We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Pleasure to Stay Here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cooke City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We have stayed here a few times over the past years and always enjoy coming back to Cooke City and staying at the Elkhorn. We love that everything is so clean and comfortable and it is always great to see Lisa and Jeff and enjoy their warm hospitality and wonderful sense of humour.

Cooke City is a unique place to stay and we would stay nowhere else!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mummabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We are delighted to hear that you continue to find our place clean and comfortable. We know you have a choice in where you stay and we are touched you return year after year! Thanks for taking the time to give us a review!
Thanks, Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

The Elk Horn Lodge was very clean and very welcoming .The room was well appointed and the bathroom ,although fairly small, was clean and perfectly fine. It is ideally situated to explore Yellowstone NP and the Beartooth Highway and Chief Joseph Highway.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank L60LeamingtonSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

We are glad you found your room clean, welcoming and well appointed! You are right, we are in the perfect location to explore Yellowstone National Park, the Beartooth Highway and the Chief Joseph Highway.
Thanks for taking the time to write us a review!
Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

My wife and I come every year to the Elkhorn to soak in the beauty of the mountains, water and the wonderful animals!! Jeff and Lisa are really part of our family! They do everything they can to make our stay comfortable! If you need something they will find it! Very personable and truly caring. I cant wait until summer!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vermillionridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

It is true our repeat customers become a part of our family! We are so delighted you consider yourself a part of the Elk Horn Family! We LOVE our repeat customers.
We know you have a choice of places to stay and we are honored you keep choosing to stay with us!
Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Friendly, straightforward place to stay. We were travelling for two weeks and this place had the best coffee!
Do listen to the owners' recommendations on where to eat.
Hot tub is welcoming after a long walk - the location feels a bit odd, just off the parking lot, but in fact it feels quite private, and you can watch the sun set on the mountains.
A good place to stay if you want to be in the Lamar Valley late at night / early morning for wildlife viewing.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FloatingC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

We are so delighted you enjoyed our proximity to the Lamar Valley for wildlife viewing! Why drive an 1-1/2 when you can stay 30 minutes away! We really do have great restaurants in Cooke City! Wow! That's the first time we had a compliment on the Coffee! Thanks for letting us know that! Glad you enjoyed the hot tub!
Thanks for taking the time to give us a review!
Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is our second time staying here and it was just as enjoyable as the first time. The innkeepers here are friendly and accommodating. Rooms are spacious and clean. We stayed upstairs in the motel part and it was quiet. If you can't do steps, it's probably best to stay on the ground level. We'll go back here again. We've tried a couple other places in CC (because EHL was full) and we like EHL the best.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wis_Badger_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff and Lisa O, Owner at Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thanks for choosing the Elk Horn Lodge for the second time! Repeat customers let us know we are doing it right! Thanks for taking the time to give us a review!
Lisa and Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooke City hotels
0.2 km away
Soda Butte Lodge
Soda Butte Lodge
#4 of 6 in Cooke City
172 reviews
0 km away
Cooke City Alpine
Cooke City Alpine
#6 of 6 in Cooke City
151 reviews
0.3 km away
Super 8 Cooke City Yellowstone Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooke City's Elk Horn Lodge

Address: 103 Main St, Cooke City, MT 59020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Cooke City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Cooke City
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elk Horn Lodge is a family owned and operated business located on Main Street, mid-town in Cooke City. We offer cozy cabins with kitchenettes as well as deluxe motel rooms. All units have two beds, full bath, Flat Screen TV'S, Direct TV, WIFI, small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, hair dryers and are non-smoking and no pets. We also have a gas grill and outdoor hot tub available for your use. The Elk Horn Lodge is your perfect basecamp for Yellowstone National Park and the Beartooth Mountains. We are open year around and always offer reasonable rates. We are the only AAA approved lodging in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooke City`s Elk Horn Hotel Cooke City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing