We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Lou's Lodge

Lou's Lodge
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lou's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

As many have already noted, this place is basic. Hunters place to stay. Clean place to sleep and shower. Air Conditioning was very loud and hard to sleep at night. I think it is just fine for a few nights and pretty cost effective

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank BioButt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review, while OK is not what we shoot for your review is.

We are a basic old school motel. and Hunting and fishing is our thing.

We offer free use of a cleaning area for our guests, so come fish or hunt, Bring it back here, and clean your hunting or fishing rewards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2016

Staff was friendly and helpful, room and linens were clean. The AC didn't cool down enough for me but it wasn't bad enough to receive a bad review for it. Wi-Fi is available but I didn't use it much as this was not a business trip. The couple of times I did use it, it did run slow but I'm a city girl so I don't believe it's fair for me to give it a thumbs down. It is a small town motel, therefore it is what it is but we enjoyed our stay overall.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2017

Thank you for your review,
The Wifi is a huge requirement to us here at Lous's I am sorry that it was slow, we have been working with our provider and some changes have been made, and more to come soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lou’s Lodge was a great place to stay while visiting family in the Madison, MN area. All other hotel options were about 20miles away, and Lou’s accommodations were simple but both clean and comfortable. I had a great experience with their staff both when calling to book a room and while checking in. And the price was great.

I’d recommend Lou’s Lodge to family/friends traveling out this way!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

All I was looking for was a quiet place to lay my head and a hot shower. Dropped in here, seeing there was just one car in the entire parking lot, asked for a quiet place to sleep and a hot shower. Gave me the room right next to only other guests. No biggie. I'm tired. My bed is opposite theirs, etc. I STARTED to get woken up at midnight with a couple having sex, banging the headboard against the wall behind my head moaning. For 3.5 hours. I banged back. Yelled. Pleaded and even applauded them for going so long.

Never again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 22 March 2017

I am so very sorry this happened, please in the future please feel free to stop at the front desk or call we would and will be happy to move you to another room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We visited the property while on the Salt Lake birdwatching weekend. The hotle is clean, Ron the Owner is very friendly. Complimentary coffee and ice. Nothing fancy about the place, just a decent place to stay while in the area. Seemed safe and the room was quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itraveleverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lou's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lou's Lodge

Address: 815 8th Ave, Madison, MN 56256-1150
Region: United States > Minnesota > Madison
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Madison
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are a hunter or fisher this is the place to stay, we offer a cleaning area for all your effort, cutting tables, running water, even knives. Don't take it home and clean it do it here and keep the wife (or hubby) happy! But please do not think its just for hunters, we are here if your wedding and vacation needs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing