We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a WONDERFUL place to stay”
Review of Fenstad's Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Silver Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fenstad's Resort
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We stayed a week in September 2012, a week in September 2013 and we leave Saturday September 20th for two weeks this year.
If you can't find a little piece of heaven on earth here, you need to STAY in the city. And if you really need an air mattress and a microwave oh and OMG NO TV...Please just stay home. We live on the ocean in Palm Coast Florida and the drive is worth every hour of the two day trip. Make yourself a reservation and then go and make beautiful memories. OH, if you happen to drop something and it rolls under the bed, go ahead reach under and retrieve it. You'll find no cobwebs or spiders OR dirt. Just a clean wooden floor. B.Trent. Palm Coast, Flordia

B.Trent Palm Coast Flordia

Room Tip: They all face the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RTLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We've been coming here off and on for 35 years, in the last dozen years in both July and September. Fabulous setting. Rustic housekeeping cabins are clean and comfortable, all with lake views. If you have to have a pool, wifi, tv...look elsewhere. We wouldn't go anywhere else. Owners are shy, not surly. Great location for exploring the north woods since it's midway between Duluth and Canadian border.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Interesting mix of 17 cabins - some are vintage, some are modern. I happened to get a 50's model. Be sure you know which you are renting. No microwave. Otherwise kitchen is fine. Tiny bedrooms. All have a lake view. Rustic is a good description, maybe even worn around the edges. As for service - be prepared to be treated rudely by the son /owner. No email there and their phone number is wrong om their website. You really have to want to stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mercerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

superb setting, comfortable bed and everything you need to have a back to nature experience with all todays comforts...there are some fun hiking trails on the property
wood is provided for evening fires on the beach, full kitchen, private settings
beautiful views of Lake Superior

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The view here is great...you overlook Lake Superior...it is quiet. I am glad I packed the air mattress because the beds are really bad. I don't think they are a standard mattress, they are thin and there is no give at all when you lie down!...our cabin was called a 2 bedroom, but there were curtains on a rod to separate the bedrooms from the rest of the cabin. The kitchen is nice with all the utensils you need. Don't expect coffee or muffins. They give you dishwashing liquid and two small bars of soap for the bathroom! Bring all of your own stuff!...no credit card use here...have to pay in cash or check!...When you are able to get in the office, one hour open in the morning and one hour in the afternoon, the owner is not personable and doesn't have maps of the area or any suggestions on where to go. Be prepared to be completely on your own, and bring an air mattress...or prepare to have a backache in the morning...water heater sounded like it was on the last leg...The cabin has potential to be so much better.

Room Tip: Bring your own air mattress!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alleygator1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fenstad's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fenstad's Resort

Address: 6572 Highway 61, Silver Bay, MN 55614-4221
Region: United States > Minnesota > Silver Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Silver Bay
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing