We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza
Nearby Hotels
US$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$259
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport(Kansas City)(Great Value!)
US$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$193
US$189
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Fontaine(Kansas City)
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$183
US$163
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,709)
Filter reviews
1,709 results
Traveller rating
945
395
175
115
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
945
395
175
115
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconcierge floorcraig walterreubenfront deskchristmas lightsclub levellobby barhappy hourthe entire staffself parkingoakplazaalamedavaletbalconiesbellmanconference
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 1,709 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This place is fabulous and walking distance to the plaza. We stayed here during the women's basketball regionals. We drove all night, and when we arrived early the hotel made every accommodation possible for us to get in our room and comfortable. The room service is the best that I've experienced in a long time. The menu was perfect and the food was divine. I highly recommend this luxurious hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kp200138834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear kp200138834,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the InterContinental Kansas City on TripAdvisor. We appreciate the 5-star rating.

We always make every effort to accommodate early arrivals. When you’re on the road, it helps a lot when the room is available as soon as you get to the hotel. We’ll be sure to share your comments about the perfect in-room dining meal with our food and beverage team. With service available 24/7, this is one of our very popular amenities.

Please know we also appreciate you recommending the hotel to other travelers, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The Intercontinental is perfectly positioned adjacent to The Plaza, and steps from all the offerings of this wonderful neighborhood.

A recent renovation has brought a wonderful room product and PERFECT bedding to this classic hotel. I loved my room. It was spotlessly clean, beautifully appointed....and the new bedding was perfect!

The staff was wonderful, as was the restaurant. I fell in love with the retro refrigerators in the restaurant. I want one at home! Beautiful!!

(just a note...although i was 'upgraded', but amenity/water/gift never was delivered. Not a big deal, but 'noted').

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JamesE339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear JamesE339,

“Perfect” is a word we love to hear when a guest describes their experience at the hotel.

The location of the hotel, in the heart of the Country Club Plaza, is the best in all of Kansas City, and we’re very proud of the service provided by our team. The expansive renovation completed last year brought the product to a new level, and we appreciate all the positive feedback from our guests about the new décor. New bedding was obviously part the guestroom renovation, as were the addition of 55” TV’s.

We’re glad you were able to enjoy American Slang Modern Brasserie. The playful design lends itself very well to the concept of food items with a modern twist on some old classics. I share your enthusiasm about the retro refrigerators at the entrance to American Slang.

We’ll be sure to share your comments about the service you received and your spotlessly clean room with our entire team.

We invite you to stay with us again the next time you are in town!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel was luxurious. We loved the Romeo and Juliet balcony.
We also enjoyed the live music and appetizers in the high ceiling lobby. We intended to leave the hotel and spend the evening exploring the plaza, but we were enjoying ourselves so much we never left! We need to make time to visit this hotel again.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank JMMeyer174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear JMMeyer174,

Reading your review this morning was a great way to start the day! We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

A major renovation of the hotel was finished last summer. The look and feel of the hotel was elevated to reflect a more understated and sophisticated elegance, while retaining a welcoming feeling through the use of a significantly lighter palette and materials that look and feel luxurious. Creating American Slang Modern Brasserie was part of the improvements. We’re very glad you enjoyed the live music and appetizers.

With the weather warming up, the private balconies off each guestroom are extremely popular. The view of the Plaza really is amazing.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back during your next trip to Kansas City!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed here earlier this month for a legal conference. The hotel was beautiful. My room was large with its own balcony and a nice bathroom. The bar/restaurant/lounge area has live music in the evening and helpful and fast bartenders. The staff at this hotel were all very friendly and helpful. They definitely take care of this place and I will return the next time I’m in Kansas City!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Dear Tracy H,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the InterContinental Kansas City on TripAdvisor.

We continue to receive very positive guest feedback about the hotel-wide renovation completed last summer. The new look has a much brighter feel, and the playful design in American Slang Modern Brasserie has brought a lot of energy and enthusiasm to the lobby level. The live music is featured every Tuesday through Saturday nights.

One of the unique features of the hotel is each guestroom having a private balcony. They make for a relaxing way to enjoy the spectacular Plaza view. We’re glad you enjoyed it.

Please stay with us again the next time you are in the area!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate my birthday last weekend. We’ve stayed here several times before and it didn’t disappoint. Craig the concierge was awesome. He has the hookup for last minute reservations on the plaza and goes above and beyond to take care of the guests. The hotel was recently remodeled and, while I preferred the old school style of the lobby and bar before, the rooms are definitely improved. My only complaint is the shower was cold. Our friends had a nearby room and had the same issue with the water. That wasn’t enough to damper our stay. Great place!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank woodrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don B, General Manager at InterContinental Kansas City at the Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Dear woodrow1,

Thank you for your loyalty to the hotel, and for awarding us with a 5-star rating.

Your feedback is valued and will be shared with the entire team, and of course we’ll let Craig know how much you appreciated his service.

It’s great to hear that you like the new renovated guestrooms. The lighter palette has been very well received by our guests.

Please do accept my apologies for the shower not having hot water. This must have been an isolated incident as we have not had any similar feedback.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Don Breckenridge
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews