We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deception, Thy Name is Fitzgerald's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fitz Casino and Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Tunica
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here on the first night of a week-long trip to Tunica (our first), and might have felt it was a decent value had we not also visited the competition. The staff were all quite friendly, the whole place was reasonably clean, and offered all of the amenities one would expect for this sort of property. Nonetheless, we will not be staying there again.

As is usual for a hotel in this price range, the quality of the accommodations were a mixed bag. Our room was mostly clean, fresh and updated, but a couple of oddities stood out. For instance, the slats of the Venetian blinds were extremely dusty, and one layer of curtains was missing -- but the track was still there, and the control rods from the missing curtains were scattered across the window opening.

The bathroom was clean and up-to-date, with good water pressure. As with every hotel in the area, the water is extremely hard -- certainly not the Fitz's fault, but it was the only negative on the bathroom. The bed was quite comfortable, with a new-ish pillow top mattress and a beautiful white spread. Unfortunately, the threadbare coverlet, which was obviously intended to tie in with the broken curtains and half-executed medieval Irish "theme" of the place, detracted from the otherwise beautiful bed linens. The coverlet also went well with the ancient CRT television and the well-worn wooden hutch that held it.

Our biggest complaint about the hotel itself is the Wi-Fi. It costs $11 per 24 hours, per device! In theory, we would have had to pay up to $44 per night if we wanted to connect both of our laptops and both of our phones to the Internet. We declined on all counts, despite the fact that Sprint coverage was virtually non-existent in our room (though we had a cellular signal in the casino and outside). We chose The Fitz because the price was about $10 cheaper than a couple of other places, but once you factor in the free Wi-Fi at the Gold Strike (where we stayed later in the week) for instance, Fitzgerald's is not really that great a deal.

The casino itself is average. New Players Club members receive two scratch-off tickets which will each most likely yield ten bucks in free slot play. The second one can't be scratched off or redeemed until noon the next day. There aren't very many table games, so slots are the main attraction. There are a few video poker machines at the bar and in a little alcove near the snack bar, but they are all in pretty sad shape.

We ate at the buffet twice. On Monday, the price was $7 for each of us (all day long), and on Wednesday, we took advantage of my dubious status as a 50-year-old "Senior." Between the Wednesday "Senior" price of $5 and the spin of a "Senior" wheel at the players club desk, we both ate for a total of five bucks. We agreed that we wouldn't have paid any more for the buffet, which was not quite as good as your average Golden Corral or Ryan's buffet. Despite serving one of the best pork chops either of us has ever had, the overall selection and quality were pedestrian. Had we paid anywhere near the full price, we would have been highly disappointed, but for a total of $19 for four meals, we feel that we almost got our money's worth. Almost.

We could probably have overlooked any or all of these flaws at The Fitz if only they hadn't violated our trust through a highly deceptive marketing practice. All over town, there are billboards promoting a "$39 Bed and Breakfast" deal, which includes a room and breakfast buffet. The same deal is posted prominently on their Web site. The problem is, it doesn't really exist. If you inquire about it, the standard answer is "Oh, that doesn't start until October." If that is the case, then they shouldn't be advertising it in July and, I assume, all year round. That alone is sufficient reason for us to take our future business elsewhere. With so many other (mostly better) options in town, why should we place our trust in a casino where we have to constantly wonder what other underhanded tactics they may be using in an attempt to get our money? Big fail.

Room Tip: There is an extra charge of $10/night for a room with a view of the nearby Mississippi River. We opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joe Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (915)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 689 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

We arrived very early since we had a red eye flight. I called the hotel when we landed to see if there was an chance of checking in early, I was told we would be able to check in at noon. We arrived around 11am and checked with the front desk to see if noon was still a realistic time and we were told it was. After spending an hour in the casino we dragged out tired bodies back to the desk where we encountered the rudest front desk staff I have ever encountered. He very loudly told me check in time is between 3-5 and our room wouldn't be ready until 5pm. I reminded him the website states check in is 3pm and I expected our 2 rooms to be ready by then. Horrible experience and while I understand we were asking for an early check in there was no reason to be rude and push our check in time back as far as possible.
The rooms were dirty, run down and not worth the $130.00 a night we paid. More in line with a 1990's Motel 6 then a chain casino hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lostone65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I just returned from my first trip to Tunica in over 13 years. I wasn't sure what to expect but overall was pleased with the experience. The Fitz was a fine place to stay. A little run down but it was clean and despite a large family reunion taking place, pleasantly quiet. We did have to request extra towels and wash cloths twice. It irritated me a little that I reserved a room for 4 people and only had two washcloths and 3 towels each day. Housekeeping was quick to bring us more when we called but I just don't think this is something that should ever have to be requested. We had a fun time playing in the casino here as well. The $3 blackjack was nice and the roulette table was a good time. There is a large selection of penny slot machines too that some in my party enjoyed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RabidVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Ok, the casino and hotel are older, but you know that ahead of time. Additionally, I cannot simply understand what people can complain about when they are paying barely anything for a stay here. If they want five stars, they should go somewhere that costs more. I just don't understand the standards that people expect when they are paying so little for a room! With that being said, we loved this place!! Had a feel of old Vegas to it! The service of ALL staff was impeccable and they handled a power outage and all the issues that accompany it with speed and efficiency. The staff were genuinely friendly and accommodating. The rooms were nice, comfortable beds and clean. Yes, the fixtures in the bathroom are old, but who cares, as noted, stay somewhere that charges more and you can have new bathroom fixtures. The included breakfast buffet was also more than decent, having the usual buffet items and including an omelette station. The only thing I was surprised of was the allowance of smoking in the restaurants, but as we came to find out, this is pretty much common still in Mississippi. They did a good job of keeping the smoke away from us though, and we didn't even notice while eating. We also split a cheesesteak at the snack bar for a snack before dinner and it was tasty, and priced much better than we are used to paying in casinos in Atlantic City and Vegas. The pool looked small, but clean, and people seemed to be enjoying it as well. Overall, we had a great stay here and would highly recommend this hotel and casino.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tunica hotels
6 km away
Hollywood Casino Tunica Hotel
2.7 km away
Horseshoe Tunica
Horseshoe Tunica
#2 of 19 in Tunica
2,586 reviews
5.4 km away
Sam's Town Hotel & Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Tunica Roadhouse Casino & Hotel
6 km away
Resorts Casino Tunica
Resorts Casino Tunica
#12 of 19 in Tunica
180 reviews
5.5 km away
Best Western Tunica Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitz Casino and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitz Casino and Hotel

Address: 711 Lucky Ln, Tunica, MS 38664-9141
Region: United States > Mississippi > Tunica
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tunica
#4 Casino Hotel in Tunica
Price Range: $45 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fitz Casino and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 507
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fitz Casino and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzgerald`s Hotel Tunica Resorts
Fitzgeralds Hotel Tunica Resorts
Fitzgeralds Hotel And Casino Tunica
Fitzgeralds Tunica Resorts

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing