We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad FishFry”

The Lookout Bar and Grill
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #54 of 131 Restaurants in Maple Grove
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Description: The Lookout Bar and Grill has been a family-owned Maple Grove gathering spot since 1958. We got our start when Bob Kinnan opened a small bar that sold 30¢ beers. Over the decades, we’ve grown to include everything our neighbors need for a fun, laid-back night out: homemade meals, live music, and even a beautiful patio to relax on. Our private rooms and catering offer the perfect chance to make your next event fun and easy, and that way you can enjoy your favorite meals (including our famous BBQ) as you celebrate.
Restaurant details
Description: The Lookout Bar and Grill has been a family-owned Maple Grove gathering spot since 1958. We got our start when Bob Kinnan opened a small bar that sold 30¢ beers. Over the decades, we’ve grown to include everything our neighbors need for a fun, laid-back night out: homemade meals, live music, and even a beautiful patio to relax on. Our private rooms and catering offer the perfect chance to make your next event fun and easy, and that way you can enjoy your favorite meals (including our famous BBQ) as you celebrate.
Reviewed 8 March 2021

Went on Friday for the fish fry. The menu showed a picture that has the fish looking like it was beer battered and what we got was nothing more than school lunch fish. We got the shrimp and fish both were cold and terrible. All of us ended up getting sick from the meal. I was very disappointed. Totally not worth the money.

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank WJDMSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, General Manager at The Lookout Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

The Lookout has been a leader in Customer service and food quality for over 63 years and I'm truly sorry we didn't hit the mark for you. When ever you have a issue we want you to leave a satisficed customer, in the feature if your not happy please stop one of the many managers on the floor and we will take care of you right away.. Please feel free to call my personal cell phone so we can make you one of our satisficed customers. Mike Kinnan 612-581-0490

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

Booked a 20 person group on the day of their Oktoberfest. We were just looking for an outdoor venue to gather everyone. Ended up being a blast. Besides the good food, drink and service, we enjoyed live music from 3 different bands. Thought we'd be there a couple of hours...stayed for 8. The only suggestion: The Lookout needs patio heaters for their Fall events. Pretty chilly by evening.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Jagi55025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2020

Stopped here for Saturday evening dinner. We were able to get seated immediately but they had social distancing practice in place. Only 50% capacity and were taking reservations as they had a live band later that evening. Service received was very good but the food was fantastic! The manager came by several times to ask if we needed anything. We will definitly return in the future!

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nancyb890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2020

Ordered chicken for take-out. it was awful. Tasted like it wasn't done...tough and stringy. Don't waste your money.

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, General Manager at The Lookout Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

The Lookout has been a leader in Customer service and food quality for over 63 years and I'm truly sorry we didn't hit the mark for you. When ever you have a issue we want you to leave a satisficed customer, in the feature if your not happy please stop one of the many managers on the floor and we will take care of you right away.. Please feel free to call my personal cell phone so we can make you one of our satisficed customers. Mike Kinnan 612-581-0490

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2020 via mobile

A Friday evening out that wasn't great. Sat in the outdoor patio to enjoy the nice summer breeze only to be told "happy hour" is only if you are inside. We each ordered a specialty tap only to be told both are out. I ordered another specialty beer and funny, out of that as well. Settled for a Stella and a vodka soda. Enjoyed the breeze and some live music and decided we wanted to order the special which is on a big banner sign as you walk in. Nope, that isn't offered anymore. I understand Covid is going on but really, it isn't to difficult to make print a piece of paper with what is available or remove signage if something isn't on special anymore.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike K, General Manager at The Lookout Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2021

The Lookout has been a leader in Customer service and food quality for over 63 years and I'm truly sorry we didn't hit the mark for you. When ever you have a issue we want you to leave a satisficed customer, in the feature if your not happy please stop one of the many managers on the floor and we will take care of you right away.. Please feel free to call my personal cell phone so we can make you one of our satisficed customers. Mike Kinnan 612-581-0490

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lookout Bar and Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Lookout Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.