We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$121
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$178
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
High Street Living Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
118
54
28
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
54
28
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxifree kayaksqueen charlotte trackglow wormsday trippershot chocolate in the roomkune kune pigsinstant coffeeduring high seasonbeautiful view of the baycafe restaurantmarlborough soundsevery staff memberwine selectionbath housesunny daynice ride
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Would like to thank all people from lochmara for helpinng us organize nice birthday day for our friend arranging a cake and beeing very helpfull made our day. Especially help with rearranging transfers for us upon iur need even on this very busy day.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank 114Michal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This was our choice for Night 3 on the QC track. Very pleasant room,beautiful location overlooking the bay and OK value food in the bar restaurant.Very welcoming staff.
Although we didn't get the opportunity,there are lots of " different " activities at this lodge that we believe would be very attractive to children.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We could not fault our 2 night, 1Wedding experience here. The food was great, the staff were great, everything was just right. Thank You Louise & Shane for providing us a beautiful venue in which to create some special memories. We will return!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Penny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

After a beautiful but gruelling (for me) all day walk, the reception we received was less a greeting and more an admonishment. It was around 4.30 when we arrived - normally an appropriate time for walkers to stumble into lodgings.
But on our arrival: a) we were "told off" for being late b) no received eye contact c) there was no smile d) the reception staff did not introduce herself nor had any interest in our names. We were immediately harangued about "what time" we would be doing everything! e.g."I'm usually closed by now - I've been staying open just for you!" "What time will you be checking out - (I didn't know)! If it's not 8.30, special arrangements will need to be made!" "Do you want dinner at the restaurant (no - we have our own food. Sorry, you can't eat in the rooms and there are no facilities for hikers to cook for themselves)". "Do you want breakfast at the restaurant? (no - we have our own - sorry - no bowls or spoons in the room)"
We were given the distinct impression that we were a big nuisance all round. We were trapped there with no alternative places to eat except at the very expensive restaurant.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable but I couldn't sleep at all because of the sound of an engine or motor humming loudly all night.
The art work and menagerie contributed to an eerie, random, chaotic - quite bizarre atmosphere.
Unless you are a wealthy person arriving by boat, I wouldn't recommend Lochmara Lodge to weary (older) hikers looking for a welcoming, affordable, quiet place to recoup before the next long day on the glorious Queen Charlotte Track.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

we did not stay, we went for lunch and then for a stroll, it really is a lovely place, park your boat up in the bay and they will come and get you in a dinghy.

We had lunch which was very good and went for a walk, it really is well laid out great views nice bush, and art installations along the way.

you can rest in a hammock they have along the dotted along the track, get back to the cafe/restaurant, feed the animals.

Its great for family or adults, a nice surprise

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank just_brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews