We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One day outing with best friend”
Review of Rockcliffe Mansion

Rockcliffe Mansion
Ranked #1 of 29 things to do in Hannibal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rockcliffe Mansion is an amazing Thirteen Thousand Five Hundred SF, Thirty room, Grand Residence built to overlook the Mighty Mississippi between 1898 and 1900 by Lumber Baron John J Cruikshank, Jr. It is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Most of the original antique furnishings and fixtures are preserved. The Mansion is filled with rich Mahogany, Oak and Walnut appointments, magnificent Palladian windows and the finest interior decorations from Europe and America. Guided Tours are available daily. In addition to Guided Tours, the Mansion offers 4 Bed & Breakfast accommodations. Please visit our Website for Tour hours and further information.
Reviewed 12 September 2017

This was an amazing place to see, the history in the home was so interesting. Our tour guide Debbie was wonderful and full of knowledge of the home and the area. The house had so many antiques and furnishing that it is a must see. I enjoyed seeing the first technology inventions that where introduced into the home like electricity and pluming. This is also a Bed & Breakfast. The view is overlooking the Mississippi River and town of Hannibal.

Thank Barbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

Our tour guide Debbie was excellent. Well versed on the museum history. She had a friendly attitude and made even the late comers feel welcomed.

Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We had an awesome tour with Debbie! She had great knowledge and took her time to explain the known history of the home. I especially appreciate that the home set vacant for 43 years and remained intact....including furniture and personal possessions!
The home includes Tiffany windows, Tiffany interior door glass as well as Tiffany lamps. I think the ability to set vacant not vandalized to the point of no repair is just as amazing as the home itself! The inside is remarkable. The outside needs much work. Please go see this unique home and support the restoration and preservation of a time long past!
Also, it is a bed and breakfast with affordable rates!
Thank you Debbie!

1  Thank M Betsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017

We have lived in the area all our lives but never toured the mansion until now. This is a wonderful piece of American History from Americas Home Town. The mansion is full of local and family history, it contains many original pieces of furniture and decor, it was built using wih beautiful craftsman ship throughout and contains many personal items to the original family. The current owner was our guide and it was apparent he is a real student of history and dedicated to the preservation of this piece of history. We strongly recommend this tour as an extra benefit all proceeds go toward the restoration of the property.

Thank Sonny & Karissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you !!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Absolutely a great tour of years gone by. Love the old furnishings. Deb was our tour guide. She did a wonderful job answering any questions. The outside of the building is a work in progress. Sat empty for 43 years.

1  Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan_Jose_Ruiz-Bello, General Manager at Rockcliffe Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rockcliffe Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing