We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Great museum

Lots of interesting information and artefacts. Staff friendly and informative. Worth spending time... read more

Reviewed 14 February 2022
Julie K
,
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Incredibly interesting

The four museums included in the museum pass made for a really in depth insight into the history of... read more

Reviewed 18 November 2021
TheTennetts
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile
Read all 275 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Norfolk Island
from US$52.97
More Info
from US$69.71
More Info
from US$62.15
More Info
from US$44.44
More Info
Reviews (275)
Filter reviews
275 results
Traveller rating
169
86
16
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
169
86
16
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews commissariat store norfolk island well worth a visit tag tours settlement history cannon information material bounty pitcairn wreck ni perspective insight colony
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 275 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2022

Lots of interesting information and artefacts. Staff friendly and informative. Worth spending time reading item for in-depth knowledge of island history

Date of experience: February 2022
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 February 2022

I rarely bother to write negative reviews, however we were so appalled that I'm writing two reviews on the museum, as it is unfair that our experience at the REO reflect on the staff at the remaining museums.
Tourists are advised to start their visit at the REO. In all our years of travelling we have never had a less welcoming reception. In fact, despite the open signs being out and within opening hours, we were made to feel as if we were trespassing on private property. In fact it was too much trouble to even hand us the map we received as soon as we entered one of the other museums. This is the farthest thing from a welcome to visitors than you could possibly achieve. If your attendant was worried about covid and didn't want visitors she should not have been there.

Date of experience: February 2022
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

The four museums included in the museum pass made for a really in depth insight into the history of Norfolk Island. The people manning the museums (particularly the Sirius and the Commissariat Store) were passionate about their patch of turf and we lapped it up! Really good that you can pace yourself as the pass is valid for your entire visit to Norfolk Island.

Date of experience: November 2021
Thank TheTennetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 September 2021

I'm not usually one for museums but this one is different. We did a walking tour of the museum and surrounds and then went back for a follow up visit. the museum has some fascinating historical items which make it well worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank NauticalDreamer3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2021

A lot to see here on two levels of the historic store. Get you tickets here for other building. Staff very helpful.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank AtStarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews