We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love This Place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lanesboro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stone Mill Hotel & Suites
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We always try to stay at the Stone Mill Inn when biking the Root River Trail because of the historic decor, exceptional service, and reasonable prices. We decided at the last minute to get some biking in over the Labor Day weekend and booked the "Mill Room" which is the only room on the same floor as the front desk and gift shop. We were a little concerned the room might be a bit noisy but it was actually very quiet and private. The office closes early and we basically had that section of the inn to ourselves. The light complimentary breakfast Is perfect before a long day of biking and is quite tasty. The inn also offers a locking bike storage room so you don't have to leave your bicycles on the car. There is also a great porch/patio located at the front of the inn that is perfect for enjoying a beverage and people watching. Regarding the "exceptional service"... when we arrived, the parking in front of the hotel was full. The manager moved her car to another location so that we could park in a convenient location. You can't go wrong staying at the Stone Mill.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel website to see the various rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We just returned home from a wonderful stay at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites! We went with another couple that had stayed here the year before and raved about it. We are avid bicyclists and wanted to stay at a central location where we could hop on the Root River Trail system and go different directions each day. Lanesboro is the perfect location to do this and Stone Mill is the best place to stay hands down!! They have a selection of accommodations to suit anyone's tastes. We chose to stay in the Farmhouse Loft Jacuzzi Suite and couldn't have been happier! It's a beautiful and comfortable room, so much so, that we rebooked it for the same time next year. The breakfasts, which are part of the package, are a huge bonus! Fresh baked pastries from a local bakery are served along with yogurts, fresh fruit, various cereal, coffee and juice. We loved sitting out front on the covered porch in the comfortable wooden rocking chairs - a perfect opportunity to visit and meet new people. For those of you that bring bicycles, there is a locked storage barn behind the suites to store bikes. Everything about this place is exceptional - I honestly can't think of one thing I'd change.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pullint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone Mill S, Owner at Stone Mill Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

We are so pleased that you had a great experience. Lanesboro has so many things to offer for our guests. Cheryl

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Wyatt was great.... Very clean & friendly..They left a lot of original..We had the egg suite..down in basement..no windows if that bothers u,we had no problem with it,use to be where they stored ice..it was really cool(both meanings..lol)Bed comfortable..refg..micro..jacuzzi..Nice breakfast,small not healthy options,but ok..The only neg. I would say & its a small one..is no toilet seat on toilet..Not that that normally matters,but I didn't have anywhere to put my clothes when I was taking a shower..No shelves..So thats where I would have put them..But I managed...The Root River State Trail runs right threw the town..We rode both ways ..(not the whole thing)Really nice trail..slight incline ,the part we were on..Town is small,but cute...If I was in area would def go back...

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vicsdahlias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the bicycle room and were very impressed with the room and our experience in general. Staff was friendly and very helpful; the room was very clean and comfortable. My only issue was that there was quite a bit of noise coming from the hallway and on the floor below. That being said, we would stay here again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammy0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

My husband has been talking about doing a trip here for over a year. I called on Wednesday thinking it would be a lost cause finding lodging last minute . So fortunate they JUST had a cancelation. Great location. Unique rooms. Friendly staff. Decent breakfast including exceptional local pastries, locked storage for several bikes. Near trail heads. Lanesboro is definitely the town to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Darla T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanesboro
13.4 km away
Andor Wenneson Inn
Andor Wenneson Inn
#1 of 2 in Peterson
56 reviews
21.7 km away
Oakenwald Terrace
Oakenwald Terrace
#1 of 1 in Chatfield
9 reviews
33.9 km away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Spring Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Hotel & Suites

Address: 100 East Beacon Street, Lanesboro, MN 55949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > Lanesboro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lanesboro
Price Range: $108 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stone Mill Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1885: Stone Mill Suites Historic Inn Hotel at the Lanesboro Feed Mill is a unique lodging destination. The limestone building has nine themed suites that depict the history of the building and the unique charm of Lanesboro. Room amenities may include; iron-claw fireplaces, double whirlpool baths, private baths, lofts, coffee, microwave and mini-refrigerator stations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing