We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Expedia.com
US$134
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Etrip
US$84
View deal
PricelineUS$104
Hotels.comUS$134
Agoda.comUS$146
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveller rating
588
315
185
96
88
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
588
315
185
96
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool complimentary breakfast bed was comfortable staff was friendly lobby msu desk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2022 via mobile

Great location for campus visit and Thomas Rhett concert on campus. No early check in because of a Friday conference. Complimentary breakfast 7-10 am. Walked to Thai restaurant. Comfy beds. We stayed on floor 2 across from elevator near the stairs. Plenty of parking. Lobby bar.

Room tip: Plenty of parking.
Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chad and Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2022

Dear Chad and Susan D,

It is fantastic to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that our location was ideal for your trip! Our associates strive to provide exceptional guest experiences; I will be sure to share your kind feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to leave us and other travelers’ feedback. We hope to host you again soon.

Best,
Brent Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

Postives-

The staff were all friendly and helpful.
Beds (not pillows) were comfortable.
The location is great.
Cafe was pretty good for a quick bite/coffee in the morning.
Didn't visit but the bar looked nice as well.

Negatives-
The AC in the room wasn't great, I'd say it's probably set to 75, despite what the thermostat says.
Only one working elevator.
The shower had mold in several spots.
Towels needed to be refreshed, they were pretty worn.
One towel was stained - again they need to be refreshed
Shower didn't drain.
Pillows were pretty bad, three small square pillows per bed- just an odd shape for us- maybe others don't care.

This hotel could easily be 4-5 stars but need to fix some maintenance problems and refresh some simple things- like decor/towels. Mold/stains definitely hint at possible cleanliness issues. They may seem like minor things, but for the price paid these are things guests should expect to be done well. I'd likely try another hotel in Springfield before returning, unless the price was dropped by at least 30%

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 615AdamJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2022

Dear 615AdamJ,
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the feedback, both positive and opportunities for improvement as this fosters change for future stays. We look forward to hosting you again.
Sincerely,
Brent Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2022

With Covid and post Covid changes I rarely expect to write many 5 star reviews.
I travel - with an elderly parent with dementia - out of necessity nearly half of every year or more. A quality hotel and stay with all the details is very important.
This hotel, in my native hometown delivered on my needs and then some. From Sara at the cafe and Tia at night audit to Christy and Tamisha at the front desk they made our visit first rate. Where they were lacking perhaps in staff or had up n down changes they still addressed needs - a wheelchair, a extra fan, extra linens, print services and an exceptional long stay rate.

Don't get me wrong the hotel is not new. There are some rooms which have a 90s look - but they are clean, well stocked and the public areas are comfortable and inviting. A great swimming pool, gym , a good solid basic breakfast and a nice cafe Q perks. You can walk to the university, downtown, a few good restaurants, a Walgreens and grocery store.

Many thanks to Brent, GM and previously Michael for their willingness to assist and we hope to visit again soon.

Room tip: Higher floor, all good but different views. Excellent updated disability rooms subject to availability
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Dear B K,

Thank you for taking the time to share this glowing review of our hotel! It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience. I will be certain to share your comments with our staff who truly love making our guests feel welcome when they come to town. Please find a reason to visit us again soon.

Best,
Brent Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2022 via mobile

Location, amenities and price point make this a great option for a Springfield visit, especially if you’re visiting MSU. The decor is dated, but the rooms are clean, the staff is attentive and the included breakfast is robust.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank JeniferM641
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2022

Dear JeniferM641,

Thank you very much for taking the time to reflect on your stay with us and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We're happy to learn that our great location, price point and amenities were the highlights of your visit. It’s great to hear that we provided you with a satisfying stay. Your feedback, both positive and areas for improvement, allows us to monitor the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best,
Brent Parker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2022

the young woman who works overnight on august 22 is the worst front desk woman in the whole hotel system in the world. she is rude with a very nasty attitude. signed me into the wrong room and forced me to move to a different one that was the exact same after I showered and was falling asleep is when she called the room with a nasty attitude to fix her mistakes.

if you want a restful night stay do not come here. the fire alarm constantly goes off. the AC and heat does not work in most rooms and they wake you up to change rooms for no reason. it’s dirty and dated and should be demolished.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank K4585PFryanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel Management, Marketing at University Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2022

Dear K4585PFryanm,

Thank you for your review. I’m sorry for your overall poor experience and that we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. Additionally, please accept my sincere apology that the fire alarm interrupted the comfort of your stay. This was an extraordinary circumstance not indicative of our norm, so we hope that you will reconsider a return visit. We’d love the opportunity to leave you with a more favorable impression.

Sincerely,
Michael Bloom
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews