We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tofte
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed in 302. The room was simple, clean and inexpensive and had by far the best view of all the places we've stayed along the North Shore. Heat, air and TV were all working. Pool and hot tub were a treat and there were lots of places to explore along the shoreline. There were several sets of stairs that lead to chairs where you could sit and watch the views. The resort is outdated yet it has it's charm. There is no exercise room but there is a paved State trail that runs about 3-4 miles right in front of resort. The caretaker was friendly and made a special point to check in with us to insure our stay was going well. Our room was owned by an independent person and booking was managed by Cascade Vacation rentals. Booking was cumbersome and involved several emails and a list of rules that were confusing. Full payment was due within 30 days. I liked that everything had door codes (no keys) but not interacting with front desk like other resorts felt impersonal.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MNviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2017

We have stayed at this resort over 25 times. It is dated, but the scenery in unsurpassed. In the past the management was very friendly, NO MORE! Now it is over priced compared to other places. They used to offer the third night free during the week. Not anymore. The wood burning fire paces are for processed logs only. 15 day cancelation notice required. 30 day cancelation notice will cost a minimum of $30.00. A list of rules and regulations as long as your arm. No longer a place I can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We spent four nights while hiking the area. The room was quite adequate for our needs: a place to eat and sleep. The kitchen was well equipped and the linens quite nice. Keep in mind that pets are allowed so dog hair on the sofa and bedding was no surprise albiet unwelcome. The TV was wired so weirdly we were unable to watch a VHS movie and the satellite stations were very difficult, if ever, to acquire. Because it is a private residence, maintenance could not assist. A very nice bathroom with walk in shower was shadowed by crusty shower curtain and a lovely sink that would not drain. This was not a premier accomodation: the Chateau LeVeaux deserves another visit--other privately owned units seemed much nicer than Unit 1. The staff were quite nice, the pool, game room and access to the rocky shores of Lake Superior were very nice.

Room Tip: Pay close attention to pet available rooms: some are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Connie Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Family of 4 stayed in Unit 28 for 6 nights. Managed by Cascade Vacation Rentals - all correspondence & payments were handled before our arrival with no problems. When your unit is paid in full - a couple weeks before you are given 2 codes - 1 for outer doors, and 1 for your unit. There is no check-in, you go directly to your Unit which we thought worked great. No key cards or keys to keep track of. Do not enter your Unit on check in day before 4:00 pm tho.

Property is older but well maintained. Units are all individually owned so see pictures & description on website for each Unit. The pictures-description on the website were true to what Unit 28 was like. Unit 28 was nicely done and updated. King size bed in loft along with a Twin over a Full Bunk-bed set for the kids. 2 Full bathrooms, Full kitchen, dining & living room. Deck overlooking Lake Superior with Beautiful views. Satellite TV and wi-fi worked great.

Property has a Pool, Hot tub, Sauna, free washer-Dryer, Game room, fire pits out back and grills for use. General lounging area up by front desk with a huge deck overlooking Lake Superior. The Caretakers of the property live on site & were friendly and helpful.

This was a good base of operations for us for exploring the North Shore. Gas Station, Convenience Stores, Restaurants all nearby. We would not hesitate to stay here again & recommend.

Room Tip: 2 story lofts have more room & are quieter. Choose a 2 story loft on end of building for even mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

First time there and like a lot of resorts on the lake had a very nice view of Lake Superior. Room was clean and service was very good. All around would recommend to anyone who travels to the area for sure!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MandySSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
38.1 km away
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
Best Western Plus Superior Inn
#2 of 10 in Grand Marais
998 reviews
4.9 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
4.6 km away
Bluefin Bay on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38 km away
East Bay Suites
East Bay Suites
#3 of 10 in Grand Marais
300 reviews
7.2 km away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
6.4 km away
Surfside on Lake Superior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau LeVeaux on Lake Superior

Address: 6626 W Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615-8606
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Price Range: S$104 - S$408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient to all area recreational attractions, Chateau LeVeaux features the most spectacular views of Lake Superior in the area. Condos include woodburning fireplace, fully equipped kitchen, walkout patio or lakeview balcony. Pet friendly/whirlpool units available. Indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and game room all under one roof. Honeymoon, Senior and Group Rates available. "Right in the middle of everything you want to do, and the perfect place to do nothing at all!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chateau Leveaux On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing