We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect cabin close to Yellowstone ”
Review of Big Moose Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Moose Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Perfect place to stay close to the north east entrance of Yellowstone and the Lamarr Valley where most of the wildlife roams
My son and I stayed in cabin nine it was clean comfortable warm and cozy
Teri was great to talk with
this is our second trip to the big moose and we will definitely be back

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank _kfitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017

I am writing this review to warn you about the cancelation policy. It is 30 days with no exceptions. We booked a room 2 weeks ahead but the week of the reservation the weather predicted 24 inches of snow. we called 4 days ahead and emailed our regrets for not wanting to brave that kind of storm. Nothing was said except sorry you cant make it. They did charge 100% of the fee. The original confirmation email does have the policy listed but it is not on the web site. There are lots of great places to stay in Cooke City - I will never consider this Resort again. Doug Bell Bozeman, MT

Room Tip: Just don't do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

My friend and I stayed two nights between Cody and Yellowstone commuting into the park each day until we got to our night here. It is just outside Cook City (7 miles to the best Yellowstone entrance). The stars are gorgeous, the people friendly (met a great couple from Montana), and the hot tub nice and hot. The cabin is definitely a cabin, not a modern hotel, but it has a fridge, microwave, electricity and a bathroom. I stayed in cabin #3 which has one queen bed and it was all we needed. Wish we could have stayed longer as it was a great experience. Will definitely be back. I also love that it's run by someone local, nothing big business about it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank AmaElaine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This was our 3rd stay at Big Moose and we'll most definitely be back again.
We always have a great time staying here and run into some of the most friendly and interesting people.
The owner Terri is such a great people person and really makes you feel at home.
We love hanging out on the front porch in the evenings and chatting with each other and the other guests that come by.
The access to both Yellowstone and the Beartooth are really hard to beat the price is a great deal.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

When we went to check in, the cabin was gross! It is not at all what's depicted in the pictures on the website! It had a huge gap on the bottom of the door, in which a small animal could crawl in, and the door did not lock! If that wasn't bad enough it had totally stained carpet that didnt even go wall to wall. It had one tiny space heater that barely put out heat, the toliet was so loose it moved up and down, the worse part......was it smelled terribly like freshly sprayed bug spray and the comforter was wet with it!!!! That to me is a clear indicator of BUGS!! Due to my two autoimmune diseases and asthma there was no way I could stay there, in fact, we had to go back home quickly due to my health issues. When we called to tell Terri (as she was not there ever when we wanted to talk to her) she did not care a bit about any of the issues. We tried to contact Airbnb about our experience and have yet to hear back, yet I love how Airbnb lets the host leave half truths and lies on reviews about us. We are not happy with Airbnb either. First and last time using it ever. We stay every year in either Cooke City or Silvergate and this is the worst dealings with I have ever had. Learn from us and stay away from this deceptive rental!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DeeNice1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigMooseResort1, Owner at Big Moose Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

This gentleman and his wife called a day early and wanted to know if they could come in early. Cabin #4 was the only cabin I had open. They were told to look at it and if they wanted it they could have it, I was going to town. Cabin #4 is a cabin that was built in the late 1940's which I made clean when he called the day before. It is well used and he never looked the cabin he reserved. The carpet is stained with years of use, the stained will not come out no matter how many time I shampoo it. We have replaced the old carpet in the bed room that was 5 inches short on one side. BUGS ? there are some spiders as you have no control over what comes in all houses at all times. When I find them they are gone. The review made earlier will attest to that. This lady had autoimmune diseases cause by cold, which they had camped out the night before, hence the early arrival at my place. This was proven through Airbnb which they had booked through, We ended up giving a full refund because she was allergic to cold. Mountain tend to be a little chilly, it looks like someone did not do their homework. We are new owners and are making upgrades as we can. Our rooms are clean and I do not use bug spray, it bothers me why would I make other people deal with it?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
4.2 km away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
172 reviews
4.4 km away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
4.1 km away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Moose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Resort

Address: 715 Highway 212, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Various style cabins with a great hospitable atmosphere. 3 miles east of town provides solitude in a real mountain setting. Multiple amentities. Excellent wildlife at the Northern Range of Yellowstones best gateway community. Let us make Big Moose Resort your favorite part of your vacation. We treat you how we like to be treated on vacation! Within the area is fabulous hiking, fishing, wildlife watching and spectacular scenic highways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Moose Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing