We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Beth R

Wild horse adventure

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Apr 2022
Best friend and I stayed here while we searched and found the wild horse herd of Missouri. We were immediately welcomed by the ranch dogs (They were precious, well groomed, and very well mannered .) Our cabin was #4 and our porch overlooked some amazing scenery over the pond. The cabin was clean well stocked and the owner stopped in to check if we needed anything and we enjoyed talking to her. She told us where to find the wild horse heard and the next morning we drove a short distance to a huge open field and they were there! We got chairs out of the car drinks and sat and watched them play, sleep and nurse their babies for hours. For the price, the cabin was perfect, Not fancy but comfortable. Other guest had rented stalls for their horses and said riding the trails and seeing the wild horses was a lot of fun and they come several times a year. It was a great weekend and I recommend Cold Water ranch it highly, if you have horses or not.
Date of stay: April 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
  • Destinia.com
16.6 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    S$167
  • Hotels.com
34.6 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Choice Hotels
    S$143
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
57.8 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free Wifi
Free parking
Fall colors on the property.
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
54.3 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free parking
Pool
Contact accommodation for availability.
75.3 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
65.0 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
2.2 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free Wifi
Free parking
Log Cabin in the woods
Contact accommodation for availability.
0.7 km from Coldwater Ranch Resort, LLC
Free parking
View more hotels in Eminence
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
17
2
1
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
17
2
1
0
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2018

This the place to stay in Eminence! Coldwater Ranch has luxury Cabins at budget prices!
Kathy Phillips and Dave Somers are wonderful hospitable hosts, at this bucolic out of the way gorgeous resort! If you are a regular traveler to the Ozark National Scenic Riverways this is the place. Super clean cabins well insulated, great A/C and heat.Free firewood. Filtered tap water, and water pressure is fantastic. Brand new sheets, tons of pillows, each cabin is decorated in country style.
3 miles from Main Street and 1 mile tucked into the back woods sits 250 acres of quiet, starlight and scenic tranquility. Dave Somers has refurbished all cabins and cabin 4 was our place for 7 delightful days. (4 over looks a beautiful pond and faces the sunrise). Dog friendly, we brought our two pups that played well with Kathy's doggies. See pics for gorgeous views of Coldwater, outside and in. 5 stars for Coldwater ranch! We will definitely go back to this amazing place!

Room tip: Cabin 4 is the best romantic spot for couples!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TimOChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 June 2017

We stayed a Friday-Sunday in the duplex cabin with friends for a float trip. The accommodations were pretty standard for these kinds of camp grounds at this price. We appreciated the full kitchen and bathroom. Everything worked, it was clean and it was fine for a weekend stay. We had a fire pit next to our cabin that was nice in the evenings. Kathy was funny and friendly. Check in and check out were a breeze. Zack and Buck the dogs were fun to have around. Windy Canoe Rentals will pick up right at the cabin so that was really nice too.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 10traveltwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Kathy was the best. Yes~I read reviews ( very few) 'of her personality being abrasive. NOT SO! She has a business to run and she can't put up with difficult (to say the least) and spoiled people!! She can cook like your mamma!! And she is very helpful as a trail guide! Gave us the best tips!! Cabins very very clean. Her and Dave are the friendliest most helpful people I've met in a long time. I'm always taking my horses and my vacations there from now on. Beautiful country and awesome people!!! She also has the best location for the trails!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Coldwater Ranch is one of the most relaxing places I have been (It's my 3rd time in the last several years). Kathy and David make you feel like family. I opted for the food plan this visit and was very happy with the meals and service. I have stayed in cabins on the previous 2 vacations and was very happy with them. This time I stayed in my horse trailer and used the shower and restrooms which were very clean. Stalls are very accomodating for the horses. Won't be my last visit!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank beth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We stayed the last week in April for a horseback riding vacation. This was our first trip to the Eminence area but it will not be our last. Kathy & Dave at Coldwater Ranch and their trail guide Sandy are wonderful!!! They bent over backwards to personalize our stay and make sure we had a fantastic time.

The ranch itself is in a rustic and beautiful spot - Ozark Mountains at it's finest. The horse stalls were large with water right there! The cabins were quaint, spacious and very clean and comfy. The Jacuzzi tub was a blessing after a long day in the saddle! Having a fun and knowledgeable trail guide made every ride a pleasure with a new adventure each day. And they had great tips for shopping and local places to see on days we chose not to ride.

Be sure to have Kathy cook your meals in her Coldwater Country Kitchen. We can't say enough about her scrumptious cooking. Every meal was mouthwatering good, and "ranch-size portions" is no joke!

Overall, one of our best vacations ever!!!

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews