We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Timber Wolf Lodge(Ely)(Great Value!)
US$195
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Adventure Inn(Ely)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Ely Budget Host(Ely)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stay Inn Ely(Ely)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$137
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$295
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (13)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
10
1
0
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
1
0
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat fishingbeautiful viewely areadocklake
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

The cabins are modern and nicely updated. Lovely fireplace and nice view of the lake and shoreline. There is also a nice communal fire area, sandbox, and swing set near the cabins. There are canoes and paddleboats to use as well. There are many places/tables to eat outdoors and a grill to use as well. We really enjoyed our stay here as it isn't a very far drive out of town. Would highly recommend these cabins to anyone! The owners of GLR are very accommodating and welcoming! Thanks for the great stay. (The cabin had air conditioning, but we didn't need to use it.)

Stayed: May 2016
1  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2016

I stayed at Garden Lake with my husband, our toddler, and another couple with a young toddler over the New Year's holiday. It was perfect - clean, quiet, cozy, with a beautiful view of the frozen lake and close enough to town to make grocery runs no problem. The owners are so lovely and friendly, the price is extremely reasonable, and having the kitchen outfitted and linens provided is such a plus. It was warm with no drafts on a very cold night, and full of sunlight in the daytime. We hope to return as much as possible!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015

My family has been coming to Garden Lake Resort for many years. It isn't the only resort that we have been to in MN, but it is the one we keep returning to. The resort is small, four cabins. The grounds are meticulously maintained. No old retired machinery or other "junk" hidden around the corners, etc... The cabins are very clean and have that up-north appeal. The landscaping is beautiful and the docks are wide and, again, very well-maintained -- not warped, uneven or hazardous. There is a community campfire site and a small play area and a basketball hoop. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. We have a family album full of wonderful memories from Garden Lake Resort.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have been staying @ Garden Lake resort for well over 10 years. Nice wide docks and close to town. Owners maintain this property superbly. Fishing can be great or spotty, always weather dependent and you have to know the chain as there is plenty of water to fish.One of our, wife and I , favorite vacation spots in Ely area. Laid back and what you expect for northern Mn.

Room Tip: only 4 cabins all with views of the lake.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed here to fish and it was not very good. The cabins were just ok, very sparse and the kitchen was not very well stocked, no tv or radio. The service staff didn't really act like they cared about the customers. Would not go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank StephenP783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews