We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but noisy at night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus New Ulm
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Ulm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2017

I look for 2 things when staying at a hotel. They are cleanliness and quietness for sleeping. Our room was very clean, and the breakfast was excellent. We had trouble sleeping since there was a baseball team hanging out at three tables near our room. It was fine earlier when they were playing games and running around but some adults were still there quite late so we did not get a good night sleep. I don't know why they didn't hang out by the lobby or their rooms. Please encourage teams to be respectful of all in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to not be near any baseball,etc. teams.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jlb37502017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiNewUlm, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Ulm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for writing a review. On behalf of the staff we thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus, New Ulm. We are happy to hear you foudn the room to be clean and the breakfast was excellent. We hope you consider staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

We had an exceptionally good experience with this hotel during a weekend baseball tournament. The hotel facilities are wonderful: large indoor pool area, large lobby with lots of different seating for hanging out in the evening, a good breakfast and comfortable rooms with a refrigerator and microwave, and laundry facilities They even provide free 8 pound bags of ice at the desk to fill up your coolers! The only thing that could be better is if the double beds were queen size instead of full for people staying with their family in one room. The Green Mill Restaurant is attached to hotel which is also great. Overall a terrific experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bethflynnferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiNewUlm, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Ulm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time and writing a review. On behalf of the staff we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay during the baseball tournament. It great to hear you enjoyed breakfast, foudn the rooms to be comfortable, and the pool area to be spacious. We hope you consider staying with us again soon when you are in town for a baseball tournament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Every staff member is great. Every part of it is great. Even the restaurant and bar. Honestly better than the Hilton garden inn, in Mankato. I really believe there is not another hotel within 50 miles that comes close to how well this best western plus is ran. There are not a lot of choices in New Ulm, but it doesn't stop them from going above and beyond of what you would expect. I don't know how exactly the star rating works for hotels, but this hotel should have at least 4 if not 5. Not sure why it's only ranked with 3 stars on this site. Maybe because it isn't in New York, with gold staircases and snobby people etc.. Didn't get to the pool and hot tub, but looks awesome. Even a game area. Breakfast is finominal! Coffee isn't bad. Not much more to say, other than thank you, to all at this BWP, and special thanks to Amber. I really enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiNewUlm, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Ulm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

The staff thank you for staying at the Best Western Plus, New Ulm. We truly appreciate you writing a review and the kind words. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the many amenities the hotel has to offer. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile

I really enjoyed this area for visiting. I however was sick the whole time we were there with stomach issues. The bathroom and room seemed extremely clean. I however felt like for how empty the hotel was - why do they put all the people together in the same area of the hotel. I woke up to a dog barking and frankly did not appreciate it. I rarely get to sleep in so when I do I would appreciate the chance to. Thanks for the kind hospitality!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cutie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiNewUlm, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Ulm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

On behalf of the staff thank you for choosing the Best Western Plus, New Ulm. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and our kind hospitality. We hope you consider staying with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Visiting friends and there really is no other hotel in town. Closest hotels are in Mankato.
The staff at this hotel were so nice, friendly and hard working. Merrick at the front desk was incredibly nice and helpful. We stayed on July 21-July 23, 2017 and the weekend facilties/maintenance staff member (not sure of his name) was very nice and working constantly. There was no one lazy at this property.
Breakfast was very good. Hot oatmeal, waffle and pancake maker, eggs, meat and all the typical items. One note would be for the kitchen staff or someone to clean off tables during breakfast. Crumbs are one thing but syrup, miik, etc are another.
The hotel has had recent renovations and is well kept and you can tell the staff take pride in this hotel. Huge hot tub and great area around the pool for families to gather. Great attached restaurant - The Green Mill.

Room Tip: Pool Side - 1st floor rooms have a sliding glass door right into the pool area - Noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiNewUlm, General Manager at Best Western Plus New Ulm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and the recent renovations. We hope to see you again soon, when you are back in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Ulm
0.3 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham New Ulm
21.7 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Sleepy Eye
37.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Mankato Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.3 km away
Best Western Hotel & Restaurant
26.9 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Madelia
39.2 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Mankato _ Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus New Ulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus New Ulm

Address: 2101 S Broadway St, New Ulm, MN 56073-3953 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New Ulm)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Minnesota > New Ulm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in New Ulm
Price Range: $155 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus New Ulm 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's something for everyone at the BEST WESTERN PLUS New Ulm hotel. While in New Ulm, Minnesota, our hotel's guests enjoy a fantastic location, which places you near the area's best businesses and attractions, including Kraft Foods and August Schell Brewery. Our modern facilities boast a Business Center, which includes print and copy services, as well as computer access. We also offer a total of 4,167 square feet of event space, so you can host any kind of meeting while in the area. Thanks to the free Internet access throughout the hotel, it's easy to stay connected. Major businesses, including Kraft Foods, AMPI and 3M Company, are located in New Ulm. Our hotel's just a short drive from the popular August Schell Brewery and Morgan Creek Winery, the only underground winery in Minnesota. Don't miss seeing the iconic Glockenspiel Clock or exploring Flandrau State Park. Jackpot Junction Casino is a favorite stop among adults, while the entire family can enjoy mini golf, biking trails and Herman Monument in New Ulm, Minnesota. Our hotel's fitness center encourages you to keep up your workout routine, and you can relax in the indoor, heated pool and whirlpool. Enjoy an afternoon of fun in the game room before dining at the Green Mill. We're sure you'll enjoy our New Ulm hotel's unique and beautiful architecture, too! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus New Ulm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn New Ulm Hotel New Ulm
New Ulm Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing