We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cabins”
Review of Hillcrest Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gardiner
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillcrest Cottages
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Reviewed 1 July 2017

This was a perfect stay for our family of 6. The kids totally enjoyed the little cabin feel with great mountain views. The town was safe enough for me to venture out on a morning run. Home like feeling!

Room Tip: Little cabins small cozy feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2017

We loved our Hillcrest Duplex (#6)! Full bed + twin bed = just perfect for 2 or 3 people. Full standard-size refrigerator, microwave, 2-burner stove, coffee pot (no utensils but hosts Art & Annie will gladly furnish fying pan, ice trays, or whatever you need). Attractive bedspreads, shower curtain, wall stencils, and large TV. We sat on our porch swing to watch the sun set over the mountains (& Roosevelt Arch) about 8:30-9.00 p.m. This small Montana town has restaurants, souvenir shops, gas stations & one grocery store at west end of town. The 5 miles to Yellowstone Park is a beautiful drive. Very, very pleasant 3-night stay--plenty of time to see Yellowstone well. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Cottages are different sizes so ask for larger one if you need extra space. All well furnished and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Annie and her husband are wonderful people. We had 4 nights accommodations, but with the weather - snow coming in -we wanted to leave two days early. They let us do this without charging us. Because of this we left them a tip because they didn't have to do this. We were with another couple who had the room next to us. There was a common door between us. This was very convenient. When we cooked, we had to ask for the utensils from the office. They are quick to please. The deer roamed the parking lot freely in the morning and evenings. It is fun to watch them even from the porch. There are a lot of eating places there. We ate at the cowboy restaurant and the pizza place in town as you come in from Yellowstone. The pizza place was delicious and I don't care for pizza. You can't go wrong here because of the owners.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marcine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We booked a cabin for two nights. The e-mail and phone contact were very pleasant. On the day of arrival, the roads in Yellowstone towards Gardiner were closed due to snow. We had to find a hotel elsewhere. In the evening we called Hillcrest Cottages to cancel, although it was much too late to cancel with a refund. However, they did not charge us anything!!! This made us very happy! They could have charged us two days, but did not do that.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Stein_in_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

This is the perfect base location to explore the northern part of Yellowstone National Park and still come "home" to civilization. We were warmly welcomed by Annie, who will graciously answer any questions you may have about the area. The accommodations were simple and clean, offering all you could need to need to refresh, relax, and plan for your next day's journey. The are plenty of eateries with in walking distance and well as a fully stocked grocery store. Do check out Eat Cafe. The bison burgers are yummy!

Stayed: September 2016
1  Thank Lori L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
0.8 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
764 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#1 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
2,064 reviews
0.4 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.2 km away
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillcrest Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillcrest Cottages

Address: 400 Scott St, PO Box 430, Gardiner, MT 59030-7761
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Gardiner
Price Range: $106 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hillcrest Cottages offer modern, distinctive individual cottages at the north entrance to Yellowstone National Park. Cottages vary in size for singles, couples or larger 2-room units to comfortably accommodate 1 - 7 people. All units include their own bathroom with shower, linens provided, heat and A/C, satellite TV, non-smoking rooms, and kitchenette facilities of microwave/fridge/coffee maker with larger units offering more complete kitchens. Dishes are available at the office for guests. Wifi is available on site. To reserve, we ask for name, address and credit card as guarantee with no advance charges made. Cancellations are 24 hour notice. Please call for available dates & rates. Located just 1/4 mile from Yellowstone's north gate, we have views of the mountains, and many cottages offer outside seating. Hillcrest Cottages is family owned and offers accommodations at a great value to enjoy Montana, and Yellowstone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillcrest Cottages Hotel Gardiner
Hillcrest Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing