We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Inn near downtown and trails”
Review of Grandma's Inn

Grandma's Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grandma's Inn
Ranked #9 of 17 Lanesboro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We needed a place to stay while passing through and managed to get into this Inn at the last minute. Very nice house with a very homey feel, a great deal of common space, patios, grills and large and small living spaces. The large living space is on the ground floor and is pet friendly. We stayed upstairs and despite a narrow stairwell it was still easy to get in and out of. The inn is not a B&B but Pat made a wonderful breakfast on Saturday morning and we also had fresh pastry's from a local shop. The inn is located a block from the historic downtown area of Lanesboro, so a nice place to walk, shop, eat and find world class entertainment at the Commonweal Theatre - and you get a discount on tickets there when you tell them you are at the inn. Pat, the innkeeper is a very personable and wonderful person to work with and talk to. Really enjoyed our stay and so did the folks we ate breakfast with who come frequently for bike vacations and week-end getaways. They must like it as they booked 2 stays for next year already. We enjoyed the inn and would stay again. The ad says fridges in each room but we didn't have one in our smaller room but could use the large one in the kitchen which was real close to the room.

Room Tip: Have many options, suites and rooms, so ask innkeeper for details. Large first floor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia796, Manager at Grandma's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

One of my favorite times is when all of my guests are in the dining room upstairs for breakfast. They can make a cup of coffee at 4 am which some of them get up for, and put the pot on. They can sit in quiet or put the TV on for news. They can sit outside and watch the morning rise. I am up at 5:30 to make their breakfast. Once the quiche is in the oven, I hear them starting to wake up, they can smell it. When it all comes together, guests make friends that they share from year to year, and for a life time. Thank you for your review of our Inn, I hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2017

The house is laid out so that most of the rooms and the kitchen and sitting area are on the second floor for which you have to scale a very steep set of winding stairs to get to the main area. Close to downtown. On the first morning of our stay, the breakfast food was tasty, but when returned from a day being out and about, the food was still sitting out and was served the next two days. The common area is shared by several rooms, therefore, we did not put the food away because there were others. Furthermore, the fridge had yucky old food including frozen sausages that were in an open cup in the freezer. The last day of our stay, there was a egg casserole with sausage and the freezer sausage was gone. I did not eat the breakfast after the first day. The people on the first floor..who I believe was the owner...were smoking cigarettes and smoke traveled up to the rental area which is unacceptable to me. Several rooms have their own bathroom and were clean. Water pressure was good in my room. The musty smell cleared quickly with opening the window a crack and the temperature was ok. There is an outside sitting area which was nice. I have read other reviews for which the owner responded to people expressing their experience for which the owner was unkind. This is also the unfriendly response we got. Expected more for the price. Would not stay here again based on the smoke and the food and did not like having all the main rental area on the second floor. There is unit on the main floor which may be available.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank katibugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia796, General Manager at Grandma's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

I am amazed that could write this. We do not have a winding stair case to get to the upper level . We serve breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings. Everything is made fresh. We have never served a casserole for breakfast. We serve quiche and fresh baked rolls from our pastry shop downtown, with fruit and juice and coffee. Guests can smoke on the outside areas of the Inn. The Porch, The patio, and the upper deck. If you were close to those areas you may have smelled smoke if your windows were open. It says here that you stayed in June. This is now September. If your stay was so bad why have you not contacted us, or let us know when you were here that you were unhappy. We would have refunded your stay, and given you a free stay at another place in Lanesboro the next time you are here. I hope you find a place in Lanesboro that fits your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

The accommodations were perfect for our extended family of 11. The location is good. Pat was very helpful to make sure we were comfortable. I would recommend this to people looking for a place to stay in Lanesboro.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TML1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We rented two rooms at Grandmas Inn. Pat was very friendly, rooms exceptionally clean. Nice breakfast both mornings. Very close to downtown and the root River bike trail. We would definitely stay here again. Plenty of common areas in the house to watch tv, play games or chat and relax.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff111702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This is my first ever TripAdvisor review…

Two of us stayed on the upper floor for four weekday nights.
Each room had its own bathroom. Our floor had a large fully stocked kitchen, a dining area, two living room areas with big screen TV’s, and an outside deck. There is a room off the lower patio to keep bikes and a gas grill on the patio.

We had a wonderful experience staying at Grandma’s Inn, better than we could have expected. Pat, the innkeeper, works hard to make everything just right – inside and out. We had no complaints about our stay. Everything was great. We will be back next year. Thanks Pat for our wonderful time in Lanesboro.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank odaat1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grandma's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandma's Inn

Address: 100 Elmwood St E, Lanesboro, MN 55949-9772
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Lanesboro
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandma's Inn is a very spacious Inn with 8 rooms and 2 Suites. Families with children and pets will enjoy the very large upstairs with 6 bedrooms, very large kitchen,dining room, and living room. The kitchen is fully stocked with every thing you could need, you just bring your food if you choose to cook. There is also a gas grill on our patio for your use. The living room has a large flat screen TV, table for playing cards, and a Fooseball table for adults and children. We have outside games for all to enjoy, and our patio holds 16 guests. Our veranda is cozy for all to enjoy on warm summer nights with no mosquitos. We are 1 block from the bike trail and all shopping and dining. When you arrive you can park your car and walk to see a play or dine at your favorite restaurant. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing