We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”
Review of Motel 6 St. Joseph

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 St. Joseph
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We stayed here one night while moving across country. The good thing about this motel is that it's located near the freeway and has good access to amenities such as Cracker Barrel. On the flip side, the location is also a bit sketchy - we saw quite a few homeless type people hanging out around the parking lot. Made it a little uncomfortable. The room itself was not good shape. There were holes in the walls, and the molding around the bathroom door was completely pulled off the wall and just hanging by a little strand. The shower drained slowly. The room was cheap though, so I suppose it could have been worse! The guy that checked us in was nice.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BChamp73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2017

Traveling with a puppy and just needed a pet friendly place to spend the night. This motel was just what we needed. Definitely no frills so if you want free shampoo and breakfast, stay somewhere else. We did ask for a no-smoking room and our room did smell of smoke but not overwhelming.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

I booked the motel a year ago since this weekend was the total solar eclipse. I give major prompts to Motel 6 for honoring the reservation at a decent price since many hotels in other parts of the country were raising prices dramatically and cancelling people who had booked cheaper reservations. So this location is certainly ethical.

The people at the check-in desk were friendly. The room itself was basic, but everything worked and it was clean. There was ample parking. The location is just off the interstate, and there is access to several restaurants nearby. A few minutes of driving will get you to downtown St. Jo. All and all, not a bad stay. I wish it had not been cloudy for the big moment, but you cannot blame that on Motel 6.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sswagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

I'm not the one that reserved the hotel but my partner and he's been reserved the room since a year ago to see the eclipse. Found bugs several time. And the shower drainage not working properly, it drain super slow. We came to check-in at 17:30 and we don't actually get our room until 21:00. It's Motel 6. And you have to pay for the WiFi.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fireproofangel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in delivering on the commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the issues you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

First off I didn't have big expectations this is a Motel 6 after all. Motel 6 recently been running ads saying they are new and improved, not this location in St. Joseph. First, they got my room request wrong. They had me setup to have my rooms next to each other, but someone changed that at the least minute. We were put in non-smoking rooms one of the rooms had a huge cigar burn in the comforter. The toilets were placed right next to the wall so we had to sit down at an angle to use the toilet. The towels were as rough as sandpaper. The room also had a dead cricket on the rubber floor base, that house keeping didn't bother to clean up The worst part was we woke up early to get out of the motel because we were disgusted. As I was getting my stuff together I picked up my shorts and THREE WOLF SPIDERS came running out from underneath. I have never seen anything like that before.

Room Tip: Don't be tempted by the low price it isn't worth it. Sleeping in your car or under a bridge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Curt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, Brand Experience Team Member at Motel 6 St. Joseph, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. Please know the issues you describe are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations Department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Joseph hotels
5.5 km away
Radisson St. Joseph
Radisson St. Joseph
#10 of 12 in Saint Joseph
288 reviews
0.1 km away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - St. Joseph
0.4 km away
Days Inn St Joseph
Days Inn St Joseph
#7 of 12 in Saint Joseph
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Quality Suites St. Joseph
Quality Suites St. Joseph
#9 of 12 in Saint Joseph
176 reviews
0.3 km away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Drury Inn & Suites St. Joseph
#2 of 12 in Saint Joseph
359 reviews
3.7 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 St. Joseph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 St. Joseph

Address: 4021 Frederick Ave, Saint Joseph, MO 64506-3156
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Joseph
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Saint Joseph
Price Range: $78 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 St. Joseph 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 St Joseph is located near East Hills Shopping Center, Kemper Art Musuem, St Joseph Civic Arena, and Jesse James Home Museum. We offer Wi-Fi for a nominal fee, seasonal outdoor pool, coin laundry facility. All guest rooms have a modern look. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 St. Joseph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing