We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for 1 night”
Review of Hotel Mar Azul

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Mar Azul
Ranked #4 of 14 Paracas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Right in the center of everything. Room with a balcony and limited ocean views. Offered the best price on a tour of the Ballestas Islands that we could find. Staff was friendly. Poor water pressure. Decent breakfast. Roosters are kept on the roof of the adjacent building. There is a little store across the street. Don't stay in Paracas more than 1 night. Get in, do the tour in the morning and take the noon bus back to Lima. Not impressed with the location.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank snowflake81435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

Good location next to restaurants etc.
Wi-Fi very average.
Breakfast was fine. Nice to have it on the top floor terrace!
Bedroom was clean and had a wee balcony which was great!
Staff weren't the friendliest.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
Thank EAlex88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2015

They were no other people when we were there, and despite it being a six person dorm we were the only two in the room. Wi-fi was pretty terrible (as the rest of Peru) and we saw a cockroach on the floor in our room, but other than that it was pretty okay. The hostal owner tried to sell us ladies later on - no thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This hostel is right next to the water and various little shops and restaurants. It is clean, has hot showers and an okay breakfast. The service wasn't very friendly though. The wifi wasn't working so when I went down to ask them about it they pretended they were on the same connection I was trying to access and said it was working... turns out they were actually on another network and it took some prying to get the password from them. Don't know why it had to be such a secret. Oh well, other than that, good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We arrived here because of the Ballestas tour. Since it was a hotel, we decided to stay one night and relax before our road trip back to Lima. The receptionists barely spoke about the prices, but allowed us to see 2 of the rooms before booking 3 of them. We paid for them and then asked for tour recommendations in the Ica and Huacachina areas, which was ok. Upon our return, we noticed that the rooms had towels, but not hand towels for the bathrooms, so we had to ask for them. Also, the rooms we got were next to the street on the first floor, so we heard every single noise and conversation. The windows don't stop any sound, so it was not a good night. But it doesn't compare to the hammers very close to the wall: there was a construction next to the hotel or next to our room. The workers started at 6:45am, so our plans to stay in bed at least until 7am were frustrated. I bet there are better options in the area for the same price. Not recommended, except for the tour to the Ballestas Islands.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank crguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paracas hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Gran Palma
Hotel Gran Palma
#7 of 11 in Paracas
274 reviews
0.5 km away
San Agustin Paracas
San Agustin Paracas
#4 of 11 in Paracas
626 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Paracas, A Luxury Collection Resort, Paracas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Bamboo Lodge
Bamboo Lodge
#8 of 11 in Paracas
184 reviews
2.6 km away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Paracas - Peru
0.7 km away
Aranwa Paracas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Azul

Address: Urb. Alan Garcia B-20, Paracas 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Ica Region > Paracas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Paracas
Price Range: $77 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mar Azul 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mar Azul is known for the quality of its services and the cordiality of its people. Located in one of the most attractive destinations in Peru, on the seafront of Paracas, Hotel Mar Azul offers all the comforts that travelers expect, as well as a wide variety of services and amenities that aim to provide a special stay and Quality. With more than 30 years in the service industry, Hotel Mar Azul offers a unique experience, the quality that allows to enjoy the nature, the culture and the incomparable gastronomy of the south of our country. Located just a few meters from the sea, Hotel Mar Azul stands out as unique and exclusive properties with views of the sea and the bay of Paracas. Hotel Mar Azul is located near the natural reserve where you can admire the marine life (sea lions, flamingos, dolphins, penguins) and where there is more than two thousand years the Paracas culture was born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Mar Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing