We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
106
29
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
106
29
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxikenepuru soundqueen charlotte trackwaterfront motelbought groceriesthe kitchenfrozen mealsshower gelmotel unitsqc trackfresh breadremote locationfabulous viewsself caterthree nightsglow wormsa great stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2017

The drive in is stunning through the bush on a good but narrow road
The rooms are dated ( but in this setting it adds to the Kiwi experience)
Every is very clean with all you need for a great stay.
To wake to the view is amazing.....so peaceful being away from any road
Wonderful hosts and extremely helpful

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Te Mahia and we are glad you enjoyed the wonderful ambiance that we have to offer. Like any old historic building there is always on going maintenance and upgrades, your unit is one of the ones we are targeting this winter so do come back and se what we will have accomplished.
Regards Jann Hook

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We stayed here for our last night on the QCT. Some people go all the way to Anakiwa from Portage in one hit but we chose to break it down into two shorter days and we were glad we had. It enabled us to have the last night in Te Mahia and we just loved it.

We were very fortunate with weather so that probably helped, but it was just lovely sitting outside our waterfront studio room looking out over the bay with a glass of wine. We purchased the latter from the on-site shop and it was pricey as with most things on the Queen Charlotte track.

The room itself was very large for just 2 of us. It was also well equipped so it was easy to self-cater. And the shower was great! And everything was spotlessly clean. The only downside (if it IS a downside!) is that the wifi didn't reach our room.

If ever we do the QCT again, I'd have no hesitation in going back to Te Mahia. I was sad to leave the next day and it made for a really easy end to our trek

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mocampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Yes Te Mahia is a lovely place to stay on the last night of the Queen Charlotte track for sure. One of the beauties of Te Mahia is its idyllic location in the heart of the Kenepuru Sound, but sadly the super fast WiFi Fiber Optic cable hasn't reached our front door yet! We are just so pleased to have a great community based WiFi system that we can offer our guests out here in the sounds. We do hope you will be able to come back and visit us again and share in some more of the beautiful Te Mahia magic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

We stopped at Te Mahia Resort for morning tea on the terrace. This resort is set in bush with fabulous views of the Sounds. The service was prompt, the coffee & cakes yummy. The lemon slice was exceptional. This would be an excellent stop if you want relaxation & water views.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank WanaKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thank you for your review- yes great coffee and cake is a must when on holiday and with a fantastic view of the Kenepuru Sound what more could you ask for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

Loved it for the waterside location, link to water taxi and amazing hikes. The rooms are outdated but I would imagine great for large families. For couples you pay for more than you get in terms of rooms but if you want to spend all day outside it's perfect. We had a several hour hike (with amazing vistas throughout) to another lodge for lunch and got a water taxi back, simply perfect.
Definitely shop for provisions before you drive there - though Trevor's pizzas are well worth the price and truly gourmet.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sausalito123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Stayed for four days with some work colleagues. The weather held out, luckily, so were able to travel around the area a little. We had a wonderful time and the hosts were superb. I've been lucky to have dropped in a few times since this trip, and the staff have always been welcoming and remembered me- service truly exceeds expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewO2156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2017

Thank you Andrew for your lovely comments, we are thrilled with all the repeat business that we have from clients like yourselves. We look forward to your return and finding some new adventures to see and do in the region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews