We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing”
Review of Bird Dog Cafe

Bird Dog Cafe
Ranked #17 of 96 Restaurants in Laurel
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here recently for lunch. Wife and I each got the chicken salad sandwich. It was disappointing in that there wasn’t a lot of chicken salad on the bun nor very favorable. As others have indicated the bun takes a good bite to get through it but I liked it though.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kongo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Got into town yesterday and came to Bird Dog for lunch; the chicken salad was delicious. Came back last night after wine tasting and had the cheese/meat board which was sufficient. Now here at breakfast (because no one serves breakfast in Laurel) and it was terrible. Wait staff are not good at their jobs. I ordered the grits and the bowl sat on the counter for a very long time. When I got it, the advertised sunny side up egg was hard as a rock. My husband ordered the ham and egg croissant but after I got my grits they said they were out so he ordered the grit bowl. Magically ham and cheese croissant reappeared but we weren’t offered it even tho it’s what he wanted. At 9:15 they were almost out of everything. Disappointing.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank andreadR1386JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Worse food I've had in years. These little houses have to stop relying on hometown.....I can't even articulate what a rip-off this was. Lord, don't order the cuban it's in name only. Don't order the meatball unless you want a dry bun with dry meatballs , they are homemade but lack any flavor....this is a no bueno from me.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank natashacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2021

We are big fans of HGTV’s Hometown and had watched the renovation of the house that is now the cafe. We were there mid-afternoon and enjoyed a meat & cheese plate on the deck out back. While we were there, we were fortunate enough to meet one of the owners, Connor & his beautiful rescue dog, Moses. It was a fun afternoon and we loved meeting Connor and seeing the work that Ben & Erin had done during the renovation.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank 1216JAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

We just ate breakfast and the food was fantastic! Had the Grit Bowl which was out of this world and quiche which was delicious. The staff is very friendly. Can’t wait to eat here again!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bird Dog Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bird Dog Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.