We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Captain Wohlt Inn(Hermann)(Great Value!)
US$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Iron Horse Inn(Hermann)(Great Value!)
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhorn Gasthaus(Hermann)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Haus Inn & Suites(Hermann)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$482
US$408
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$485
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
51
28
11
13
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
28
11
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden cottagebell towerearly risersdowntown areafirst morningwithin walking distancethe location is perfectwingskaty trailin town
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 118 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2010

Wonderful place to stay. The Garden Cottage was very clean and comfortable. We loved the privacy and easy access to downtown. Breakfast was delicious and served right on time. The view of the garden while sitting at the table was so relaxing. Very welcoming and homey feeling.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2ride4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

This is the third time that we stayed in the Garden Cottage, but the first time since the rebuild. We LOVED it!! Like the two entry ways and the extra space. It is perfectly located in the middle of downtown. We took advantage of that this time since we were in town for a wedding and had friends close by.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicaramis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

This was our third stay at A Secret Vine, and it continues to be a pleasure to visit. The innkeepers are very kind and the breakfast is wonderful. We love the easy check-in and check-out! We've always stayed in the Garden Cottage, which for us has the distinct benefit of its being a separate building from the rest of the suites. No neighbors making noise and it feels like your own private studio apartment in charming Missouri wine country. The location is great; it is easy to walk to the downtown wineries and restaurants and with the new addition of the Hermann trolley there really is no need to drive anywhere.

I really like that it has a small fridge and microwave---we save tons of money by bringing groceries instead of eating out all the time. And we have a place to keep wine and champagne cold for drinking in the jacuzzi tub. We are both in love with the two-person shower and heated tile floor. When we came here over New Year's that was VERY nice! The bed is to die for---it will spoil you terribly.

PS: Visit the little wine shop at the end of 4th st before you hit the wineries. She has a good selection of local wines at (usually) better prices than at the wineries.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We loved the more masculine feel of the room. My husband especially appreciated the lack of "fru fru" stuff. The jacuzzi was wonderful and we really liked the 2 person shower. My husband likened it to a car wash when we showered alone. The bed was nice and big and comfortable. The service was excellent as were the breakfasts - thank you Tom! The location was perfect except we were right next door to the old German school which was in the process of restoration and the workmen arrived at 7am. We were able to walk to most of the locations we wanted. A couple of "do not miss" places are the Art Shop near the corner of 1st & Market (hwy 19) and the used bookstore directly across the street from The Secret Vine. Wonderful local art and a very friendly book seller on Schiller street. Be sure to check out all of the wineries and be sure to eat some shnitzle at Trappers on Market St.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappySeekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

There was no sign as to where to check in.. as we wandered around the property we came across the health dept. which had a sign stating " to check in for the secret vine go across the street on the corner to the bicycle shop" after locating that we walked in to a very cluttered little store where a man just pointed and said go to the top of the stairs a key will be in the kitchen!! I never got any information never saw anyone the room was upstairs in a very cluttered hallway. there was a window unit airconditioner in the living room we had to sleep in the living room as it was the only one cool or comfortable to sleep in. I was not even sure we had been checked in until charges appeared on my card 3 days later. This was for our anniversary. We go to Hermann every year and would never come back here. The water tasted like metal. There was no phone in the room we had no one to call for towles toilet paper ANYTHING!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisawelch29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews