We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”

Grenfell Historic Properties
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in St. Anthony
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Grenfell Historic Properties operates the Grenfell Interpretation Centre, Grenfell Handicrafts, Lady Anne's Tea Room,The Grenfell House Museum, The Grenfell Dock and Tea House Hill. The Interpretation houses the gift shop, the tea room and an exhibit portraying the life of Sir Wilfred Thomason Grenfell.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This property was great. The staff were very helpful, the place was clean and cheerful. The rooms were a nice size. I would definitely recommend this property.

Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, Manager at Grenfell Historic Properties, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thanks for recommending.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"interpretation centre"
in 6 reviews
"gift shop"
in 9 reviews
"tea house"
in 5 reviews
"medical services"
in 4 reviews
"lots of history"
in 3 reviews
"medical instruments"
in 3 reviews
"historic properties"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 4 reviews
"memorial hospital"
in 2 reviews
"answer any questions"
in 2 reviews
"step back in time"
in 2 reviews
"canadian hero"
in 2 reviews
"interesting artifacts"
in 2 reviews
"restored house"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 2 reviews
"shows how"
in 2 reviews
"his wife"
in 3 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017

We went through the house quickly after the visitor centre as staff were on their way out for lunch and we didn’t have a lot of time in St Anthony anyway. The location is not easy to find and not as obviously marked unless you know what you’re looking for. The house is hidden on a hill behind the hospital and behind trees. You need to pay for admissions at the visitor centre, I believe. The maintenance of the house is good with a good staging done with good explanations. We didn’t explore the grounds much because it was raining and cold so we just took a quick look around. I think it’s more extensive than it appears but there is considerable overgrowth of trees and bush. Worth to look around if you’ve got time after the visitor centre.

Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, Manager at Grenfell Historic Properties, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Learning about Sir Wilfred Grenfell was very interesting. Everything he brought to this region is very inspiring....definitely a must see!

Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This exhibit is a tale of a man's self-sacrifice for the betterment of others. The story of the Grenfell medical facilities from the late 19th century to the first half of this century is marvellously told in this museum. He was a man of many talents, all on display. My wife took a particular interest in the industrial aspects of the mission, the making of rug hooking and other crafts to earn sustenance.

1  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We had been ambivalent about visiting this attraction, because it didn't sound all that interesting to see a museum about an early doctor in northern Newfoundland and Labrador. How wrong we were! Seeing the videos, the photos and the quotes from Dr. Grenfell himself really made us understand in a very visceral way what life was like in these very remote areas, how dedicated Dr. Grenfell was to providing service in these areas, and the kinds of difficulties he went through. What an amazing man he was! We ran out of time, so did not see the house, but did cross the street to the hospital to see the Jordi Bonet murals (not to be missed).

2  Thank JodyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia R, Manager at Grenfell Historic Properties, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Dr. Grenfell was indeed an inspirational and dedicated man to the people of Northern Newfoundland and Labrador. The murals are an inspiration to the legacy of Dr. Grenfell as well.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grenfell Historic Properties also viewed

St. Anthony, Newfoundland
 
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
St. Anthony, Newfoundland
 

Been to Grenfell Historic Properties? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing