We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirtiest hotel room in all my travels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun
Ranked #14 of 110 Hotels in Kansas City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Of everywhere in the world I have traveled, this is the dirtiest hotel room I've ever stayed in. This includes all of my 3rd world travel as well.

If you're coming, and are a reasonably clean person, bring socks so you don't have to walk on the dirty carpet with bare feet, bring your own bedding, ours was dirty and torn, and ask for extra towels to put on the incredibly stained furniture. I asked for a cleaner room or at least for cleaner chairs and was brought to a room of comparable quality.

The front desk gentleman was very friendly. A nicer hotel should offer him a job.

There are holes in the shower wall, sticky substances on the side table, a clogged sink....we didn't try the shower....an air conditioner that doesn't fully work, leaving the room moist and clammy, and stained walls. My husband doesn't even want to take off his shoes and he's stayed in some very seedy motels.

This is not a functioning hotel. I cannot believe that Hampton Inn is ok with the condition of this place. It should be shut down immediately and repaired or at least fully cleaned before reopening.

Instead of staying our second night, we are choosing to drive home, 10 hours away, though the night with baby. It's that bad. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kmkove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

Nice welcome and check in when we arrived. Room was spacious and clean. The upholstery on the chairs in the room needs to be cleaned or just replaced; there were a lot of stains on them. Everything else was clean and in good shape. We chose it for the location. Not bad for the price either. We would easily stay again when in the area.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Good morning,

Thank you so much for staying with us!

We are aware of the condition issues and we are working to get all of these issues fixed, but we do appreciate your feedback and appreciate you doing the survey.

We hope you will come stay with us again soon!

Have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Rooms were clean; good working order. Local to eating establishments and fuel. Close and easy access to highway. Breakfast was hurried and the one worker was overwhelmed. Patience will get you hot food, especially on the busy weekend we were there,(preseason NFL game and last minute, back to school trips), but if you prefer grab and go, there was plenty to choose from. Ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful, echeck-in expedited the task and we got to choose our room. Worlds of Fun was right across the highway, so if those are your plans, this hotel would be great.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank rhondaf59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Good morning,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for giving the staff and hotel a wonderful review, We really appreciate that!!

Please come stay with us again soon and have a wonderful day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

We arrived in our room to a soaking wet floor, crumbs all over the bathroom, sheets on the bed were dirty. There was a broken tile behind the bathroom door with pieces laying everywhere. The pool looked gross. I wouldn't let my kids swim in it. Worst hotel I've stayed at in awhile. I will not stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank 475kristaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Good afternoon,

I spoke to you this morning on the phone, But I want to apologize again, and let you know that I have fully refunded you for your stay.

Again I truly apologize and I hope you have a great day!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

Room was decent, not as nice as other Hamptons. The hallways were hot and musty smelling with old carpet. Breakfast was pretty good. I was happy to see a good selection of fruit.
Staff was nice but smoked in front of the hotel. Unprofessional.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridget M, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Good morning,

I want to first thank you for staying with our hotel and we hope you will come stay with us again in the future.

I would like to apologize for our hotel not being as nice as you're used to, We are up for a full renovation, and we will be complete no later then March 2018, So we do hope you will come stay with us in the future and see our newly renovated hotel!!

Thank you for bringing to my attention that staff is smoking in front of the hotel as they know that is unexcitable, So I will be speaking to everyone that way I can reiterate the smoking policy and designated smoking area's.

Again I truly apologize, We hope to see you again in the future!!!!

Have a wonderful day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kansas City hotels
9.0 km away
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
Hampton Inn Kansas City Liberty
#1 of 110 in Kansas City
767 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites near Worlds of Fun
16.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kansas City Country Club Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Kansas City-International Airport
0.4 km away
Ramada Kansas City
Ramada Kansas City
#77 of 110 in Kansas City
314 reviews
18.8 km away
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
Hyatt Place Kansas City Airport
#4 of 110 in Kansas City
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun

Address: 4233 N Corrington Ave, Kansas City, MO 64117-1577
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Kansas City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kansas City
#8 Family Hotel in Kansas City
#14 Business Hotel in Kansas City
Price Range: $182 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Kansas City/near Worlds of Fun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kansas City/Near Worlds Of Fun Hotel Kansas City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing