We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fried chicken an onion rings anywhere!”

The Old Log Cabin Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Forest Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 26 June 2017 via mobile

We stop here whenever we are hungry for fried chicken- they never disappoint us the chicken is the absolute best!!
One of our friends ordered onion rings and now they too are at the top of the list for greatness!
We are going to go up there for prime rib on a Saturday soon as we hear it is also the best ever!
They have Mexican food on Monday and Tuesday which some of friends have tried and they thought it was very good as well
Worth the drive out there for sure!!

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2017

My husband and I have stopped at the Old Log Cabin several times. There ribs are good, the soups are always good and my husbands favorite is the chicken. The Bloody Marys are the best in Forest Lake. They have a large dining room and a cozy little bar. the staff is always pleasant and food comes out fast.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Good food and good people.
Wife and I love the deep fried mushrooms, but can't go wrong with any order.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank MnRon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017 via mobile

Had to return to MN for family issues. Before stocking up with groceries, have been dining at the Old Log, and have for many years with friends and family.
Enjoy dining at the bar, always a local to chat with, enjoy a brew while awaiting dinner. Service at bar is always, prompt, courteous, and fun.
Just enjoyed a quarter boasted chicken, well worth the wait, excellent crispy hashbrowns (non-existent in AZ) and a large portion of fresh (not overcooked) broccoli.
The sirloin tips are also excellent, pizza is great, enjoy the liver & onions, never had a bad meal there.
Friday and Saturday dive into the prime rib, soooooo good.
Burgers are superb, juicy and cooked to order. Fries just ok.
Deep fried fish very good, walleye is phenomenal.
My opinion, steaks mediocre, difficult to char a 1" thick piece of beef.
Have not been tempted by Taco night, patrons indicate they are good....AZ has me spoiled.
Prices are moderate, good value for $$$.
RTInMN

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank RTinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

We've been coming here forv24 years! Great service and food in an up north cabin atmosphere! We just had the broasted chicken and it was delicious, as usual. We also fancy their bloody marys and margaritas. The carrot cake was wonderful as well!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank MinnesotaMarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Old Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing