We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel with a spectacular ambience, historic aura with all the desired updates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot
Ranked #20 of 52 Hotels in Minneapolis
Reviewed 22 November 2017

I've stayed here a number of times and our last stay was for a wedding. The bride and groom had to make a somewhat last minute change of plans for the groom's dinner and ended up having it at the Milwaukee Road restaurant at the hotel. It was perfect and the staff was super accommodating and gracious. The hotel is beautiful. Totally updated but at the same time, walking around gives you the feeling that you're in another time. Our room was extremely quiet, awesome bed, great artwork in the room, and our buffet breakfast the following morning after a night of celebration was delicious. The staff is top notch. Looking for a reason to book our next stay!

Room Tip: They have historic rooms definitely worth asking about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rubijulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here before a Vikings game. It in a nice area of downtown. Not far from US Bank and Hennepin Ave theaters. We still needed to Uber. Marriott has done a nice job keeping up the hotel and the lobby is modern. The rooms are clean and nice. Like the Netflix on the TVs. The staff are delightful.

We came here a few years ago when our kids were younger and they enjoyed the water park but with the recent renovations it is no longer here. Not that big of a deal just don’t expect that activity if you have kids. We’d stay here again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank 386trugrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear 386trugrit

We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay! Thank you for the great review!

Next time your travels bring you to Minneapolis, we hope you will stay with us again.

All our best
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

We arrived early and hoped to be able to check into our room early. It was no problem! The mobile app made it simple and the customer service on the phone were also kind!

As soon as we arrived our check-in took less than 2 minutes (because of the mobile check-in). The front desk greeted us with a smile and attitude of gratitude!

Our room is beautiful, well decorated, and obviously clean!

Since we arrived so early we decided to go to the hotel restaurant for mimosas and a light brunch. The food was perfect! Easy and delicious, just what we wanted! Randee was so inviting and welcoming. We would come back just for her!

We will obviously return to this hotel for any of our future trips!!!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ninabeebuzzin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Hello ninabeebuzzin

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your next visit!

All our best
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2017

Stayed here during a conference. 3 Block walk from the Metro Train taken from the airport. 2 more blocks down to the lovely river walk.

Check in was great. We were super early (11 am) and we were able to get into our room. Room was well appointed with USB ports by beds for electronics. Lovely robes and comfy beds - who could ask for more!

Bathroom, coffee service and toiletries all very nice. No noise from other rooms, hallways, or bathrooms above!

The hotel had a restaurant and bar, but we did not eat or drink at hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WSU1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie L, Manager at Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear WSU1986

Thank you for great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your next visit!

All my best
Jamie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

We stayed here eight years ago and hoped to repeat what we remembered as an awesome visit. Our three night stay this time with two other couples got off to a great start with excellent service from Corey at check-in. She was friendly and very helpful with all of our needs. We didn’t ask for adjoining rooms but were pleased to get them. Our room was spacious with modern decor. Our only complaints were the absence of drawers for storing clothes and other items and the small counter area by the bathroom sink. There wasn’t enough space for all the things we normally place around the sink at our hotel stays. We enjoyed the club lounge one night for snacks and desserts and breakfast the next morning. The workers in the room were also very accommodating. Our breakfasts in the lobby restaurants were very good. The hotel location is also very good to experience what downtown Minneapolis has to offer and just a three block walk to the light rail. One night we did walk several blocks to a restaurant but returned by Uber because it was cold and the skywalks had closed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank NESteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minneapolis
Downtown
Residence Inn Minneapolis Downtown at The Depot
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Warehouse District
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
Loews Minneapolis Hotel
#5 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,773 reviews
Downtown
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
W Minneapolis - The Foshay
#11 of 52 in Minneapolis
1,319 reviews
Downtown
Best Western Plus The Normandy Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot

Address: 225 3rd Ave S, Minneapolis, MN 55401-2524 (Formerly The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#20 Romantic Hotel in Minneapolis
#23 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Price Range: S$172 - S$458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depot Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel is the perfect blend of history and style. We are located in downtown Minneapolis' Historic Mill District on the banks of the Mississippi River yet close to Nicollet Mall, popular local dining, sports venues, theater the riverfront area. Discover something new and exciting at our Renaissance Hotel. Our hotel has exceptional dining at Milwaukee Road, our on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Minneapolis Hotel, The Depot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Minneapolis
The Depot Minneapolis Renaissance Hotel
Minneapolis Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing