We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff. Hotel Showing Its Age”

Hastings Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hastings Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hastings
Reviewed 9 February 2017

This past weekend, Feb. 3-6 2017 I was part of a large group attending an event at this hotel. This same event has been held at this hotel for a number of years now, and the hotel feels like a second home at this point, and the staff like family. Everyone was very friendly, and willing to help with any questions or just chat for a bit.

Unfortunately the hotel itself has seen better days. The carpets are a little worn, the beds are pretty uncomfortable, and it's hard to keep a comfortable temperature in the rooms. The bathrooms need updating, though there was plenty of hot water and a decent shower head. I believe I heard rumor they were going to be updating the hotel over the next year, so perhaps this is only temporary. All this being said the staff are doing the best they can with what they have, and will work with you to solve any issues you have to the best of their ability.

This is a friendly place if a little worn. If you're not too picky you should be able to have a pleasant and relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the elevator will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Troy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, Front Office Manager at Hastings Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2017

Thank you for coming to stay with us. We enjoy hosting your group.
You must have been on the 3rd floor as that is the last floor we have yet to renovate. 1st and 2nd floor rooms all have new paint, carpet and furnishings.
This coming week we will be getting the new carpet in the ballroom. We tried to get that put in before your group but the carpet was a little slow getting here.
Looking forward to seeing your group next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2016

clean, quiet and nice place to stay. The staff was very friendly. The rooms are big and have the basic amenities (fridge and microwave). And everything works. I really do not have anything negative to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivanc1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, Front Office Manager at Hastings Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is fine if you have to stay for one night, but not for more. The rooms are quite big but the beds are small and not very comfortable. The pool is nice and open until late. For breakfast there are waffles, sweets and toast, there isn't a lot of fruit and there is no hot food. The hotel is clean and the staff kind.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank aurora b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, Front Office Manager at Hastings Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Thank you for your response. We are happy that you our hotel to be clean and that our staff treated you well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2016

A nice stay. Clean accommodations. Very nice staff.
We arranged out stay around a family funeral. Was close to everything needed. Great nights sleep. we stayed two nights.
Breakfast was very good, simple, fresh baked goods, fresh fruit, hard cooked eggs, waffle maker. Coffee / teas served throughout the day. We even had fresh cookies served daily as a person arrives.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, Front Office Manager at Hastings Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for staying with us during a difficult time. We hope you can visit us again under happier circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

This hotel needs some work. The staff was great...very friendly and courteous. But the hotel is in need of some TLC and work. The toilet seat was loose and one needed to be careful when sitting on it. Things were worn...all that said, the room was clean! There is an Applebee's right next to the hotel.

It's not a terrible place to stay, just know it's a place that needs some updating.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pepper484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen V, Front Office Manager at Hastings Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your review.
We always try to be friendly and courteous. We know we are in need of updating and we are working on getting all of our "ducks in a row". We have completed some renovating in the lobby and the breakfast room. Next up the rooms! We are excited and our working with various vendors so that the next time you come you will have a freshly renovated hotel room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hastings
13.5 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Cottage Grove, MN
27.9 km away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Woodbury, MN
0.6 km away
Nichols Inn of Hastings
Nichols Inn of Hastings
#1 of 4 in Hastings
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hastings Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hastings Country Inn

Address: 300 33rd St W, Hastings, MN 55033-3673
Region: United States > Minnesota > Hastings
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hastings
Price Range: $67 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hastings Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel under new ownership and management. Standard rooms and suites, all non-smoking. Indoor pool and hot tub. Free breakfast with waffles. Coffee and cookies available 24 hours. Friendly staff. Room amenities include refrigerator, microwave, in-room coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Free WiFi and cable TV provided. Close to restaurants, golf courses, ski hills, biking and hiking trails. At the confluence of the Mississippi, St. Croix and Vermillion Rivers, Hastings, MN is a beautiful historic river town sight. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hastings Hotel Hastings
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Hastings
Country Inn Hastings

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing