We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GETAWAY BLACKRIVER”
Review of Black River Lodge

Black River Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lesterville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black River Lodge
Reviewed 3 October 2017

i went to school back in the 70s with the owner but never went there for vacation, i grew up down there in acradia mo about 12 miles from blackriver lodge so my wife and i decided to try this place out .its a nice place to just get away, family run, good meals ,3 times a day country style cooking. everything you can think of was there for intertainment. thursday they all sing and eat hot dogs around a camp fire which was so fun to see people get into it, and sue is one of the owners get the people going on these songs they sing every year and everyone that stays there have been coming there for years.they come back every year and the same week so everyone knows everyone its great.cabins were great we had the one in the very back of the property . it was a good place because we brought owr harley's there and we had plenty of room to park them. i rate the place a A+

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kevin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

This is the 4th generation of our family now that has been to Black River Lodge. It has been about 20 years since our family has been, and some thing never change. It's just as charming as I remember it. The kids can run around on their own with no concern and there are plenty activities. The food is home cooked and very good. You can't hardly beat the price either. It's pretty off the grid, as the internet doesn't work well at all, but you get a little cell service. We didn't care though, cause we really wanted to be off the grid. The cabins are rustic, not fancy. They have a refrigerator but not a kitchenette. I'd call it "glamping". Rustic enough for the boys, but civilized enough for the girls. Our family loves this place and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Black River Lodge does it right! We had a great week on the river with family. The meals were always good and plentiful. Susan and Justin with entertainment really have it figured out and always added the personal touch engaging both kids and adults. The cabins are nice and have that homey feel! Train rides for the kids every evening after dinner. Trivia, weiner roast, dancing, talent shows and more were all well organized! It's was an ideal week with family and friends! Thanks for the memories since it was my first time!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terripv422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This place is way over-priced. Meals supposed to be included.....arrived Friday afternoon and had to go out for dinner.

The room.....not clean....carpet had not been vacuumed....there was a tag of some sort, 2 toothpick wrappers and other miscellaneous loose items on the carpet. Limited storage for clothing/drawer space. Pedestal table not stead....rocked. No TV, telephone, microwave or iron....did have a mini fridge.

The food: Saturday morning breakfast included "poached" eggs......the yolks were hard boiled. The other meals we had were acceptable but nothing special....served family style in a large dining room....no menu.

Game equipment.....very worn.....paddles for some game on a tennis court were in such bad shape that you never knew where the ball would go when you hit it.

The price???.....something like $180.00 PER PERSON PER NIGHT.
Outside the room, on the deck.....debris including more toothpick wrappers, cigarette butts, etc. Ash trays were "tins" with sand.....no drain holes, so they filled with water when it rained, nor were they cleaned.

Grounds unkept, lots of leaves and other debris.....certainly not cared for. For the price, it should be pristine as Disneyland.

Room Tip: Don't bother going there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Went with my sister and a whole group of sisters. The children were always entertained. Food was great. Extremely friendly staff. Beautiful scenery amazing river access. I dont walk well so we were able to drive down on the sandbar.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Black River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black River Lodge

Address: 1385 County Road 342, Lesterville, MO 63654-8852
Region: United States > Missouri > Lesterville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Lesterville
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Black River Hotel Lesterville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing