We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the Ritz, but a great home base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the Ritz, but a great home base”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

In response to some of the reviews, remember that most people staying in this area just want a good place to crash after long days in Yellowstone. The proprietor, Clay is a nice guy and will be glad to offer suggestions for restaurants, etc. All rooms have a nice view of the river and looking back at the small town of Gardiner. The rooms are clean, and decent, just not brand new. We stayed here 5 years ago and returned and would return again. Gardiner is a small town, but it has its cute charms for a small tourist "hub" on the edge of Yellowstone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T-Bone60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    109
    68
    22
    13
See reviews for
105
110
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Montana
Level Contributor
201 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

I stayed here about 20 years ago. There was a ex cop from LA running the place, his name is Clay. The Place is getting a bit of age on it but if you are doing Yellowstone Park and are looking for the best rate in town this is your spot. Just on the other side of the river, close to the few restaurants that are open downtown in the off season. The rooms are, and most over look the river itself. You can hear the rushing water from the room. Rooms have a balcony that overlook the river. It's rustic in a 70's sort of way but everything works and they have WiFi. The beds are okay, plumbing is good. Carpet needs replacing and another blanket would be nice. The air conditioner/heater is one of those that sticks through the wall but is operated by a thermostat on the wall. Confusing as there are two set of controls but they have thoughtfully taped instruction to the thermostat. This must lead to many complaints that the air does not work. Lighting could be better but they have powerstrips which is good if you are recharging for the park. Can't say enough about Yellowstone National Park. Makes me proud to be an American. Beautiful and the Asaroka is convenient after a day in the Park. Office closes at 7PM and the reccomended restaurant closes at 8PM but it gets dark at 5:30 in the fall. You should be able to make it from the Tower or the Lake. This is still a keeper, barely.

Excellent Rate!!! No discounts, you don't need one.

Room Tip: Ground Floor, River Balcony. You can go look at the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stopped here one night and were not that impressed. Our room was cheap and moderately clean, small and lacking all the amenities that you might expect in other hotels, like a hairdresser. The rooms are dated and could do with modernisations, especially the beds which are well used. The view over the river is impressive, and the location ideal for walking into town, just across the river. Unfortunately we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC62Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
You'll be happy to know that in January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office among other things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 October 2011

The only thing going for this lodge is the view of the river. No coffee maker, no hair dryer, no kleenex, air conditioner didn't work, linens were very cheap and thin, stains on the carpet and chairs.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H, Owner at Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Although we don't have coffee makers in the rooms we have all the free coffee, tea and hot chocolate you can drink in our hotel lobby.

We do typically have kleenex in the rooms but sorry to hear it wasn't refreshed on your stay. We don't have hair dryers in the rooms but do have them available upon request at the lobby.

We are constantly buying new linens and we pride ourselves on one of the cleanest properties you'll find anywhere.

In January of 2012 we renovated our hotel upgrading all of the rooms with plush new beds, high profile toilets, and brand new carpeting throughout the hallways and office.

I'm sure if you make it back you'll have a much more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tadley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

One storey block with standard rooms, all clean and comfortable and basic, but redeemed by the situation and the view, and for me, the sound at night of the river rushing by.

The bed was large and comfortable, and Gardiner itself is a gem of a small town - more of a village, really - and a lovely walk from the hotel, across the river bridge, to find dinner. Several small bijou shops selling Indian and Wild West memorabilila and artefacts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farseer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gardiner
1.0 km away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 8 in Gardiner
720 reviews
1.0 km away
Best Western By Mammoth Hot Springs
1.0 km away
Comfort Inn Yellowstone North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabins
Mammoth Hot Springs Hotel & Cabi...
#2 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
1,959 reviews
0.6 km away
Super 8 Gardiner/Yellowstone Park Area
0.6 km away
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
Yellowstone Gateway Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardiner
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge

Property: Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge
Address: 310 Scott St, Gardiner, MT 59030-7793
Region: United States > Montana > Gardiner
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Gardiner
Price range (per night): $151 - $311
Hotel Class:2 star — Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motel is strategically located directly on the banks of the Yellowstone River.... right at the North Entrance of Yellowstone National Park, two blocks from Roosevelt Arch.Our rooms are extremely clean, come with free wifi and stunning views. In January of 2012 we renovated adding plush new beds to every room, new toilets, and new carpeting in the hall ways and office. Most rooms have a private balcony which is perfect for relaxing and enjoying the views.We have Satellite TV, AC, outstanding hospitality and complimentary in-lobby tea, coffee and hot chocolate.We encourage you to stay with us and make your trip to YNP a trip to remember.Sincerely, Absaroka Lodge Ownership. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Yellowstone's Absaroka Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yellowstone`s Absaroka Hotel Gardiner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing