We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior(Tofte)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Cliff Dweller on Lake Superior(Lutsen)(Great Value!)
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caribou Highlands Lodge(Lutsen)
US$131
US$92
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$144
US$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Inn(Grand Marais)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East Bay Suites(Grand Marais)
US$210
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$293
US$254
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spruceglen Inn(Grand Marais)
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen Lodge(Grand Marais)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
35
39
20
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
39
20
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull kitchennorth shorehuge deckpool hot tubski weekendgas stationlutsen resortunitfireplacepropertycascadepitsvhsloftkeysfirewoodpets
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We have stayed at this resort over 25 times. It is dated, but the scenery in unsurpassed. In the past the management was very friendly, NO MORE! Now it is over priced compared to other places. They used to offer the third night free during the week. Not anymore. The wood burning fire paces are for processed logs only. 15 day cancelation notice required. 30 day cancelation notice will cost a minimum of $30.00. A list of rules and regulations as long as your arm. No longer a place I can recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We spent four nights while hiking the area. The room was quite adequate for our needs: a place to eat and sleep. The kitchen was well equipped and the linens quite nice. Keep in mind that pets are allowed so dog hair on the sofa and bedding was no surprise albiet unwelcome. The TV was wired so weirdly we were unable to watch a VHS movie and the satellite stations were very difficult, if ever, to acquire. Because it is a private residence, maintenance could not assist. A very nice bathroom with walk in shower was shadowed by crusty shower curtain and a lovely sink that would not drain. This was not a premier accomodation: the Chateau LeVeaux deserves another visit--other privately owned units seemed much nicer than Unit 1. The staff were quite nice, the pool, game room and access to the rocky shores of Lake Superior were very nice.

Room Tip: Pay close attention to pet available rooms: some are not.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Connie Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Family of 4 stayed in Unit 28 for 6 nights. Managed by Cascade Vacation Rentals - all correspondence & payments were handled before our arrival with no problems. When your unit is paid in full - a couple weeks before you are given 2 codes - 1 for outer doors, and 1 for your unit. There is no check-in, you go directly to your Unit which we thought worked great. No key cards or keys to keep track of. Do not enter your Unit on check in day before 4:00 pm tho.

Property is older but well maintained. Units are all individually owned so see pictures & description on website for each Unit. The pictures-description on the website were true to what Unit 28 was like. Unit 28 was nicely done and updated. King size bed in loft along with a Twin over a Full Bunk-bed set for the kids. 2 Full bathrooms, Full kitchen, dining & living room. Deck overlooking Lake Superior with Beautiful views. Satellite TV and wi-fi worked great.

Property has a Pool, Hot tub, Sauna, free washer-Dryer, Game room, fire pits out back and grills for use. General lounging area up by front desk with a huge deck overlooking Lake Superior. The Caretakers of the property live on site & were friendly and helpful.

This was a good base of operations for us for exploring the North Shore. Gas Station, Convenience Stores, Restaurants all nearby. We would not hesitate to stay here again & recommend.

Room Tip: 2 story lofts have more room & are quieter. Choose a 2 story loft on end of building for even more quiet
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank sd2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2017

First time there and like a lot of resorts on the lake had a very nice view of Lake Superior. Room was clean and service was very good. All around would recommend to anyone who travels to the area for sure!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

It's definitely dated and quite cramped with low ceilings but when you book last minute you take what you can get and Lutsen Resort was sold out as were the larger rooms on the hill (Caribou Highlands). The hallway is dingy. Although it "sleeps four" you could not seat four people around the table, and the bar was useless with no seats. I was not impressed by the amenities such as they were (pool & hot tub) but they sufficed. Since we were there for skiing and not relaxing in our room it didn't matter that much, but I'll be sure to book more in advance next trip!

Room Tip: Room 13 had new pine walls and ceiling. It's on lower level though, the ceilings were low (not sure if the upstairs rooms are any better).
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank NotTimbuktu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews