We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,239)
Filter reviews
1,239 results
Traveller rating
464
256
219
164
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
464
256
219
164
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa shiki japanese garden movie theater lobby bar view of the lake get away main pool memorial day weekend full kitchen mini fridge fire pit nice resort off season family vacation golf course avila hk
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 1,239 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We recently visited the lodge for a getaway for my wife and I. We stayed in the main lodge and our room was nothing but outstanding!! The ambiance when we walked in was warm and definitely reflected the feel of the fall season. Our view from our room was breath taking and we wished we could have been outside on the grounds a little more but the weather was too cold. The Japanese garden is worth the chill to walk through and the fire pit and the view it offered made us want to sit out there all night. Regardless we get enjoyed the warmth and coziness of the lodge. When we checked in Kendall was incredibly helpful and wonderful! When we went back to the front desk in the morning and we spoke to a man about getting a few snacks and drinks for our room. He was very short and curt with us and made us feel as if we were wasting his time so we decided to fend for ourselves and find what we were looking for at a gas station not too far away. We chose to indulge ourselves and enjoyed a few services at Spa Shiki. From the moment we walked in, we felt as if all of our worries and cares melted away. We went to the pool and jacuzzi but the smell of the chlorine was so strong we decided to leave. Again after leaving the pool we were hungry and stopped at HKs for a quick bite to eat. We waited at the host stand to be seated and no one ever came so we seated ourselves. We sat for at least 10 minutes before we were greeted and given menus. Our lunch took over 45 minutes to come out. We were never given refills on our drink and we watched as two servers stood together talking and completely oblivious to the patrons. Finally our food came out and was literally slapped on the table. Never once did we see the manager and it truly felt as if no one cared about what was going on there. The food was good but our lunch was ruined by the lack of service. The bill was again slapped on the table and we were grateful that we payed with cash so we could leave as soon as we were finished. That evening we went to JB Hooks for dinner and drove around enjoying the fall leaves. Our last night there we decided to stay in and give HKs another try. This time we were not disappointed!!. We decided to eat in the bar area hoping for better service and we were not let down. Kristin and Briana were absolutely great!! Their service was impeccable and the food was so amazing. I ate a filet and my wife had the scallops. The food was delicious and the presentation of the dishes blew us away. We were greeted by the manager but she seemed flustered and overwhelmed. She asked us repeatedly about or drinks and food and honestly it was annoying to say the least. We shared the newest dessert which was a sweet potato cheesecake. If you stay at the lodge and do nothing else, you should take the time to dine at HKs. The bell stand staff went above and beyond to help us. Overall our weekend was so wonderful that we have already made plans to come back!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jturn1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRMc, General Manager at Lodge of Four Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share with readers of TripAdvisor your recent guest experience at the Lodge of Four Seasons. Your comments are important to us, without your feedback we cannot address the issues we may not be aware of.
All of us at the Lodge of the Four Seasons resort take great professional pride in our resort and the reputation we have had over the years.

Your comments have been reviewed with our entire staff at our weekly staff meeting. Also I have discussed the service issues you experienced with your lunch in HK's to ensure that we correct the issues you noted. Thank you again for your comments. Hope to welcome you back to the Lodge of Four Seasons in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Every year I go there for a conference and it is always a great place to stay. The place has the best staff who care about their quest. Clean rooms, great food, and excellent personnel. Beautiful location to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRMc, General Manager at Lodge of Four Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time from your busy day to write a review in TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the Lodge of Four Seasons. We appreciate the time it took as it assists us in monitoring our service delivery. All of us strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is always rewarding to hear back from guests that had a nice and relaxing visit. I will share your comments with the entire staff.

Again, thank you for the Kind compliments. We hope to see you again in the near future should your travels return you to our door, until then…

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Hot tub was broken and indoor pool is connected to outdoor pool so water was to cool to swim in. Went during the off season, so there wasn't much to do around the resort. Wish they had a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRMc, General Manager at Lodge of Four Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share with TripAdvisor your recent guest experience. Your comments are important to us, without your feedback we cannot address the issues we may not be aware of.
In regards to a continental breakfast - HK's provides breakfast until 11:00 am every day. In addition there are bed and breakfast packages available on our website and through reservations. In addition to many local activities in the area we do have many activities in the hotel such as daily movies in the cinema, a shooting range for clay pigeons, golf weather permitting and of course Spa Shiki and a fitness center.
Hopefully you can experience these amenities during a future visit.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We recently escaped our hectic work schedules with the girls and opted for a quick retreat to the lake. Hands down, a wonderful weekend getaway and I strongly urge one whom reads the negative reviews to disregard as I did not experience anything BUT FIRST CLASS SERVICE. The view was beautiful, beds slept like a dream, the overall stay was beyond what one could hope for, truly wonderful. Further, our meals at the hotel were "Much Better" than Baxter's and other little cal favorites. We cannot wait to return, and have planned to spend Thanksgiving at the Lodge. We were in the main lodge, atrium and plan on requesting the same for our upcoming trip.

Room Tip: Request main lodge, atrium as views are spectacular!
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Legaltini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRMc, General Manager at Lodge of Four Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review in TripAdvisor in regards to your recent stay at the Lodge of Four Seasons. We appreciate the time it took as it assists us in monitoring our service delivery. All of us strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is always rewarding to hear back from guests that had a nice and relaxing visit. I shared your comments with the staff, it is always rewarding to hear when their efforts are noticed. Thank you as well for the kind remarks about HK's restaurant, it is in the process of being rediscovered.

we hope to see you when you return for the Thanksgiving Holiday, until then, enjoy the seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Went to Lodge of Four Seasons for two nights in late October. We booked through priceline and were upgraded to the main lodge. We ended up having two queen sized beds - beds were comfortable. Rooms appeared to be recently remodeled. I did notice a a stain on the sheets and a pillow case, but they appeared to be clean just not bleached. The shower head was broken and my husband had to jerry rig it to make it work for him - it was ok for me since I'm short. We enjoyed the fall hay ride and view of the lake. Was a nice stay overall. The room was nice and quiet and had a good lake view.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRMc, General Manager at Lodge of Four Seasons, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor - we appreciate your kind words. We were happy to hear you had a nice stay. Thank you for bringing the issue with the shower head to my attention so that we could get it repaired.
We hope to see you soon, enjoy the season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews