We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
160
94
23
6
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
94
23
6
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool luxury cottage tribal dance dining hall high tea mango trees family members mr vijay large property gujarati food lion safari helping staff calm place an excellent experience the cottages half an hour personal attention
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2016

The resort is situated about 6 km from Sinh Sadan (From where the Jungle Trail starts). More importantly it is about 3-4 km off road, in a very secluded place. If this sounds adventurous, consider that for a 6AM safari you would be treading down this road at 5AM there abouts. There are much better alternatives on the main road and closer to Sinh Sadan, like Amivari, Gateway Hotel (the two I remember, and there are many others). At 6K / room, this isnt easy on pocket either:(

If you insist on staying on this resort, a few tips
1) Do not book rooms. Especially if they are not on ground floor. The lift is ancient and may not work (The doors do not close automatically, so it could be stuck on any floor when you need it). The cottages did look better.
2) At 6K/room from MMT / GoIbibo etc, you might get a better rate if you contact the hotel directly.
3) The hotel internet does not work. Keep the hotel confirmation voucher printout handy.

Overall, there were a bunch of resorts in Sasan, that looked much better and certainly situated a whole lot better.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vinay C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChavdaAshok, General Manager at Saavaj Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2016

Dear Vinay Chatlogaji,
Thank you for your candid review. you are requested to consider these facts. We are Just 900 meters off the main road and not 3-4 km. as you have mentioned. I know this precisely because just last week we have laid 965 meter cable for our BSNL lease line for WiFi (including 50 meter loop). Also, From our Resort to Sinh-Sadan, the forest office is st 4 KM away.

Regarding lift, our cabin was installed just 3 years back it has a system, where it reaches to nearest floor in case of power failure.

Regarding MMT and GIB, there is no disparity of the rates with them, as you can see from www.saavajresort.in, the booking engine is right there on the home page. however, they appear to be cheaper than us because they sell different plans.

Every hotel insists and should insist on printed voucher for future records and Tax and Billing purpose. We normally offer to print the voucher for you, but that day our BSNL internet was not working.

On Hotel Tariff, We have different categories, with different rates, one can select from wide range of category, according to their need, taste and budget.the tariff ranges from 5K to 9K.

On other hotels, Yes, Gateway is very near to Sinh Sadan and is operated by TAJ management, serves both Non-vegetarian as well as Vegetarian food, is definitely a better option, tariff wise, you must have compared the tariff before you selected us, we are pure vegetarian hotel, and that is our USP.

Hotels on the main road are more convenient to city people, but sleep quality? Traffic noise? people come to interior to escape from the city world, isn't it?

As for the WiFi, we and every one gets it from BSNL and the less said is better. Though we have applied for a lease line with 4 MBPS speed, already laid the cable too,and would definitely increase speed in next 4 to 5 days.

We invite you to contact us on info@saavajresort.in should you require further assistance on the subject.
Thanks again.
Ashok Chavda
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

the place is well situated and is about 5-7 km from the place where the main safari starts. Its about 100 meters off the main road, so very very peaceful. Staff is very friendly. Special mention to Mr. Chetan and Mr. Kishore at Front office, extremely courteous. Food is Veg but very nice. In all If I come back to Gir, I am staying at Saavaj only.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank mrknavimumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChavdaAshok, General Manager at Saavaj Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

ChavdaAshok, General Manager at Saavaj Resort, responded to this review
Dear Sir,

Happy to note that you liked our secluded yet lively and beautiful place. Veg. food has its own charm, and that is our specialty for Vegetarians, especially Jain guests. We would definitely await your second coming to enjoy hospitality of Saavaj Chetan and Saavaj Kishor. (Saavaj means Adult, male Lion.)

Best Regards,

Ashok Chavda
8758355566

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

Best place to stay in Gir. The only resort in the middle of the forest. Great cottages, offers package including 3 meals a day, good food variety in the buffet, gaming and swimming pool facility, evening tribal dance show.overall a good experience. Had a great time.
Need to add safety measures at swimming pool area.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ankit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChavdaAshok, General Manager at Saavaj Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Ankitji,

We invite you to spend your vacation once more with us and enjoy. Thank you for such a lovely comments on TA, would definitely make others aware of this No.1 resort of Sasan Gir.
Thank you once again.
Ashok Chavda
General Manager.
8758355566

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

When some resort serves their customers from their heart, they can touch their customer's heart too. At saavaj resort I have seen the example of best kathiyavadi hospitality. Free milk for kids, yummiest food I have tasted on any of my trip, awesome cottages with oh so beautiful garden and greenery around, always ready to serve with respect and a smile on face-staff , and special visit to their farm with lots of stories of lions and leopards, and last but not the least special thanks to the manager Chetan bhai for all his co-operation, hospitality, friendly nature and always ready to help and talk- chetanbhai, we have felt like home at your resort just as you promised and we give all its credit to you. Thanks sooo much. I can't stop talking about your resort to my family and friends.
Guys if you are going to sasangir, then you must stay at 'Saavaj'.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Drjhanvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChavdaAshok, General Manager at Saavaj Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2016

Dear Dr. Jhanvi,

Thank you very much for such a lovely and lively review which has truly lifted the morale of our staff and will motivate us to strive more and more towards the finer aspects of hospitality.
We expect to host you once more with few added facilities soon.
Thank you once again.
Ashok Chavda
8758355566

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2016

3 years ago i visited Gir & we stayed with family at Saavaj resort. After 3 years also , we decided to stay in same resort. We had amazing time with family in the resort. Very friendly & helpful staff, really nice manager to take care of resort. Also the food , I do not have word the quality of food was that good. I will always prefer to those who wants to have really good time in Sasan, Stay here in Saavaj

Room Tip: Any room you take, it has it's own beauty
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yagnesh t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews