We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Friendlier that anything in Cooke City.”
Review of Big Moose Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Big Moose Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Reviewed 3 February 2010

I researched places to go for our Honeymoon and choose to stay here on our trip and I'm glad we did.. We flew into Salt Lake City and went through Yellowstone on our way to Mt Rushmore. This is one of our stops and I loved it! The owner was fantastic and knowing it was our honeymoon with a few vacant rooms upgraded up for free. The cabin was very nice. The room was very clean and had a fridge, stove and TV. There are many walking trails and the sites are gorgeous! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vision_quest61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

Second time we've stayed here, first time was in 2003. Cabin had many improvements including new bathroom, satellite tv. Had a terrific time, spent most of our time wildlife watching in the valley but our time at the cabin was very restful. Cabin was clean and the owners were very nice. Would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jollyroger519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

Excellent spot if you'd like a cabin setting at a reasonable price with quick access to the Lamar Valley of Yellowstone. Nothing really to do at the site, but the cabin was clean and fairly comfortable and the owners were helpful. We had half of the shared cabin, which as other posters have indicated doesn't have much in the way of sound insulation from the other half.

Note that this summer, construction delays slow access to the park at the northeast entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WItraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

This location was a good place to start the day and be at the entrance to Yellowstone quickly. We spent one night at the Big Moose, got up early and had breakfast in Cooke City and was at the park entrance by 8:30 am. There was no traffic at that entrance and it takes you right into the Lamar Valley where wildlife abounds.

As for the Big Moose, to call it a resort is very much an overstatement as there is nothing to do onsite but sleep! There is no restaurant or breakfast. You'll have to prepare your own food or drive to 3 or 4 miles to Cooke City. As for the cabins, they were basic but clean with an OK bed and good shower. The owner was nice as well as her dog. The setting is beautiful and wildlife is everywhere. I would stay here again if I were returning to Yellowstone. I would also consider the Big Moose to be a good value compared to other places in and around Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RBS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2009

I like to spend at least some of the time I'm in the greater Yellowstone area in a locale with quick access to Lamar Valley, where the wildlife watching is great year-round. One option is Roosevelt Lodge, within Yellowstone but their season opens after the first week in June (and closes at the end of August). Since I was there too early this year, the next best bet was Silver Gate or Cooke City, two tiny towns just outside of Yellowstone's northeast entrance. I settled on Big Moose Resort just to the east of Cooke City (thanks to good Trip Advisor reviews) and I really enjoyed my stay there. I approached from the wonderfully scenic Chief Joseph Highway, which joins the western end of the Beartooth Highway; Big Moose is very easy to find, with a big, distinctive sign. The owners, Bev and Todd, are welcoming and friendly. My cabin was #5, just across the drive from the main house/office. It was very roomy, furnished with two queen beds, two ceiling fans, an armoire for the TV and space for my things, a little fridge, microwave, coffee maker, and a little table and a couple of chairs. BYO hair dryer, soap and little shampoo packets are provided. There is no closet but there is a short pole and a few hangers.

The Direct TV has plenty of channels. There is no phone in the room and no cell signal up there in the mountains. (I imagine if you really had to make a phone call the hosts would arrange use of an office phone.) I didn't ask about the use of a computer/internet.

I've never stayed anywhere that had better, brighter lighting, in the bathroom too (much appreciated!). The cabin had perfectly effective baseboard heating (definitely necessary at night, even in late May, at that altitude) as well as a cheery gas fireplace that very quickly warmed the entire cabin. The bathroom was nicely renovated, though the water heater went out a couple of times. Each time Todd promptly remedied the problem (a circuit breaker) and plenty of hot water was soon forthcoming (I suspect the source of the problem will be fixed and that future guests won't have to worry about it.) Without my having even thought of it, much less asked, Bev put through a credit on my bill to make up for the inconvenience of the uncooperative water heater. Such an appropriate gesture reflects extremely well on their business.

The only negative about the accommodation was that it did need a dose of housekeeping, a few squirts of 409 would take care of the grubby hand prints on the inside of the front door and a quick rag would help with a little accumulation of dust here and there. It was not nearly bad enough to be creepy but it was noticeable. The main problem was that the front step/landing was not swept (I would have been happy to do it myself had there been a broom in the cabin) and up there, nestled between national forest and national park, there's lots of dust and mud to be tracked in.

The cabin is half of a duplex; when there are guests in the other cabin, sound travels right through the wall. In reality, that's true almost everywhere, including in all the cabins and hotels within Yellowstone.

There's no restaurant that you can walk to (unless you want to walk 3 miles west along the highway to the center of Cooke City), but Bev referred me to a little breakfast place nestled under the Super 8 in Cooke City called The Bakery, and was it ever wonderful. First of all, she opens at something like 5:30 in the morning, which means you can get coffee (and truly first rate coffee at that) and go on your way to Yellowstone for dawn wildlife-watching (dawn and dusk are the best times to see wolves, bears, and all the rest). The owner bakes her own fabulous breakfast pastries, and also makes eggs, bacon and that kind of fare to order. I had her make me an egg croisantwich to take with my latte into the park and it was great, very reasonably priced.

There are a couple of good dinner places in the area. Try the Beartooth Cafe in Cooke City, and definitely the wonderful Log Cabin Cafe in Silver Gate, for excellent meals. In my opinion, Buns-n-Beds and the Soda Butte Lodge, two other eateries, are not as nearly good.

The whole experience of staying at Big Moose Resort reminded me of nothing so much as summer camp when I was a kid. That was a very happy time for me, and I will be just as happy to return to Big Moose next time (which might be in the winter, bound to be another great experience!)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YellowstoneGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
4.2 km away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
172 reviews
4.4 km away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
149 reviews
4.1 km away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Moose Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Moose Resort

Address: 715 Highway 212, Cooke City, MT 59020
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Various style cabins with a great hospitable atmosphere. 3 miles east of town provides solitude in a real mountain setting. Multiple amentities. Excellent wildlife at the Northern Range of Yellowstones best gateway community. Let us make Big Moose Resort your favorite part of your vacation. We treat you how we like to be treated on vacation! Within the area is fabulous hiking, fishing, wildlife watching and spectacular scenic highways. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Big Moose Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing