We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Eats in a Busy Venue”
Review of Tavern on France

Tavern on France
Ranked #156 of 1,948 Restaurants in Minneapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Lunch was well presented, very good tasting and complimented by very friendly service. You might try to avoid the noontime crowds because the wait can be 20+ minutes. A vast menu presentation, wide open eating areas separated by sparten spindles, bar available for eats and drinks. Lots of parking but may have to walk a few hunded yards

Thank Harald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Tavern on France, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Thanks for your review! We are so glad you could stop in and enjoy lunch with us. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2017

Great setting. service and value. The food is always great. The appetizer menu is great along with Happy Hour prices on drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank randyej2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Tavern on France, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thanks for your review! We are so glad to hear you enjoy joining us for happy hour! We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

I ate there twice with my elderly parents this month. They feature build it yourself burgers, pizza, salad, and Bloody Mary’s.You can get any and all toppings so it comes out just like you would want it.
Multiple meat and veggie options. Meet was cooked to perfection.

The bloody Mary was too peppery and seem to be lacking in vodka, do I did order the $5 “top shelf” drink so maybe shouldn’t have been surprised.

Stuffed to overflowing by the end of the meal, because the portions were huge. Staff was friendly and attentive. Knowledgeable about gluten issues.

Noise level high.

Nice outdoor area when weather is good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Tavern on France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us! We value your feedback on the Build-Your-Own Bloody Mary and are glad to hear no one left hungry! We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Went there with two other friends-met around 3:30. Nice and quiet so we would have the time to talk and catch up. We stayed until 6:30 and by that time-super noisy. could hardly hear each other. I did tip the waitress generously since we were there so long, but there still were open tables when we left.
They do have drink and appetizer specials.
Two in group ordered Fish - said it was average.
I ordered the Chicken Fettucini Alfredo and had to send the chicken back. Tasted as if someone had opened a salt shaker and poured salt on top. Not impressed.
Key Lime Pie for dessert was good for Minnesota, but didn't meet Florida standard.
Excellent service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CLL1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Tavern on France, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to review us! We are so glad you could stop in and visit with friends during your recent trip to MN! It can get a tad loud during the busy hours of the evening. If you have any other feedback or suggestions, we would love to hear it! Fill out our online feedback form here: bit.ly/tavernfeedback - We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Our family dined in and we had a great server. But the food is just average. They were busy so our service had a few delays.

Cheesy Jalapeno Nachos - not very cheesy

PIZZA - you can pick your own combo. Pretty bland and chewy.

MONTEREY SHRIMP - good but would have been better with a thicker pasta
Sweet shrimp sautéed in olive oil with roasted garlic, asparagus, roasted red peppers and spinach. Finished with white wine, fresh lemon, butter and parmesan, then tossed with vermicelli pasta.

TAVERN BROWNIE - good
House made chocolate brownie, whipped cream, dark rum macerated seasonal berries, and caramel. Served with vanilla bean ice cream.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karsko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRPAdmin, Public Relations Manager at Tavern on France, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for taking a moment to review us and provide us with some feedback! We appreciate your business and hope you'll give us another try in the future! If you have any more specific feedback let us know by filling out our online feedback form here: bit.ly/tavernfeedback - Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tavern on France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing