfitted and linens provided is such a plus. It was warm with no drafts on a very cold night, and full of sunlight in the daytime. We hope to return as much as possible!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

My family has been coming to Garden Lake Resort for many years. It isn't the only resort that we have been to in MN, but it is the one we keep returning to. The resort is small, four cabins. The grounds are meticulously maintained. No old retired machinery or other "junk" hidden around the corners, etc... The cabins are very clean and have that up-north appeal. The landscaping is beautiful and the docks are wide and, again, very well-maintained -- not warped, uneven or hazardous. There is a community campfire site and a small play area and a basketball hoop. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. We have a family album full of wonderful memories from Garden Lake Resort.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have been staying @ Garden Lake resort for well over 10 years. Nice wide docks and close to town. Owners maintain this property superbly. Fishing can be great or spotty, always weather dependent and you have to know the chain as there is plenty of water to fish.One of our, wife and I , favorite vacation spots in Ely area. Laid back and what you expect for northern Mn.

Room Tip: only 4 cabins all with views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
7.0 km away
Motel Ely Budget Host
20.5 km away
Northern Lights Lodge
6.4 km away
Super 8 Ely Minnesota
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Grand Ely Lodge
Grand Ely Lodge
#1 of 8 in Ely
395 reviews
1.7 km away
Silver Rapids Lodge
Silver Rapids Lodge
#29 of 34 in Ely
108 reviews
8.3 km away
A Stay Inn Ely
A Stay Inn Ely
#3 of 3 in Ely
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Lake Resort

Address: Garden Lake Road, P.O. Box 25, Ely, MN 55731-8180
Region: United States > Minnesota > Ely
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Ely
Price Range: $107 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, private, lakeside resort located on the edge of the Boundary Waters Canoe Area. Our cabins feature lakeside views, A/C, WiFi, Flat Screen TVs, full housekeeping amenities and more. Our cabins are extremely clean and we use green cleaning products for your health and the environment. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing