We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Hotel Mar Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mar Azul
Ranked #4 of 15 Paracas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The location is very central , easy to find.They have a rooftop terrace where the guests can take the breakfast.My room had a small balcony, it was a pleasure to sit out and have a view.Wifi was OK.
The staff cannot speak English language, it is necessary to learn a little Spanish.No lift.The room was very basic, with an old tv, grey sheet and towels.No night lamp.
Paid for a room with breakfast included 38$/night, but I was forced to take my first breakfast in the town.The girl refused to give me the food.Later, after many insistences the receptionist gave me back 10 soles.Next morning I could take the breakfast, very basic, on the rooftop terrace.
Very noisy guesthouse!The staff was not interested for the comfort of their guests.It's impossible to stay in proximity of the reception.They have an enormous Tv and a lot of locals made an infernal noise, watching day and night telenovelas.
It was expensive.Paid a lot of money for two nights .I think one night is enough if a tourist want to see the wonders of Paracas.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room situated next the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LELIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We arrived late at night and almost all hotels were full, or some guys in the streets offered some crappy and overpriced accommodations. We were happy to find this hotel, had a 6-beds rooms for ourselves, for a decent price. Breakfast was nice on terrace, nice view on the ocean.
We took a tour to Ballestas Islands with their agency, Ballestas Expeditions, and it was really nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AroundTheGlobe000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at the hostel only for night, rooms where clean and service given by Judy was also very helpfull. She booked me a tour to Ballestas islands and it was the best. Great guide and boat.

Breakfast was included in the price at the beachfront terrace.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlosJaramillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Price was reasonable and location is great. Our room and bathroom were clean with plenty of hot water. We had a balcony with a decent view of the beach. Other reviewers stated no free breakfast but that must of recently changed. We were offered a simple breakfast of bread, jam, coffee, fresh pineapple juice, and fried eggs at no cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We booked on-line and were quoted 70 Sles for the room for two people (1 Adult, 1 Child). When I emailed him and said it was too expensive, he said he had a cheaper room for 35 Soles. We caught a taxi all the way from Huacchina to get there. Then the lady refused to honour the email price even though i showed her in print. She insisted though it said for the room, it was each. So we had to leave and find another hostel. We found one on the corner by the sea. the room was 30 Soles total.

Room Tip: we never got to stay but if you did I would suggest looking out to sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Curleyistops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#7 of 11 in Paracas
274 reviews
0.5 km away
San Agustin Paracas
San Agustin Paracas
#4 of 11 in Paracas
628 reviews
0.3 km away
Bamboo Lodge
Bamboo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Paracas
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel Paracas, A Luxury Collection Resort, Paracas
2.6 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas - Peru
2.4 km away
La Hacienda Bahia Paracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Azul

Address: Urb. Alan Garcia B-20, Paracas 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Paracas
Price Range: $77 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mar Azul is known for the quality of its services and the cordiality of its people. Located in one of the most attractive destinations in Peru, on the seafront of Paracas, Hotel Mar Azul offers all the comforts that travelers expect, as well as a wide variety of services and amenities that aim to provide a special stay and Quality. With more than 30 years in the service industry, Hotel Mar Azul offers a unique experience, the quality that allows to enjoy the nature, the culture and the incomparable gastronomy of the south of our country. Located just a few meters from the sea, Hotel Mar Azul stands out as unique and exclusive properties with views of the sea and the bay of Paracas. Hotel Mar Azul is located near the natural reserve where you can admire the marine life (sea lions, flamingos, dolphins, penguins) and where there is more than two thousand years the Paracas culture was born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mar Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing