We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Shepherd Mountain Inn & Suites(Ironton)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Inn Lodge(Fredericktown)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tradition Inn(Farmington)
US$107
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$107
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
10
2
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
2
0
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2017

This is the 4th generation of our family now that has been to Black River Lodge. It has been about 20 years since our family has been, and some thing never change. It's just as charming as I remember it. The kids can run around on their own with no concern and there are plenty activities. The food is home cooked and very good. You can't hardly beat the price either. It's pretty off the grid, as the internet doesn't work well at all, but you get a little cell service. We didn't care though, cause we really wanted to be off the grid. The cabins are rustic, not fancy. They have a refrigerator but not a kitchenette. I'd call it "glamping". Rustic enough for the boys, but civilized enough for the girls. Our family loves this place and hope to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Black River Lodge does it right! We had a great week on the river with family. The meals were always good and plentiful. Susan and Justin with entertainment really have it figured out and always added the personal touch engaging both kids and adults. The cabins are nice and have that homey feel! Train rides for the kids every evening after dinner. Trivia, weiner roast, dancing, talent shows and more were all well organized! It's was an ideal week with family and friends! Thanks for the memories since it was my first time!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank terripv422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2016

This place is way over-priced. Meals supposed to be included.....arrived Friday afternoon and had to go out for dinner.

The room.....not clean....carpet had not been vacuumed....there was a tag of some sort, 2 toothpick wrappers and other miscellaneous loose items on the carpet. Limited storage for clothing/drawer space. Pedestal table not stead....rocked. No TV, telephone, microwave or iron....did have a mini fridge.

The food: Saturday morning breakfast included "poached" eggs......the yolks were hard boiled. The other meals we had were acceptable but nothing special....served family style in a large dining room....no menu.

Game equipment.....very worn.....paddles for some game on a tennis court were in such bad shape that you never knew where the ball would go when you hit it.

The price???.....something like $180.00 PER PERSON PER NIGHT.
Outside the room, on the deck.....debris including more toothpick wrappers, cigarette butts, etc. Ash trays were "tins" with sand.....no drain holes, so they filled with water when it rained, nor were they cleaned.

Grounds unkept, lots of leaves and other debris.....certainly not cared for. For the price, it should be pristine as Disneyland.

Room Tip: Don't bother going there
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

Went with my sister and a whole group of sisters. The children were always entertained. Food was great. Extremely friendly staff. Beautiful scenery amazing river access. I dont walk well so we were able to drive down on the sandbar.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Black River Lodge is one of those gems hidden in a beautiful area of the state. From the moment you start your week there, you have time to relax, be part of organized activities, and have all your food provided- no cooking required.

The rooms are nice and provide the basics, including a refrigerator, but I truly doubt you'll be spending any time in your room with all the family fun that's included.

BRL books by the week for most of the summer, and the weekend later in the summer (occasionally you can get a partial week), so getting in can be a challenge, but most people come back year after year, into old age.

The beaches provide security over the weekend, so no random floaters can go up to the cabin areas, and it helps ensure the over zealous weekend river goers don't get too out of hand.

Overall, it's worth a stay, you'll be happy you came!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews